We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent beach--highly recommended”
Review of Caracas Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“An excellent beach--highly recommended”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had rented a Jeep for the day on Vieques and were going to tour the island. The bellman/valet at the "W" Hotel suggested this beach and gave us directions. You really do need to have a car (all the rentals on Vieques are Jeeps from what we saw) to get there. But the directions were simple enough. The day we went was Memorial Day so the beach was busy. And almost all were locals enjoying the holiday. I did not see any "facilities" or vendors here. So be prepared and take what you might need. But it's a great beach with nice sand gradually sloping into the water.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    151
    31
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you get there early enough to be one of only a few people there, you'll feel like it's heaven. A sheltered cove with the whitest sand and hypnotic waters on a crescent layout. A real keeper.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SigmundBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Heaven.
This beach is so insanely beautiful that you feel like you are living in a postcard. It's a speed-bumpy ride out here, but worth it. We originally planned to go to Garcia Beach/Playuela, but the cab driver missed the turn & dropped us off at Caracas. What a great substitute! We arrived around 10 & there was not another person until noon, when the ferry arrivals start trickling in. At it's busiest there were maybe 40 people there. The beach is lined with palm trees & 8 little cabanas, providing some shade, although on a busy weekend, surely not enough for everyone. The water is warm & clear, the sand is bright white & the scenery is amazing. The snorkeling is decent. Not the best on the island, but worth putting your flippers on for.
My only complaint, at all, was that the sand did have a lot of "stickers" in it by the grassy areas, so you may want to wear your sandals!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Soft White Sand”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A bit of a trek, but one of the best beaches ever! Very secluded and a nice place to spend spend some time. The water is very clean and clear with calm waters on the east side and a bit of surf toward the western side.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TJFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice secluded beach”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The taxi driver recommended we go to this one since we didn't have much time to spare and it was a great decision....it was very secluded with only a few people there.

The water was warm but did have some seagrass through out...not too bad, though.

The sand was powdery soft, probably the softest I can remember. Over by the trees which border the grass area there are some prickly barbs from a nearby tree/bush....so be careful and make sure you wear flip-flops while out there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caracas Beach also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Caracas Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing