We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Yunque National Forest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carole's Rainforest Villas
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights on January 20 and truly loved it. We arrived to a very sweet villa, upon entering: soft music playing a variety of cute light fixtures lit, clean and floral scents, and colorful Caribbean eclectic decor. The floor is made of large interesting tiles. It has an open air screened window looking out on your own little private rainforest with a porch fitted with rocking chairs and hammock chairs. The room is very darling , clean and comfortable. It is very homey. The attached bathroom is perfect with an unusual sunken shower. Carole has the room fitted with everything you may need from cotton swabs to towels, to bug spray and board games. She is also prepared to provide any extra requests , like we had for extra pillows. When staying here you are really enveloped in the rainforest jungle and it is quite wonderfully loud at night. The frogs and bugs and birds go off all night long. You can turn up the fan if need be to sleep. We were not too cold or hot, it's really the perfect temperature at night with only light bedding. We were lucky to stay when a papaya was ripe and my husband got to pick it. She has bananas getting ripe and coconuts and other fruits too. There is a wonderful view and plenty of spaces to sit and just be with the rainforest. There are little lizards,frogs and snails all over. It's only a short drive to town that has a Walgreens and restaurants. The rainforest park entrance is right outside her property, a paved road up into the mountain. About a 10 minute walk up hill to the bridge over a beautiful river full of waterfalls. We hiked /scrambled up in the river quite a ways and found lots of pools. Completely private in the jungle, extremely slippery and we did slip and fall a few times each! It is very dangerous, so be careful if you try this. Carole also said there are boa snakes about, she said they are nice, but that kinda freaked me out,( we didn't see any though). She also said don't go in the river if it is raining because flash floods are common and take lives every year. Carole is very friendly and likes to chat and share information about puerto Rico and the rainforest, but she also leaves you alone and lets you have the place to yourself. She made us banana smoothies and offered coffee. There is a little fridge in the room with water and snacks. This is a strikinginly beautiful place with charming accommodations. We would love to go back and stay again! Wonderful! P.S : don't worry about sending a personal check for the deposit, it is legitimate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JulieanneAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

We just returned from 4 nights at Carole's. Our days were spent exploring the beaches and rainforest and our evenings were spent looking out at the sea from Carole's outdoor kitchen . Carole does everything she can to make you feel welcome . She knows the area so well and can provide helpful hints about everything. We loved El Verde for chicken .Her vacation casita is private and so comfortable . Each night the coqui sang us to sleep.We will return.Thank you Carole .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We went to stay with Carole for our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing! She was so warm and gracious and she did so many wonderful things to make our stay cozy. The room was super cute and we loved looking out the window at the view of the rainforest. The foliage was glorious and having a font-row view from her outdoor kitchen was a dream. We would spend our mornings enjoying breakfast on the outdoor patio before we started our day. The location was convenient to both San Juan and the beaches on the East coast. My only complaint is that we only had a week and had to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Carole's place on the border of the EL Yunque. Her beautiful home offers everything you could possibly need in the a tropical atmosphere and so much more--I cant wait to go back.
This room with a bathroom is comfortable and the outdoor kitchen and view is a tropical dream. We especially enjoyed the walk down to the waterfall with Carole and the dogs. The house is nicely tucked away into the rainforest and you will be surrounded by frogs, lizards and slugs, but that's the best thing because you're in the only tropical rainforest in the US forest service! The entrance to the park is not far away,too. You will need a car to get around. I recommended this place to a friend and she is staying at Carole's place Nov. 2012. Everybody loves this place and I understand why.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemmka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My daughter and I stayed with Carol last April. The view is beautiful and from the top of the mountain. You are serenaded by the frogs at night and see both the ocean the forest from her fabulous outdoor kitchen. The first day we were there, Carol made us one of her famous bananas smoothies from fresh bananas and using Cinnamon that she imports. Carol is the perfect host and made our stay very enjoyable. I would go back in a second!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcfaddl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Very beautyful place at the border of the El Yunque Rainforest Park.
Carole, the owner, is a very nice person and you can find everything you need in the bedroom she offers.
You can use the outside kitchen looking in a very beautyful tropical yard.
The perfect place if you like to stay in the middle of the nature. Near the house there are two natural pools for refreshing bath, don't lose them!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benth0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

In a word, paradise. Upon arrival, we met Carole tending to her blooming backyard full of ginger and bananas. There is a pool out there somewhere swallowed by the jungle. Say hi to Carole and Sabana for us if you go, and enjoy cooking up breakfast in your own private outdoor kitchen with one of the nicest people you'll ever meet. Minutes from El Yunque (drink a lot of water if you go in summer and avoid the greasy food before you hike) and your own little piece of green heaven.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pbran1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carole's Rainforest Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carole's Rainforest Villas

Address: Route 966, El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > El Yunque National Forest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in El Yunque National Forest
Price Range: £100 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carole's Rainforest Villas offers unique & private Caribbean Style Rainforest Lodging for 1-4 people. 1 & 2 Bedroom Villa & House Rental with a remote location bordering the NE entrance of the El Yunque Rain Forest in Puerto Rico. The jungle is your neighbor! (a.k.a. Carole’s Rainforest Villas – with 100% excellent reviews from TripAdvisors since 2008) Enjoy peaceful lodging with an incredible view of the jungle and distant ocean below. Private waterfalls are a short 1/4 mile walk.Cook in an amazing outdoor kitchen or bathe in an outdoor shower. Features: King-sized beds, colorful tiles, French style doors and tons of outdoor Caribbean character.You won't want to leave our little piece of paradise in the rainforest of El Yunque! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carole`s Rainforest Villas Hotel Rio Grande
Carole's Rainforest Villas Puerto Rico/El Yunque National Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing