We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the W (said with hesitation)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I had a great time on Vieques. I really can't imagine staying any where else on the island. The resort is beautiful. The rooms are nice, but not amazing. The service is ... decent. We just had some odd issues with service - like we arrived during a rainstorm at 3pm when our room should have been ready, but they left us in the lobby for 3 hours in order to "let the rain pass." Finally, we asked to go to our room and they walked us right around the corner, which was a little baffling. Not entirely sure why they just left us there. Probably wouldn't have bothered us any other day, except we had just traveled 9 hrs to get there from the west coast.
Like I said, there just things a little off -- service, house cleaning (always something missing), etc. And as someone else mentioned, there was a wedding one night we were there. The music blared so loud and we were attempting to catch up on sleep. No chance ... It is what it is --- just wanted to mention it.

For breakfast, we ate at the Cafe mostly, which I think is great that they have it. It's convenient and inexpensive for breakfast. ** they do run out of breakfast pastries, so you kinda have to go there early. Similar to beach chairs by the pool, they fill up pretty quickly. We never seemed to get there early enough to get a lounger right by the pool.

Mix on the Beach -- my husband and I loved it. Ate there for lunch before we left and dinner our first night. We thought the food was great (had the lobster paella) and priced comparable to El Quenepo.

We rented a jeep from Avis on the property and that worked out great. We also swam/snorkeled in the ocean at the hotel and saw fish.

** Lastly, we flew on Cape Air and Vieques Air. Vieques Air was half the price flying to Isla Grande, but we did get charged a $40 luggage fee, but still cheaper so check it out.

Another nice touch was the free drink they offered at 5:30. Oh, and without a doubt the best pina colada - delicious with the rum floater.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSESanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikoMN, Public Relations Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Hello,
Thanks for sharing your feedback here with the Trip Advisor community. I’m happy to hear you loved the W, but am sorry you experienced some service mishaps. We hope you can visit us again for another Pina Colada!
Warmest,
Nikolai
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,840)
There are newer reviews for W Retreat & Spa Vieques
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,363 - 1,369 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

We recently visited the beautiful resort and wanted to share some thoughts...after a crazy long travel day to get there, it was a spectacular location to enjoy. The views are fantastic and the secluded nature is well worth the trip. The beaches aren't big, but private and enjoyable. I appreciate the contemporary style and the staff was great.

What's HOT?

• Wade at the front desk: We went to Wade every day seeking information and assistance with various things throughout our stay. EVERY time he came through and went out of his way to make our stay better. He made calls, got us help from others, called transportation, recommended local attractions, inquired how they were when we returned, etc. He is a valuable member of the Starwood community and should be rewarded when opportunities arise.

• Saul at the pool service: We spent more than one day at the pool with several members of our group and he was, without exception, a hard worker. He was attentive to every request and went out of his way to make us comfortable. He worked his tail off all day and had a smile on his face while doing it.

• The property in general was beautiful, well maintained and represented the high level I'd expect at a W resort.

• Took a sailing trip with Sea Vieques (Capt. Judy) and Marauder Sailing (Capt. Nate) that was fantastic. Great people, great sailing, great food... Do it!

What's NOT?

• The restaurant/pool food service has some major issues with timely execution. We (and several other people in our traveling group) had ridiculously long waits for service on many occasions. I understand the dinner hour pacing much slower and relaxing. However, it should not take 45 min. - 1 hr to deliver simple eggs/potatoes in the morning or a hamburger/salad at lunchtime. This was not an isolated incident and happened EVERY time we ventured to the restaurant or ordered at the pool bar. The food itself was very good and the choices wonderful, but when you have a "captive audience" at the resort... it must improve.

What ever...When ever?

• If this is your motto, you need to make damn sure you can do it. We had several people at the pool that either ran out of sunscreen mid-day or forgot to bring it on the trip. We decided to test the W motto and asked for a bottle of sunscreen to be brought to the pool for everyone to use. After over an hour, we asked our server if they had any idea where it was? Apparently, we realized that it was going to require the server (who was slammed providing drinks and food to a packed pool area) to leave the pool and go to Black Beard's shop to get it and bring it back! That is a ridiculous plan... take them away from ALL pool guests to fulfill a simple request? We cancelled the request and went to get it ourselves.

Overall, it was a wonderful experience on Vieques Island and the W was a place I would recommend.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ocean views and proximity to the pool (can be a little loud during the day)... just d...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelertroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikoMN, Public Relations Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Hello,

Thanks for your detailed review of our hotel… we appreciate the feedback, both positive and negative, and we’ll be sure to share this with Wade and Saul. We hope to see you in Vieques again soon.

Warmest,

Nikolai
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The W tries hard to be worth the effort of getting there and paying the bill. Let's face it. The place is pricey but not outrageous. We spent 10 nights there 2/2012.First let us say that everyone who works there is nice. Not one bad interaction. They all try to help you have some fun. The view from our porch was great. We had a morning ritual of getting coffee from the main building along with the newspaper and veging on the porch as the sun rose. Best part of the day. No coffee makers in the room was a disappointment. We had some snacks in our fridge from the grocery. The room itself is best described as weird. It is large. But the bathtub is nearly in the middle of the room and turned out to be a good place to store clothes. No drawers for clothes save for some small space in the closet. We ended up using our suitcases for storage. The food at the W is the best on the island. It is expensive but no more expensive then at better restaurants around the island. You can also use your room fridge and keep it stocked from the local grocery store easily reached by car. We suggest drinks, light fare, fruit. Anything you can get this way saves significant $. The fruit stop on the way to the beaches is great. Rent chairs from the activity center before going to the beach. You will be happy you did.
We were able to play tennis each morning and then enjoy the workout facility which is fine. The small deli was great and a great deal for food on Vieques.
The W itself is a somewhat on the boring side especially if you never leave the property. Sitting around the pool is not much on an island with beautiful beaches and lots of sights. The local beach is ok but nothing compared to what else is on the island. You definitely need to rent a car which can be obtained through the W (AVIS). The roads are in very good shape. Several good beaches are availble with ok snorkelling. You can also have a look around and watch the local boys ride their horses around and try out some local food available around the island. We found the beaches to be clean. We saw no crime, nor did we hear about any while we were there. We locked our rental car without issue.
Sunset happy hour drinks at the W are fun while talking with other guests. Definitely take the plane from PR. It is a great ride and Cape Air does a great job. Do not take the local ferry which is a long ride from the airport
So what is the big picture. Yea, we think you should come here. We had a good time. Went to a different beach everyday. Ate ok without breaking the bank. Great weather with no rain while we were there. Bio Bay is good. Definitely do it in the kayak and not the motor boat. Be active. Don't sit around. If all you want to do is sit around a pool go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDHNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikoMN, Public Relations Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your detailed review here on TripAdvisor. We’re happy to hear you would recommend us to others and that you enjoyed your stay and got out to explore the island. We agree it’s good to see all the island has to offer. We hope to see you back on the island in the future.

Warmest,

Nikolai
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was a wonderful vacation! The resort is elegantly nestled in the pristine beach island. You have all the elegance and amenities without feeling you are actually in a hotel. The room was large, well appointed with a fun decor--and a stunning view of the ocean. The ocean swimming had excellent snorkling (especially in the late morning/afternoon); and the 0 gravity pool with underwater music was another enjoyable and soothing experience. This W was just a terrific and relaxing hang out. We loved the "living room" and the fire pit area-- and the service was great all around. The only less than perfect part was the restaurant menu which was somewhat limited--but it encourages you to go out and experience some great Vieques night spots. The food itself at the 'W" is quite good.

Room Tip: Top level rooms have a nicer view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is the perfect place to relax. The W retreat has thought about every single detail to make a vacation experience delightful and unforgettable. From the moment you arrive to the island, the service is outstanding. The facilities at the hotel are impecable. The price- especially if you book an offer- is a good value compared to the other high-end hotels on the island. I am definitely staying at the W Vieques again.

Suggestion: Take a tour to the bioluminescent bay and visit some of the island's secluded beaches.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRinBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikoMN, Public Relations Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Hello,

That’s for the lovely review here on TripAdvisor… We’re happy to hear you got to relax and enjoy what Vieques is all about. We’re excited to welcome you back to the island in the future!

Warmest,

Nikolai
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Thank you for a great vacation. Quick three nights-bio tour amazing-dress to get wet and be prepared for very bumpy ride to the tour spot. Don't skip out on sitting by the fireplace to watch sunset and enjoy a elegant risotto and the candy bar dessert is a must. Bellman team was wonderful-thank you to Pablo for the sea glass beach advice and locations to photograph the horses on property. Also that you to Rahoul for telling the boss about our challenge with the early power washers-he recovered with a drink in the lobby and smooth trip to airport. Pamela in Spa saved the day with a quick nail polish recovery and Mr. Joelle in dining always brought me earl gray tea bags when they ran low in the lobby. Edward in the landscaping team actually offered to take me on the golfcart to go find the horses-what customer service! Bohemian look to the property which is charming and well done to a t! If you prefer a traditional table and bedroom decor, may not be for you. If you love colorful, unique and just something a little different, but still high end-this is the place for you!

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking far, make sure you specify to be close as some of the villas are peacefu...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreeHuggerTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikoMN, Public Relations Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Hello,

Thanks for the lovely feedback. We’re happy to hear you had a great stay, and we’ll be sure to share your kind words with the team. We’d love to see you back in Vieques again in the future

Warmest,

Nikolai
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

While staying in Puerto Rico, a couple of people had mentioned to my wife and I that if we had the time we should go to Vieques and stay at the W Retreat and take the evening Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay tour. So, we did! short flight, incredible W service on arrival, and the tour is something eveyone should do!! Our only downfall was that we were only there one night as we did this on the spur of the moment. We would go back!

Room Tip: I beleive that all of the rooms are exceptional!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikoMN, Public Relations Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor… we’re happy to hear you had an amazing time, and we’d love to welcome you back in the future for a longer stay!

Warmest,

Nikolai
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
59.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
45.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,252 reviews
3.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
45.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £313 - £766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing