We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not worth the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and lots of amenities. They seem to cater to business conventions and care little for the individual traveler. You need to fly here and for me it is not worth the hassle and extra expense. If you go rent a jeep. Otherwise there is not much to do. But as you rent the car they tell you to keep
It unlocked so if someone wants to break into it, it is easy.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank vkc_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Welcome

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Rest assured we strive to create amazing memories for all of our guests. We are sorry this is not how it was perceived during your stay

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Best Wishes
Greg White- GM
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I went here in June of 2013 for our late Honeymoon. We had a fabulous time. We stayed there for 6 nights and it was the perfect balance of luxury and seclusion for us. We spent a couple of days hanging out in the pool and just lounging had having cocktails which was great, spent a day in the fabulous spa when it rained for a whole day and spent two days traveling around in an jeep to the secluded beaches on the islands. It was great. The staff at the property were all super friendly and great and they gave us a great upgraded room because of my Starwood Platinum membership and the fact that it was our honeymoon. We had a suite that was bigger than our apartment that had a gorgeous tub and a living room. We made friends at the pool one day and even had a little wine/cheese party at our room one day. We bought rum, wine and water offsite and that helped us keep the costs in check while still going out for dinners and spending a few days at the pool drinking. We at the the restaurant on site twice which was not cheap but very good and we explored the finer restaurants around the island every other night. The food on the island is really good, but it we were on our honeymoon so we splurged. We ended up getting a taxi driver who wound up being our personal driver every night and he and his wife were just lovely they picked us up and drove us every night and then picked us up and returned us to the W, at the end of the trip he even gave me some homemade moonshine rum that he had made from the fruit trees at his house and it was super potent. We even went salsa dancing with the locals one night at this little shack that overlooked the Bio Bay and that was amazing.

We live in CA and if we lived closer we would totally go to Vieques for a shorter vacation. We will return in the future and would recommend this place for a romantic holiday

Room Tip: If you are a starwood member use your suite nights awards here, it's totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Troble733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Welcome

Firstly, congratulations on your recent honeymoon!
We feel honored you chose the W Vieques as the venue to celebrate such a special occasion.

I am thrilled your experience was so wonderful as we were able to contribute to the creation of amazing memories.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Warmest Regards,
Greg White - GM W VIeques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was my 3rd time at the W and it just keeps getting better. As a learning experience from previous times remember to book a pool or ocean view room they are worth it, stay away from the restaurant in the hotel (except the W cafe) and go enjoy all the wonderful culinary places in Vieques. The service has improved significantly and the drink of the day in the pool was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarilamejor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Welcome

I am glad to read you had a wonderful experience at the W Vieques!
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to the island charm!

Warmest Regards,
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Vieques is beautiful and the W has done a wonderful job with this resort. The property is perfect and the designers really provided a ton of spaces to take in the beautiful surroundings. Our room overlooked the main pool. Initially I was a little bit concerned that it would be too loud at night but if we closed our balcony doors there was no problem. In addition to the main pool there are several small pools situated around the property. Our favorite was a round one situated just up the hill from the main building. It was made out of what looked like black lava rock and had LED's imbedded in the bottom so at night it sort of looked like the bioluminescent bay.....and it was a whirlpool....with a bench all along the edge. Great for just floating or hanging out with a drink.

In addition to the pools and many lounging areas there is a spa and fitness center. My daughter and I visited the spa for a mani pedi. They did a great job and the spa was very pretty. The restaurant is pretty good and more then adequate if you don't want to wander off the resort grounds. Service is typical of most island communities so don't be in a rush to go anywhere and if you are order room service with plenty of time to spare.

If you have kids or if you are an animal lover Vieques has wild horses. The W has it's own little herd. When we were there they had a stallion with 6 pregnant mares. Seeing them grazing outside our room each morning was extremely cool. There are also a fair amount of iguana's and they are very large. There are several Iguana tanning stations set up around the property and they are almost always occupied. Overall if you are looking for time to rest and recharge this is the perfect place.

The resort also has snorkeling equiptment, Kayaks and paddle boards that can be checked out so if you're looking for some activities to fill the day there are plenty. The beach off the resort was almost always calm while we were there and the water was crystal clear and warm.

Another tip about the property, if you like to shell hunt the adjacent beach running next to the We has amazing shells. We found a Conch shell and lots of dried out sea urchins. It was a fun couple of hours.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rjelen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us!

We are thrilled to read you had an amazing experience.
It is highly satisfying to learn we are achieving our goal as a team: to play an important role in the creation of amazing memories for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the island charm,

Best Wishes
Greg White - General Manager
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is a terrific property with amazing views and scenery. More geared towards couples than families with children but a great getaway for anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful retreat. Breakfast at Sorce in the patio was outstanding, every time. My kids loved the snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boarding and scenic pools. Will definitely go back. If you want to go to the bioluminescent bay, make sure you stay on Friday, Saturday or Sunday; its closed the rest of the week.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank JDVegas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Welcome,

I am thrilled to read you had a wonderful experience at the W Vieques. We are honored chose the retreat as your holiday venue.

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience, we hope we will welcome you back soon!

Best Wishes
Greg White - General Manager
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The W Vieques has been around for a number of years and the property was formerly a Wyndham. W has done a great job of updating. The rooms are lovely though the darker gray tile is a bit off for a tropical location. That said, the W fun furnishings are all there and the public spaces are great. Beautiful location. Lovely pool (a few too many kids for our taste but that was likely the time of year) Food was uniformly good and typically over-priced as is the case at most resorts. Ok, a few quibbles. Not big things, but in season at the prices they charge these should not be... 1) The staff was widely inconsistent. Some were great and very helpful, others not as much. All were nice just a bit distracted though the hostess argued with me about seating us by the water view because the other waiter's station had no people - needless to say that did not fly with me ; 2) why offer turn down that does nothing but put a piece of inexpensive chocolate on a your pillow - what about new towels, water, a room freshen up? 3) Speaking of water...we had to ask for the free water every day and the housekeeping staff had no power to bring. Needed to call the front desk, really? 4) One set of windows in unit was filthy - behind curtains but you wanted to open and see out - we are on the beach. Again, all small things on an otherwise beautiful property.

Room Tip: We choose a suite with a partial water view. Next time i'd get a full water view away from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Welcome

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us in such detail.
We are very happy to learn your experience overall was so wonderful.

I also appreciate you bringing to our attention our areas of opportunity. Sorry to read your expectations were not met in certain areas. I will ensure we look into the details you mention, as we strive to constantly craft unforgettable experiences for our guests.

I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and make your stay one that really represents the values that we as the team at the W Vieques stand for.

Best Wishes
Greg White - General Manager
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent a very relaxing and enjoyable couple of nights at the W and highly recommend it to get away from it all! Wild horses everywhere! It was very worthwhile renting a jeep for the day the cost about $85 drove to many private beaches around the small island. The food and drinks a the W and also elsewhere was amazing. We will definitely be going back. We spent the first couple of nights in PR at El Convento in Old San Juan then after our couple of nights we spent at the W we went on to the St. Regis. A perfect holiday for all of us!

Room Tip: Oceanfront thats all they offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babybrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Good day,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback with us!
I am thrilled to read your experience was so wonderful.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes
Greg White - General Manager
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
59.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
3.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Address: State Road 200, KM 3.2 - HC-1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico (Formerly W Retreat & Spa Vieques)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £81 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island is a resort in Puerto Rico that provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing