We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home on the mountains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Yunque National Forest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Paloma Guest House
Reviewed 14 February 2014

If you are looking for a luxury resort or hotel, look elsewhere. Nilda opened up her home and this was like staying in a home with your own separate private area with your own swimming pool with an amazing view. We were having a little trouble finding the place and Nilda sent her daughter to a gas station near by to guide us to the place. She went out of her way to get us dinner, though it was not included - very sweet and thoughtful of her. She was very insightful about the culture and forest and places in Puerto Rico. She prepared a lovely traditional Puerto Rican breakfast for us. I really wanted to see the beautiful sounding coqui frog and she found me some...I held them and they were so tiny and adorable. We stayed here in Sept 2012.

Thanks Nilda!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAManSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Staying with Nelda in the hills near El Yanque Rain Forest was a highlight of our vacation. The views are spectacular and our boys loved the pool. Nelda is an incredible hostess with a wealth of information about the island and Taino culture. She showed us how to use traditional musical instruments and other items from her museum of Taino artifacts. Her daughter treated us to delicious coconut bread for breakfast.

This is a remote location, so take her up on her offer to meet and follow her son from Ceiba. She doesn't advertise and charges just $65 a night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duganjbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a very special place run by Nilda and her fantastic family. She is a gem-truly a rare find of genuine warmth and caring for everyone. Her eagerness to share her Taino culture and life experiences is wonderful, as well as helping people find their way around Ceiba and EL Yunque and see unique places. She is always aware of her guests and their needs, and goes way beyond any normal expectation to be sure that your stay is perfect. The first day we arrived it, we went walking near her home. We got caught in the afternoon rain storm that occurs very quickly, and suddenly her son was there with the car to give us a ride back! Her breakfasts are wonderful, the views spectacular, and the coquis sang us to sleep every night. The only negative is mosquitos which are to be expected as this in a jungle location...so be sure you are prepared with plenty of bug spray! We were a family of five, and we had two rooms that accommodated us very well. The room by the pool is very nice, and our other room on the lower level was quite roomy. We were able to explore quite a bit of the area around Ceiba each day, but there was so much to do we wished we had had more time there. Nilda and her family do make you feel like you are relatives, and it is so nice to return there at the end of a day and be so welcomed. When it was time to depart, we were headed to San Juan and decided not to drive, and Nilda immediately called her son who drove us (at half the cost of a taxi) to our next stay in the old city. It was New Years Eve weekend, and it was packed with people and it took awhile to find our apartment, but he was patient and kind and got us right to the front door. Later that afternoon, my daughter realized she had left her purse in a drawer in the room at La Paloma. She called Nilda who immediately found it and who then worked on getting a courier service to deliver it! When this didn't work, she and her husband Mike got in their car and drove up to old San Juan-still packed with people celebrating-and found us in the crowds,and returned the purse that evening!! Anyone who has had the privilege to meet this wonderful woman and her family knows, they are remarkable people who leave an unforgettable impression on their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuller0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I cannot say enough about La Paloma Guest House. My fiance and I stayed here for two nights, but wished we could have stayed much much longer. Nilda and Laura made us an incredible breakfast with fried coconut bread -- probably the most delicious thing we tasted on our trip. Nilda is one of the kindest and friendliest people I've met, and at the end of our stay it felt like we were leaving a long lost grandmother. She is full of interesting information about the Taino indians. Aside from the hospitality, the view is amazing and the room by the pool was very adequate. We reserved our room a few weeks in advance (although I don't think it was necessary especially during October) and Nilda called us a few days in advance to confirm our stay.

Bio bay tours in Fajarbo are 20 minutes away; Luquillo beaches and kioskos are 20 minutes away; entrance to El Yunque is 30 minutes away. Ask Nilda about beaches in Loiza that are 40 minutes away.

To get to La Paloma Guest House: from highway 53, get off on exit 53 and head west (away from Ceiba). The windy road will take you up the mountain, just be sure to take it slow around the curves. You'll pass a bar and a school, just keep going. You'll pass a house on the right with a sign that says "S Paloma", keep going. Look for a house on the right with a small "8.3 km", Nilda's place is the NEXT house. You'll see the pool through the gate.

Highly recommended. If you love off the beaten path traveling, you will not be disappointed with Nilda's place. Great value at $65 a night, be sure to bring cash!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to Puerto Rico for the first time this past week. Having never traveled to this country, we were excited to stay in a guesthouse owned by a native Puerto Rican, Nilda. Nilda treated us like family, opening her home and traditions to us. She was easy to contact via cell phone, and even met us in town the first night to direct us to the property (it's up a windy road, but is easily navigable once you've driven it a couple of times). The guesthouse is by no means a hotel or resort, but that is the beauty of it. Sure, the decor is outdated, but it's exactly what you'd expect if you were staying with an aunt or grandma. Our room was equipped with a little counter and sink, mini fridge, microwave, futon sofa, king-size bed, and bathroom. Everything was very modest and simple. Thank goodness for the air conditioning since it was so humid! The views of the ocean on one side and the rainforest on the other are truly remarkable. Nilda takes time to make recommendations to make your stay full and enjoyable. She makes breakfast every morning and takes care of anything you need. To be honest, we just enjoyed relaxing in the clean, beautiful pool, taking it all in. There is no website for this place, so it is best to contact Nilda directly via cell phone. If you are looking for an authentic, personal experience, I recommend staying here. It was a truly lovely experience, and we have Nilda and her family to thank.

Room Tip: Room number 4 in front of the pool is roomy with a beautiful view just steps from the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We visited Puerto Rico on 14th March, and we were booked at La Paloma for 15th and 16th March. We found the place very secluded and set in a picturesque background of rolling hills and green trees overlooking the blue ocean and its surrounding islands like Vieques. The view was amazing. The room by the pool side was very neat and the sleeping arrangements were adequate. You will probably take some time to get adjusted to the continuous sound of coquis made day and night. The best thing about our stay was Nilda, our host. We have seldom come across such a heart warming lady who treated us as family the whole time we stayed with her. She cooked us home cooked food which gave us a taste of typical Puerto Rican cuisine, told us about amazing secret beaches which only the locals know. If you think seven seas beach is amazing , then you have not seen enough. :) Ask her about Playa Azul, and trust us it will blow your mind. She made us awesome brunches and delightful dinners at night. We remember one night she showed us her taino indian rituals and made us appreciate life under the stars, it was a very different experience, her love of life, openly affectionate gestures and spontaneity will leave its mark even when you leave. We found Puerto Rican people particularly warm but Nilda is still a standout. She even caught a coqui for us and offered us a handson experience with this tiny but Puerto Rican precious frog!
Having said that you should be aware that this is not a five star resort. The amenities are not A class and if you are looking for such a place then La Paloma will disappoint you. Also this is not exactly in El Yunque, it's in Cieba. But since it's a small place, the distance from El Yunque is only around 12-15 miles, hence just a 20 mins drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

With trips to Puerto Rico or any other country one has to watch out for scams, or dangerous locals blah blah blah... We stayed at La Paloma Guest House with our host Nilda... and we will stay with her every time we come back.

Upfront- This isn't a ritz carlton or other fancy hotel by any means, This is private home with guest house on the property separated by a pool. its living like a true Puerto Rican!

My girlfriend and I's personal opinion on the stay- From the second we arrived at the guest house we were family! Nilda is the most caring, cute, sweet Taino/Puerto Rican lady/host I have come across. Its a truly unique experience being able to wake up and look outside to see mountains. She took her time to tell us about her Taino (native Puerto Rican Indian) heritage as well as different things about Puerto Rico, even catching us some Coqui's! The breakfast was scrambled ham and eggs on top of a delicious coconut style bread. Her kids were even nice enough to bring us down to a local river, nothing big but its nice to see the whole family pitches in. Even one of the two dogs Duke was a sweet heart and if you ask him, he would jump up to your stomach and hug you (our hearts melted) the other was nice just shy.

I would recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Puerto Rico and wanting to get off the Beaten path. I can go on for a lot longer, but you should experience it yourself! We will miss our Temporary family we had with Nilda! ~~~ Javier T. and Jessica M.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaviT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Paloma Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Guest House

Address: (787) 435_1154 | Barrio Rio Abajo, Seccion La Paloma, Ceiba, El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > El Yunque National Forest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in El Yunque National Forest
Price Range: £49 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
La Paloma Guest House Hotel El Yunque National Forest
La Paloma Guest House Puerto Rico/El Yunque National Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing