We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and beauty”
Review of At the Waves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
At the Waves
Eau Claire, WI
1 review
“Relaxation and beauty”
Reviewed 26 February 2009

At the waves is a great place to relax, read a book or stroll along the beach. It is not a place for partying. We enjoyed the clean pool, the well maintained grounds and solitude of this location. There is a gate that leads right down to the beach which is really handy for those strolls. You want to enjoy the weather during the evening so use mosquito repellent if you are prone to those bugs. We found a supply right in our condo. Our condo had a great patio where we ate all of our meals, played games or did some reading.
We stayed in the lower 3 bedroom California unit. We found coolers and chairs for those trips to the beach. The laundry was next to our condo so that was very convenient.
You must rent a car in order to go into town or visit the many beautiful beaches on the island. A week is hardly enough time to explore snorkling spots, each out at some great restaurants or just relax. I guess we will have to come back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
89
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2009

My husband and stayed in the one bedroom unit across from the pool. We really liked that we had plenty of space with a full size living room, almost full size kitchen (only thing missing was an oven, but really, who needs one on vacation!), VERY large bathroom, and bedroom. Unfortunately, the mosquitos liked me alittle too much, so we weren't able to sit out and enjoy the evenings, but the place does have a nice patio by the pool for doing so. Our unit was exceptionally clean, which we have found is always a concern when staying at these smaller, privately owned places. Ian is very helpful and informative. It was a very nice personal touch that he met us at the airport, took us to the car rental agency, then waited so we could follow him to At The Waves. The place is tucked back in a residential area which is good and bad; good as it is private and quiet at night, but you do have drive to get to any sights. LOVED his dog Mia; she's so sweet and really gave the place a homey, comfortable feel. This is definitely a place for low-key people wanting to relax and to enjoy island, not for hard partying. We loved it.

  • Liked — private, small, cleanliness, size of unit
  • Disliked — alittle out of the way, but otherwise, nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready4theRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

While vacationing on Vieques for the first time, At the Waves exceeded our expections. Ian, the owner, answered my e-mails promptly with info about the accommodations as well as the island. We went during the off season and stayed in the 2 bedroom house closest to the beach. The house was very clean, comfortable and large. The bathroom had amenities(sunscreen, lotion, etc...) from previous visitors for our comfort. The property was exceptionally well maintained, with beautiful coconut palm trees and a gorgeous, clean swimming pool. Even though the beach on the property is not for swimming, you will love walking along the shore and finding shells. Another couple staying there, who were from the main island, were just as impressed as we were. With Ian's expertise, we found the most amazing beaches for snorkeling. Make sure you rent a jeep or else it will be very hard to get around! You should also take a biobay trip, it was quite memorable.

  • Liked — the roominess and cleanliness of the house, the beautiful property, the secluded localtion, the friendly and informative owner
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NYjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Stayed At the Waves Dec 13th-20th, renting the two units in Villa California for our party of 10, for a family reunion. Had three generations: grandparents, 2 young couples, and four kids, ranging from 8 to 4. The place is beautifully equipped with almost anything you could need: lots of kitchen and beach equipment--above and beyond what you'd expect. The grounds and pool are lovely, and nicely maintained, and we certainly appreciated the laundry facilities too. We were very thankful to be staying at a place with air conditioned bedrooms, and fans in all the rooms. The owner Ian was very helpful ahead of time, recommending car rentals and transportation options from San Juan, and also once we were there, recommending the best beaches for our kids, etc, etc. Although everyone had fun collecting "treasures" from the beach At the Waves, we always swam at beaches on the south side... and there are LOTS of them, with powdery white sand, no waves, and hardly any people. Esperanza was a fun spot to hit a bar for dinner, but none of us wished we were staying there. We did all take Abe's bio-luminescent night-time kayak and swim tour. Highly recommended! Don't go thinking you'll be driving Hertz-quality SUV's, or eating San Francisco food... and you'll realize you've discovered paradise! At the Waves was the perfect place for us, and I'm sure we'd all choose it again!

  • Liked — it was so attractive and well equipped
  • Disliked — the beds were somewhat hard
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TeleGram_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Matilda, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

At the Waves is not a hotel but rather two, separate buildings on the north shore of Vieques containing five units. Our family, three generations comprising two grandparents, three adults, and two teenagers, occupied a one-bedroom unit and a three-bedroom unit over Christmas. The accommodations were very good, well-appointed and clean, although a few features were experiencing "technical difficulties" (e.g., the dishwasher resisted repeated attempts at repair and the satellite TV signal was intermittent). The adjacent beach was nice and generally deserted but the waves on this, the Atlantic side of the island make swimming inhospitable in winter. What made this place special was the management. Linda and Bill, who were inn sitting for vacationing owner Ian, were delightful--always cheerful, always helpful. Every request was met with a smile and an immediate, positive response. They really came through after we were robbed on the beach (see separate review under Vieques), loaning us their laptop and even money for food--definitely service above and beyond the call of duty. Of the 30 or so places we have stayed in the Caribbean over the years, I would rank At the Waves near the top. Unfortunately, it is on Vieques.

  • Liked — Inn sitters Linda and Bill
  • Disliked — Poor swimming beach
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WizofID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2008

At the Waves was perfect. We stayed in the ocean front 2 bed room villa and it was wonderful. Very relaxing. We did have some noisy neighbors the first night we were there but that was soon forgotten because the rest of our stay was just perfect. I would go back there in a heart beat. Ian has thought of everything for the perfect getaway. Villas are clean, well equipped and comfortable. Beach towels, beach chairs and a cooler too.

  • Liked — comfort, location, amenities
  • Disliked — noisy neighbors first night
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chillyinphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We just returned from a wonderful stay at "At the Waves"--It was the perfect place for my family for four(myself, my husband and twin 9-year old daughters). Last year we visited Vieques for the first time and had a great time staying at Hector's by the Sea, but this was even better for the family. The ground floor 2-bedroom unit was clean, well-equipped and comfortable. The grounds are just lovely--the ocean is right there and the pool is great for a dip at the end of a day at the beach. We cooked in a couple of nights and enjoyed having the gas grill and a nice little kitchen.

The sound of the ocean, drinking morning coffee while looking out at the ocean--all was great. If the beaches on Vieques weren't so spectacular, one could just spend a vacation relaxing on this property. Ian is very helpful and friendly-- we hope to be able to return.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds, comfortable accomodations
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank suebhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
2.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,816 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
5.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Waves

Property: At the Waves
Address: Hc-02 11416, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Waves is a beautiful new beachfront complex. With a very private and resort like setting these two villas overlook spacious grounds, a large pool area with multi level decks and the sparkling waters of the sea. The usually deserted sandy beach is perfect for shelling, snorkeling and intimate strolls. The dramatic views of the neighboring islands and the rain forest of Puerto Rico will delight. Fully equipped 1 to 3 bedroom suites available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At The Waves Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing