We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT OASIS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

For a short or quick get-a-way, the W Retreat in Vieques is hands down incredible. This was our 3rd visit to the property and it still delivers a relaxing, tranquil vacation.

Although not located on one of Vieques' pristine beaches, the view is amazing and you can get in the water from their private beach. (Head to BLUE BEACH via a jeep rental from jaw-dropping scenery and privacy)

The service from the staff is top notch. They handle handle every question, concern and request quickly and efficiently.

The rooms are modern, clean and W-chic. Most recently we had the biggest room offered and the soaking tub was welcomed after a long day at the beach.

Breakfast offers a nice selection to start your day. Platinum members can also get a quick bite at the cafe.

The shop on-site assisted in our jeep rental, bio-bay tour and equipment needs. The staff there was very friendly and knowledgable with local recommendations.

I was recognized for my status and frequent stays at the property, which is always nice.

I recommend this for couples or friends, a stretch for families though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingGuy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us. I feel honored to learn you have chosen the W Vieques as your holiday destination on several occasions.

We hope to welcome you back soon to this great oasis!

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is beautiful and boasts amazing views, beaches and pool. (One beach was adult only! Hooray!) We were on the island for our honeymoon and really enjoyed the little oasis that the W provided. Lounging in the sun and admiring the views and watching the sunset was the most relaxing parts of our honeymoon. The room was beautiful and included a extremely comfortable round lounging chair that I wanted to take home with us! Like other reviewers we emptied the fridge for our own "snacks" that we picked up from one of the local supermarkets.

While I agree with other reviewers that the W front desk and airport lounge service were outstanding, the other service areas left a lot to be desired. We met several folks around the island that were planning to come to the W for dinner at Sorce, and I would say "Skip it!" Each time we tried Sorce, the service was horrible and lifeless (the waitresses and hostess seemed pained to talk to us unlike elsewhere in PR where the servers were fun and seemed to get a kick out of my horrible Spanish and my husbands fluid PR Spanish). Beyond the bland and almost rude service (the hostess was just plain rude!) the food was nothing special compared to other locations on Vieques (Tin Box was tasty and the setting was really neat. Duffy's has great food and a fun staff. Belly buttons breakfast is an experience!). For Easter breakfast the food on the buffet was cold and my husband ordered a ham and cheese omelet and got a egg omelet). Not worth the money or the fight to get the food you ordered.

Beyond Sorce the service was slow and not what you would expect from a W. I gave up on the beach supply shack when I asked for towels and they were basically thrown at me with the clip board to sign them out. Yikes!

Again, amazing place that we enjoyed but cringe at the service or lack of service. Stay here for the view and ambiance but explore other options for food and drink! If the hostess at Sorce is rude when you get there, RUN! They haven't improved anything.

Room Tip: Villa 32 was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelGirl10t2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Welcome,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, and congratulations on your recent wedding! We are honored you chose the W Vieques as the destination to celebrate such a unique occasion.
It is great to learn you enjoyed the views, beaches and overall hotel grounds.

It is saddening however, to read that in other aspects of your stay your expectations were not exceeded. I am sorry about your experience at Sorce, rest assured we place tremendous efforts in ensuring the talent is fully trained to personalize and amplify the experience of every guest. I will ensure to look into the matters you address and implement the appropriate measurements.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The W is definitely one of the nicest places to stay on Vieques and it will definitely cost you! The one thing I can't understand though is why they give you no information regarding tours or car rental before you stay especially if you've booked directly through the hotel. It's amazing the lack of information about the availability of tours, etc. i booked a month in advance and no even a small bit of information was given. And despite that fact that people are nice and the service is good once you get here they don't seem to care about customer feedback at all it goes in one ear and out the other. And it may be the only place where you ask for the manager of the hotel and they seem to think it is a joke. Make sure to plan your vacation fully before coming to the island including excursions unless you literally want to do nothing while here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am sorry to read that your expectations in certain areas were not exceeded.
We take our guest's feedback very seriously, as we continuously place efforts to improve the quality of our service in order to provide each and every guest with the most personalized and memorable experience possible.

There is an array of tours available on island that go from scuba diving, to snorkeling, horseback riding, kayaking, hiking and bicycle rental to car rentals to explore the pristine beaches that surround the retreat. Blackbeard sports, the on-site tour shop is always available and willing to provide our guests with suggestions, as so is our W Insider and the concierge team. I am sorry to read this is not how it was perceived by you during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, to the W Vieques experience that has captivated so many guests.

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the W. We got a garden room, with a few things not working like the safe deposit, bathtub and refrigerator. Also, the comforter had stains. All issues were addressed by the hotel staff efficiently, yet this was bittersour. Hotel staff was very friendly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank McmartinezPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
I am happy to read that overall your experience was wonderful. I am sorry you experienced a few inconveniences during your stay, however, it is great to learn that the talent was always responsive in turning the situation around.

I have regardless taken note of the issues you bring to our attention and will ensure they are addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

In true W fashion we experienced great service and delicious food in a relaxed and beautiful setting. Our room was spacious with two double beds and a ocean view. Recommend a kayak bio cruise and snorkeling in Esperanza. If you like ferry rides take the ferry from Fajardo to Vieques. A great deal, though leave extra time for travel.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Marcyjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!
I am thrilled to read you and your family had a great time.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My visit to W Vieques was a birthday surprise present and it truly was a beautiful surprise.

We stayed 6 days and we loved it all the way. From the moment that we arrived to Vieques airport our W boy was very helpful and friendly. The check-in was flawless and we loved the sea front view room, next time I will ask to be in building #1 that has also sun set views.

We loveddddd the adults beach, however will be nice to update/upgrade a bit the sunbeds and to have low tables, we had eat and drink there a few times and was a bit of a challenge.

We love the restaurant terrace and the whole team, including, of course, the wonderful Angel and the lovely Alvaro, great people and great managers.

I think that is missing a second restaurant with another type of food and location on the same property. We had eat a lot at the restaurant and even though the food was good, we got tired of eating the same dishes, it's just a suggestion. More variety for vegetarians as well.

We can't wait to come bak, hoping soon!! We totally recommend this Property.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yacko33a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Welcome,

First of all, happy belated birthday!
We are honored you celebrated such a special occasion with us.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. I am glad to learn you enjoyed the retreat overall and that the team was a big part of making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from our trip to Vieques and I smile everytime I think about our time there. The resort has impeccable service. The airport lounge site is perfect for waiting for the W shuttles. There's an after hours phone for you to call to arrange a pick up as well.

The design and decor is by far my favorite of any W I've stayed at. Their blend of natural materials, colors and ethnic designs all blended for a constant visual tour. We stayed in a Fantastic Garden Retreat...which was past the main pool/hotel block in a more isolated part of the resort which we preferred. It was quiet, spacious and closeby the W Garden pool which must be unknown to others because we were the only ones that used it. BLISS! We woke up to horses grazing under out deck! (We were in bldg 17). Large room, lots of closet space, extra round couch, great soaker tub, large shower and nice sized patio with a treelined, ocean view.

The service was fantastic. The staff is so friendly, helpful with advice on restaurants, beach favorites, where NOT to drive, scuba spots....great people. The Fitness center is also very nicely equipped so bring those gym clothes. They have water/towels and ear plugs on hand.

We also treated ourselves to the W Spa, an 80 minute Body Scrub and Massage. Worth Every Penny! The treatment rooms are based outside (enclosed w/patio doors but have drapes for privacy)...and post scrub, the showers are outside (fenced for each room) with flowers hanging from above....it was magical!

Sorce was nice but if you're traveling to Vieques- why not try the local flavor. It's convenient to go to Sorce for breakfast and lunch from W Wetbar but otherwise I'd suggest Next Course or Billi in Esparanza.

If you go to Vieques, look no further.

Room Tip: I highly recommend asking for a room on the exterior part of the resort. Spacious. Don't go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haliay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience!
We are thrilled to read you and your boyfriend enjoyed the retreat's impeccable service.

It is great you enjoyed the decor and overall design narrative at the Retreat! the designer Patricia Urquiola carefully selected each of the components, including the pops of color and the indigenous materials incorporated to the general aesthetics.

The talent will be very excited to find out that their recommendations on what to do and where to go on island were so valuable in making your stay a memorable one!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
59.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
3.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Address: State Road 200, KM 3.2 - HC-1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico (Formerly W Retreat & Spa Vieques)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £207 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island is a resort in Puerto Rico that provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing