We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Bananas

Bananas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Bananas is known as the "Island Meeting Place". We are on island time, which means no worry, no hassle. People from all over come here to drink, eat and people watch. So come on in and have a beer...how about a frozen pina colada? Whatever your poison, let our friendly servers be your host. Want a burger? We have the best burgers in the Caribbean. We also have great wings, huge salads, new vegetarian and vegan entrees and more. We are happy to announce that we have expanded the outside seating area for your enjoyment. New menu items, new drinks and new seating make Bananas your new “old favorite hangout”. Come join us for happy hour Thursday nights UPSTAIRS from 5-7pm: free snacks and a chance to win your bar tab…what could be better?
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I ate at Bananas and the food was good. If you like coconut, you must try the Red Snapper and Mahi Mahi. Their sides were just okay. But they definitely made up for it at desert. The brownie w/ bananas and ice cream was amazing!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    240
    84
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice meal, good service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had not eaten at Bananas in at least 5 years. Since there are new owners, we decided to give it a try once again. The ceviche was awesome - we are big fans, so are very happy when we find some that we like. Ample portion too. Mahi wrap was delicious. Happy Hour burger special was ample - unfortunately fries cold on both. We tried the red velvet ice cream - it was different and quite good. Hope's service was great. Glad to see they have renovated the restrooms a bit - that was one of the reasons we didn't eat there in the last 5 years. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MujerDelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I ate a Banana's last year on my trip to Vieques and I was less than impressed. Bananas was the only place open for an early lunch in Esperanza so we gave it another chance, and am I glad that we did! The fish tacos,seafood mofongo, and burgers are AMAZING! The staff all from the US mainland so English was the prefered language. The staff was very attentive and quick (for the Carribean anyways). The bathrooms are very small and hot but that's not really what you come here for. Bananas is a great place to grab a bite while gazing out into the blue Sea.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rar285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Bananas may look like a dive from outside, but don't let that fool you. Check out the specials board and go right in for lunch every day. Service is quick and friendly - loved our waiter from New Zealand. Everything is fresh and excellently prepared - the trio of "sliders" with Ahi tuna, mahi mahi and snapper was terrific. Many people go there for that alone. Best lunch choice on the Malecon in Esperanza.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 212Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
525 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“4 lunches in a row...”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We ate at almost every place in Esparanza during our 7 day stay and kept coming back here for lunch after the beach daily. Great blackened kingfish special with lobster risotto, lobster bisque, Caribbean chicken with rice and beans. My son said it was the best burger on the island. My parents loved the fresh fish & chips. Great service. Laid back place - we were still covered with sand each day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn_Lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bananas also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing