We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get to, lots of picnic tables and shaded areas”
Review of Caracas Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easy to get to, lots of picnic tables and shaded areas”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

so surprised by the changes to the beach access after the Navy was removed, smooth paved roads to the beaches, what? We took the right off the main road to the Blue beaches were not disappointed with this beach. Grabbed a spot with a hut and shared it with others during the day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Almos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    147
    31
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite beach in Vieques”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Yes, I only visited one other beach in Vieques (Sun Bay),.. but after spending a day in Caracas beach (Red beach).. I had to look no further. The water is several shades of green and blue, very calm, hardly any waves. This beach is perfect for average swimmers,.. not at all deep with very calm waters. If you like to snorkel and are bringing along children don't be afraid to visit where the beach ends on the left, near the rocky formations,.. several small and medium size fish like to swim there and are not afraid to get close. If you'd like to bring a picnic or food don't forget to take your trash.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Estefany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The beach was the least crowded we have been to in PR. It was clean, with shelters when the weather got rainy. The waves were not too high, the sand was perfect.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mnckvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Beach in Vieques!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

White sand, clear blue ocean and palm trees. I can swim at the beach forever! There are casitas too where you can sit at picnic type tables. Park and just walk to the beach.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaBendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“pretty, but crowded”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you are looking for a good parking lot, picnic tables, and other creature comforts I recommend Red Beach. Most widely known as Playa Caracas, it is far too crowded for my liking, but some people are into that. It is another great family beach with calm, beautiful waters. Thus, it is only an honorable mention on my top Vieques Best Beaches list.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaBoricua87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caracas Beach also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Caracas Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing