We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careful where you park unless you want a ticket!!”
Review of Caracas Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Careful where you park unless you want a ticket!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We visited this beach twice while in Vieques. The first was Easter, the beach was packed with cars parked everywhere including the turn around at the end. The second time we went later in the week we parked in the turn around, in front of another vehicle already parked there. A few minutes later a police jeep showed up and started writing our tag info down. We were a few feet from the jeep and asked if there was a problem. He stated there is a no parking sign. Really where? Oh there it is behind the other vehicle 10 feet from the road near the shelter!! Curious when we were there on Easter there was cops with horses right by the turn around where all the cars were parked. We were told he started writing the ticket nothing he could do. But he kept asking when we were leaving on the ferry?? Hmmm?? Yes the beach is beautiful but the cops like to harass tourists, so watch where you park unless you want a $75 parking ticket! And no you can't ignore it because it is turned into rental company!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank hummingbird02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    146
    31
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Day!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was the best day of our trip to Puerto Rico. Although getting to Vieques is not easy, it is totally, 100% worth every hassle of making it here for a day trip.

First of all, get to the ferry early! We went to the ferry being open to a day trip to Vieques or Culebra. The ferry to Culebra had a huge line for tickets, so we took a gamble and just bought the 8.00 round trip fair to Vieques, thinking best case scenario we make it to Culebra, and wasted 8.00, worst case we go to Vieques for the day! Vieques is AMAZING!! i have no idea why more people don't just plan on going there, when it is so impossible to get to Culebra.
Once we got off the ferry, we got a cab (plenty right there), we told our driver to take us to Caracas, and he said we should stop for food and water because there is nothing near the beach. He drove us to a convenience store, we loaded up on beer, water, and got some bread/meat/cheese for sandwiches. Our cab driver took us to the beach, and then he asked when we wanted to get picked up(which was a relief, because there is truly NOTHING near this beach)

The beach itself is beautiful, more beautiful than anything I have ever imagined. The water is soooo warm, the sand is perfect!

The only thing I would have done differently, is I wish we have stayed here for a few days... it is that wonderful!

If you are looking for a beach with facilities, and shopping/food close by- this is not the beach for you. If you are wanting to escape for a day, go here! There were maybe 20-30 other people at the beach when we were there.:)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite beach on Vieques!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After the Jeep drive fraught with potholes and rocky roads, coming upon these beautiful blue warm waters and large stretch of white sand that was hardly occupied was well worth it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

It's so difficult to say which beach would be a favorite on Vieques, but this was a favorite. All the beaches are absolutely stunning! There were picnic tables close by and the color of the water was absolutely beautiful! There were more people here than blue beach, but still not overly crowded.

Helpful?
Thank cetex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easy to get to, lots of picnic tables and shaded areas”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

so surprised by the changes to the beach access after the Navy was removed, smooth paved roads to the beaches, what? We took the right off the main road to the Blue beaches were not disappointed with this beach. Grabbed a spot with a hut and shared it with others during the day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Almos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caracas Beach also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Caracas Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing