We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainforest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Yunque National Forest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainforest Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

A perfect place to stay. Clean, friendly, right up in the rain forest. Excellent breakfast, kind and informative hosts. The sounds of the rain forest at night are an experience everyone should enjoy. You can't go wrong staying here! Phil and Sharma

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdrsjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    25
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
88
198
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RDU
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here prior to a Southern Caribbean cruise for 3 nights. Would have stayed longer but dates were not available. Reserve rooms well in advance. Bill and his wife were exceptional hosts! My wife commented she thought this would be highlight of our 13 day vacation and it was only the first 3 days. She was exactly right. This was an amazing find in the Rainforest. The hosts have done an incredible job renewing the area after the hurricanes. The breakfasts are not to be missed, WOW! The private trails they have, especially to the waterfalls, are amazing. We are very adventurous birders and this B & B was the perfect spot. Don't forget, this is the Rainforest and you may get muddy and wet but this jewel is so worth it! The family is constantly improving the grounds and bringing the space closer to nature. Evening meals are about 15-20 minutes away, or stop by Ralph's Grocery on way in to pick up your food. The Hosts have great stories to tell and are just fun to get to know, however they do respect privacy at all times too.

Room Tip: There are 2 options available, The Chalet and The Villa. May be another room coming soon. Either is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayBoRdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Travelled here with my 17 year old son. We attended in July, 2013. Booked the two bedroom suite - it was very clean, spacious and very comfortable. As advertised, rooms are not air conditioned. Did not miss it! We opened the windows and got great breezes and sounds of the forest. When it rained - it poured - it was the most relaxing day of my vacation; listening to it outside the windows or sitting on the covered balcony. The coqui frogs are very loud at night but beautiful. I closed the windows at night as I am a light sleeper but was ok with the ceiling fan. Rooms have a supply of coffee, tea and water (water for the first night). An isolated property with gorgeous grounds and a lovely yoga studio where you can practice alone if it's not booked for other purposes. Breakfast changes daily and is delicious and plentiful. My son has food allergies and after alerting them in advance those needs were kindly and gently accommodated (I brought the gluten free pancake mix he eats at home and they made him pancakes and ensured he had other things to eat as well). Accommodations are intimate with only two or three (?) units. Staff very friendly and husband and wife team were very knowledgable as well. The husband knows his stuff about anything to do with the outdoors. This place is amazing and I dream of going back someday soon.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lailafromwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rainforest Inn for a week at the beginning of December and it was one of our favorite things about our trip to Puerto Rico. The Villa and the property were gorgeous and we really enjoyed spending afternoons in our patio area admiring the beautiful scenery and watching the lizards and birds.

The hosts were extremely friendly and did an amazing job of providing helpful information for things we might want to see and do while in Puerto Rico, and we only wish we could have spent more time in the area to follow up on their suggestions. I guess that means we'll have to go back.

One of the things we really liked about staying at the Rainforest Inn was being able to prepare our own lunches and dinners. By having a full kitchen space to work with (there isn't a stovetop in the Villa, but we were able to borrow a hot plate for the week), we were able to save a lot of money on food through the week, which was especially appreciated because we enjoy doing our own cooking anyway.

I would highly recommend the Rainforest Inn to anyone who is looking for a refreshing and relaxing place to stay while in Puerto Rico, especially if you like the idea of taking your time to sit back and admire the beautiful sounds and scenery of the rainforest.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa and really loved having our own little patio area, but I'm guessing you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristenW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We don't usually take time for giving reviews as most places don't really stand out from all the rest. The Rainforest Inn is an exception! We have never stayed at a better Bed & Breakfast! And we have stayed at many over the years! The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. The property is beautiful, as are the views down to the ocean. Our "bed" consisted of two bedrooms, a living room, kitchen and bath. It was immaculate and ever so comfortable! Our daily gourmet "breakfast" was outstanding! What more could we ask for? We had a wonderful time in the rain forest!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Rainforest Inn is not like any 5 star hotel you would expect. Finding it can be challenging - make sure you have a copy of the DETAILED turn by turn instruction provided at registration, and try to make your first drive in day light. The owners are wonderful -- we took a tour from Bill of his experiments which span from growning pineapple in heavy rains to growing trees that Channel 5 can be produced from.. The life in the place is unreal -- listening to frogs chirping (interesting combination) at night and being greeted by birds in the morning. A wonderful experience and would like to replicate sometime soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This place is amazing!!!! The property could not be more beautiful or well maintained. The owners and staff are very helpful, friendly, and informative. The breakfast that is supplied for you is 5 stars! Thanks Melanie...we miss you. I am glad that we stayed in the rainforest instead of over by Laquillo beach. The drive is not that far and the crowds around the area are terrible. This b&b even has their own trail and waterfall into the rainforest!! A must stay place in PR and I would happily stay there again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite above the kitchen. It was nice for privacy and better views. Also our door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebeccab1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Yunque National Forest
7.0 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
5.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
El Escondido Guest House
El Escondido Guest House
#1 of 2 in Canovanas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.3 mi away
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
#3 of 4 in Naguabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Inn

Property: Rainforest Inn
Address: PR 186 KM 22. 1 | Rio Grande, PR, El Yunque National Forest 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > El Yunque National Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in El Yunque National Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the El Yunque rain forest of Puerto Rico. We have hikes to secluded swimming holes and mountainside waterfalls right out our background. We have no air conditioning, radios, or TV but we do offer quilts on the beds (it's cool up here in the mountains). If you are a nature lover you will love staying here. We have two bedroom chalet with baths and complete kitchen. There is a tremendous view from your window. Close to Luquillo Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainforest Hotel El Yunque National Forest
Rainforest Inn Puerto Rico/El Yunque National Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing