We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best restaurant in Ponce and one of the best in all P.R.”
Review of Al Sur Restaurant - CLOSED

Al Sur Restaurant
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: “AL SUR”, a creative take on traditional slow cooked cuisine. Chef Ariel Rodriguez opens his new restaurant AL SUR in the Ponce Art Museum of Puerto Rico. It opens from Wednesday to Saturday from 11: 00 a.m. to 10: 00 p.m. and on Sundays from 11: 00 a.m. to 6: 00 p.m. A brunch menu will be offered. For reservations or information for private events, please call 787-848-0366. !Buen provecho!
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best restaurant in Ponce and one of the best in all P.R.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The food is excellent and the locale with many glass walls facing the museum garden full of art and plants is lovely.The food is a fusion of P.R. cuisine and international cuisine.As good as anything you will find in S.J.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amorosotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carolina, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was invited to the musuem for an activity and a group of us wandered off from it and stumbled with the restaurant as it was closing. The manager was very corteous and welcomed us in. We did not eat as the activity had catering service, but we did have a few drinks and the manager let us stay for an hour after closing. Looking forward to going back and having dinner. The service provided by the manager and the staff was just amazing!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moncho33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“simply delicious!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The restaurant is at the back of the art museum. The ambiance is good and the food is definitely worth a visit. The waitress brought us an appetizer on the house, a popover with guava butter, it was very tasty and creative!! She recommended us something that's not on the menu, it's a dish with salmon and rice covered by baked bread crust, it's a huge portion for 2 people but we managed to finish most of it because it's just too good to pass on. We didn't finish the whole plate cause we wanted to save room for dessert which turned out to be wonderful too, the chocolate moose yum yum...highly recommend this place! very friendly waitress, we love her recommendation. the chef is very nice too, came out to check if we enjoy the dishes. If you traveled to Ponce, don't miss this restaurant. We'd even go back to Ponce just to have a meal there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahWang0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We were visiting the Museo de Arte de Ponce and wanted to take a break for lunch. We had no idea there was such fine dining at this gem of a museum. The shrimp trio was outstanding as was the house popover with mango-cilantro-brandy butter. A very contemporary design with views of the museum courtyard. We ate outside protected from the sun. It's also open for dinner. Enthusiastic service too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My godfather and I came to the museum and ended up having dinner on the Friday night. The entrees were great, but moreso, the staff were wonderful. Very attentive and great sense of humor. The chef even came out to talk to us and make us feel welcome.

We had such a great time on Friday that we even came back on Sunday for brunch and the gauntlet that had been thrown down - the pancake challenge. They said that no one to that point had been able to finish the entire plate of pancakes and so I felt it my duty to take on this food challenge. The best part was that the pancakes were very tasty!

Again, I had a great time and the only downside is that I still haven't seen my picture with the empty plate on their facebook page- one of the terms of my victory. ;)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jhayesunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Sur Restaurant also viewed

 
Ponce, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing