We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Belgica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belgica
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed one night in Ponce and chose this hotel for our stay. We were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful room with balcony. It was clean and outfitted with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable.
It's right on the square and in the heart of town so it's a great place to stay!
The only cons I could find with this place are the parking and the step up into the bathroom. I stubbed my toe at least five times! We wound up parking at the meter right in front of the hotel and I made sure to go down at 8am to feed the meter. So it worked out, but otherwise we would have had to walk several blocks away for free parking.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front and it was a bit loud outside on the street. If you're a light sleeper, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Staying at the Hotel Belgica was a very wonderful experience. Starting with the charming attraction of the Hotel and ending with excellent attractions and museums that surround the Hotel. The Hotel counts with a great and helpful staff and a very attracting rustic decoration. Feels like being somewhere far away from home. I was very impressed about how clean and fresh feels. If you are planning to stay with your family and plan to have a great experience choose this great Hotel. I truly recommended and will totally stay in a near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are different; choose what best fit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed 17 nights at this charming hotel & could not have asked for a better home-away-from-home. Even before our stay, the front desk staff was wonderful, dealing with our requests for a longer stay in the same room when rooms where mostly booked. They were so welcoming when we arrived. Everyone speaks English and Spanish and always so eager to help. Location is great, so close to the town square and at a walking distance from restaurants, stores, museums, City Hall & many other attractions. Continental breakfast is included, we loved the coffee! Our room was comfortable for our family of five, very high ceilings & also clean. Exceptionally friendly staff. A very charming boutique hotel indeed! Lots of character, vintage & tasteful décor, beautiful tiled foyer, a lovely Colonial Spanish building. No elevators or swimming pool but we had no problem with it because there's a terrace where we sat for nice talks after a long day. One of the highlights of our stay at Belgica Hotel was meeting the owner & chatting like family. He made us feel welcome, gave us a tour around & made sure we were taken care of during our long stay. We loved our stay & highly recommend it!

Room Tip: There are a couple rooms with a balcony view. Each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ITarmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is quite a lovely hotel with tons of character, including vintage furnishings and big, lazy fans in the black-and-white tiled foyer. It's in a great location, too, just a block or two (if that) from the main square in Ponce. Plus, we took advantage of the free parking in the public underground garage just three blocks down. It's also easily accessible to the highways if you're planning to use Ponce as a home base for exploration, which we did, considering there's not a huge amount to see in the town itself. The room was spacious and the bathroom huge (we were on the second floor); the AC unit was a bit finicky, but we weren't uncomfortable. We were just down the hallway from a veranda, where we could bring food up for an outdoor breakfast, if we so chose. The breakfast (continental) was ample and a great way to get the day started right. We had a long chat with one of the desk staff, and he gave us TONS of recommendations, including less-touristy dinner options. Take advantage of their knowledge! The only downside is that it rained while we were there, and they seem to have a leaky roof (not in our room, thank goodness); there were buckets collecting rain in the stairwell.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvbnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This darling hotel is worth it! I highly recommend staying here. Worth a couple of nights stay. (But one is good too if necessary) :)
Beautiful old building. Very high ceilings that are awesome. Beautiful decor. Very clean and spacious rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast included that is good. Within walking distance to local attractions. Parking not included but parking lots and metered street parking is available nearby.
Very friendly staff too!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel during the Carnival in February. When we checked in, and consistently during the five days of our stay, we found the desk staff helpful and informative. We chose this hotel because of the location; we wanted to be very near the Carnival. Because we knew it would be very busy in the town square (which is just steps away from the front door of the hotel) my significant other asked for a quiet room. We were booked into a room in the back of the hotel. It WAS quiet, so they did what they were asked to do. The room, though, had some issues. Good: large, clean, well decorated. Not so good: there are no windows in the room. The ceilings are very high (that is actually good) so whoever designed the room decided not to extend the walls around the bathroom to the ceiling! I would say the walls stopped 5 feet short. So using the bathroom was not a private affair. Also, the bathroom was a step up from the room. Dangerous in the middle of the night. Leaving the light on in the bathroom doesn't solve any problems, because the light spills into the room, so that makes it hard to sleep. There is no place in the bathroom to plug in a night light, or a hair dryer, or anything that needs plugging in! The "closet" is a rod hung on the wall. It works well, but is rather odd. There was plenty of storage space for our clothes.
On a more positive note, the room was decorated nicely with an attempt to minimize the lack of windows. There were a lot of mirrors, many framed like pictures and it did make the room feel less claustrophobic.
Warning: because the ceilings are very high, there are a lot of steps to get to the second floor where the rooms are. If there is someone around you might get help with your luggage, but there isn't always an extra staff member to help.
Because full breakfast is not available at the hotel you might try the farmers market. Just a few blocks away, there are many choices all are extremely inexpensive and provide fresh fruit as well as a standard breakfast.
The moderate walk to the Art Museum is well worth it. The Museum is fabulous, both the architecture of the museum as well as the collection are world class.

Room Tip: If you want to see outside, do NOT take a room in the back. If you want quiet, a room in the back wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank usually_happy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Starting with the warm, inviting greeting when we walked in the door (sweaty from a bike ride around the island!) to the hand drawn map and personal escort along the right direction, with the great food recommendations in between, this place was great. The old, elegant mansion has been lovingly restored with comfortable beds, nice linens, wi-fi - all the modern comforts, while maintaining the quirky historic charm of the town. The decor was fun and playful, with clever re-use of old fixtures and furnishings. And the location is great - right off the main square without being right in the middle of the action. We went to be relatively early, and did not notice any of the loud partying that others have mentioned. We did not have a street-side room, so maybe that helped. But I always travel with earplugs anyway, and would rather have the delightful experience of a place like this than the HoJo down the road! Felt very authentic, genuine and a nice hint of what Ponce's 'glory days' might have been like. Simply delightful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Erindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
0.1 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
20.8 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
12.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belgica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belgica

Address: 122 Villa St, Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range: £69 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belgica 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the heart of the historic district of Ponce. Rooms with cathedral ceilings and traditional balconies. Next to Plaza las Delicias and the Trolley Tour. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belgica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgica Hotel Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing