We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inconsistent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Sur Restaurant - CLOSED

Al Sur Restaurant
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: “AL SUR”, a creative take on traditional slow cooked cuisine. Chef Ariel Rodriguez opens his new restaurant AL SUR in the Ponce Art Museum of Puerto Rico. It opens from Wednesday to Saturday from 11: 00 a.m. to 10: 00 p.m. and on Sundays from 11: 00 a.m. to 6: 00 p.m. A brunch menu will be offered. For reservations or information for private events, please call 787-848-0366. !Buen provecho!
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I must say that my first visit here was just great. Excellent food, very nice modern place with the view of the beautiful museum. It was so good we decided to go back... different chef, different story. They didn't have most of the things I ordered frome the menu. When the food arrived it was nothing like my first experience and even the waiter apologized and explained the difference.
The place is good as long as you call before hand and ask if the good cook is the one in for the evening!! L I'll not so funny when you're hungry.

Helpful?
3 Thank RestLov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food that is art.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

And this is true in this stupendous restaurant inside the renovated Museum of Ponce. A wonderful and original mix of local ingredients with an innovative touch from the young chef makes dining here a wonderful experience. Although small, you are rewarded with attentive waiters and waitresses and the best meal you can imagine. The restaurant is not cheap but you can enjoy freshness and good sized portions. They have the most generous Martinis I have seen! I recommend everything! We were a group of 12 and that gave me the chance to try quite a few dishes in the menu. From the appetizers to desserts everything tasted great! I would rate this place four stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aruac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best restaurant in Ponce and one of the best in all P.R.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The food is excellent and the locale with many glass walls facing the museum garden full of art and plants is lovely.The food is a fusion of P.R. cuisine and international cuisine.As good as anything you will find in S.J.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amorosotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was invited to the musuem for an activity and a group of us wandered off from it and stumbled with the restaurant as it was closing. The manager was very corteous and welcomed us in. We did not eat as the activity had catering service, but we did have a few drinks and the manager let us stay for an hour after closing. Looking forward to going back and having dinner. The service provided by the manager and the staff was just amazing!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moncho33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“simply delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

The restaurant is at the back of the art museum. The ambiance is good and the food is definitely worth a visit. The waitress brought us an appetizer on the house, a popover with guava butter, it was very tasty and creative!! She recommended us something that's not on the menu, it's a dish with salmon and rice covered by baked bread crust, it's a huge portion for 2 people but we managed to finish most of it because it's just too good to pass on. We didn't finish the whole plate cause we wanted to save room for dessert which turned out to be wonderful too, the chocolate moose yum yum...highly recommend this place! very friendly waitress, we love her recommendation. the chef is very nice too, came out to check if we enjoy the dishes. If you traveled to Ponce, don't miss this restaurant. We'd even go back to Ponce just to have a meal there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahWang0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Sur Restaurant also viewed

 
Ponce, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing