We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were hoping for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of At the Waves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
At the Waves
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we were hoping for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our family of five traveled to PR for seven days in early January, looking to trade the cold and snow of Wisconsin and for the sunshine and beaches of Vieques. At the Waves proved to be the ideal spot for this. Clean, spacious and well-maintained accommodations; beautiful pool overlooking the beach; centrally located for all the island has to offer; and a friendly and informative host. We stayed in the upper, three-bedroom California unit and enjoyed it immensely. We would highly recommend these accommodations and are anxious to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psumti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
88
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

At the Waves was the IDEAL get-away! Very peaceful and relaxing.
We stayed for 6 nights in the lower ocean front unit and because of the well appointed kitchen (and the grocery stores) we were able to cook meals and not waste valuable beach time and money.
It is very clear that Ian takes a lot of pride in his establishment from the thorough guidebook telling visitors about various things to do to the beautiful grounds as well as the beach towels, chairs and coolers provided. Everything you need is provided making the trip even more relaxing.
At the Waves is no more than 20 minutes from anything you could want to visit, beautiful beaches, restaurants, bio-tours. It was a beautiful, relaxing vacation and we will definitely return!

Thank you Ian for such a great place and AMAZING vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wearytravelers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We prefer the quieter VRBO experience to big hotels like the 'W' and this was a fantastic experience for us. This location is on the water and 5 minutes from town. The island is small so you can get to almost anywhere in about 20 minutes from this Northern location. If the wind is light you can snorkel right in front by following a break in the reef out about 100 feet then follow the outside of the reef. At the Waves has beach towels, coolers and chairs to borrow when you travel to the many beaches. You need a rental car if you like exploring each day. The island has great food and a variety of restaurants. Our room was the ground floor unit for 2 and it was clean with a comfortable bed, giant bath and shower, stove, micro, toaster oven, and full size 'fridge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I traveled with another couple and stayed here. Accommodations were quite comfortable and relaxing. We stayed in the ground floor villa ocean side. We had everything we needed. The kitchen was well stocked and Ian was helpful while elusive. We had a stovetop malfunction the first day and it was fixed by the time we arrived home from the beach. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TQBCincinnati_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Two friends and I stayed for 5 nights At The Waves and it did not disappoint. Ian was off island, but Sher, who was there in his place could not have been more helpful. We had the second floor three bed room apartment. Everything we needed was provided, ie, towels, beach towels, chair, and umbrellas. Well equipped kitchen and three bathrooms. Two of the bathroom were en suite, and the third was next door to the third bedroom. If there was anything that could have been improved, it would be that there are not electrical outlets in the third bathroom, and there is an animal shelter near by with barking dogs, but if you run the AC, you can't hear them at night. Over all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: One bedroom is a master with a king size bed and a great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PVDVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent 5 nights At the Waves, and couldn't have made a better choice. The property is gorgeous and very well maintained. We loved that beach chairs, coolers, and towels were provided, along with a helpful binder on all things Vieques. And the ocean was only steps away from our unit. The owner was very helpful and friendly, while also respecting our privacy. We would definitely recommend At the Waves to anyone traveling to Vieques, and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripReviewer1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

At the Waves was amazing and beautiful. We had our wedding ceremony on the property and including us had a group of 12 staying at the property. We had the one bedroom and both three bedrooms. All three apartments were beautiful. The upstairs three bedroom seems to get better airflow though. The kitchens were all well stocked, we had everything we needed.
Ian was incredibly helpful, he has binders full of info that are in each apartment. Great with recommendations for anything you're curious about.
We absolutely loved staying here and plan on doing so again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKEMacDonalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
5.5 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Waves

Property: At the Waves
Address: hc-02 11416, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Waves is a beautiful new beachfront complex. With a very private and resort like setting these two villas overlook spacious grounds, a large pool area with multi level decks and the sparkling waters of the sea. The usually deserted sandy beach is perfect for shelling, snorkeling and intimate strolls. The dramatic views of the neighboring islands and the rain forest of Puerto Rico will delight. Fully equipped 1 to 3 bedroom suites available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At The Waves Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing