We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Horizon Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We really enjoyed our short stay here. The grounds are exceptional and the service was warm and professional. The staff answered every question and gave some great local advice.

Great location, close to Esperanza but not in the middle of things. Very laid back atmosphere perfect for relaxation, this is no crowded beach resort.

We stayed in the room called "Mariana" and the view was stunning. Wonderful pool also.

Hope we get back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    91
    35
    33
    40
See reviews for
31
241
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I struggled to rate this hotel because there are great things as well as a few key negatives.

Let's get the negatives out of the way:
1. The room - especially the bathroom - needs an upgrade. I stayed in the ocean view suite attached to the hotel.

2. There isn't a beach on the property. This wasn't a big issue to me as there are several wonderful beaches nearby, but it is to be noted. Plus a large part of the Vieques experience is beach-hopping.

Now for the good:
1. The location is top notch. It's right outside of Esperanza, which makes it an easy drive into town for lunch and dinner; but away from the hustle and bustle. Next door is a wonderful ranch w/horseback riding available - I highly recommend it.

2. The views are to die for! No matter your vantage point, there's always stunning sea views and lovely flora on the property. Some of my best moments were waking up to that sea vie each morning.

3. The staff will go to the world's end to satisfy a request. They are helpful and courteous. They found us a rental car, made dining recommendations and scheduled tours.

In conclusion, I'd definitely return, but management would do well to upgrade the rooms.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The resort is at the best location in Vieques. The main atraction, the Bio Bay is just a few minutes drive from here. The vue from the Resort is just amazing, the beautiful Ocean and a small iland. The furnituer of the resort is gorgeous. It has a warm atmosphere. The main are is beautiful and it is right at the pool. The resort is sourrounded with a big and beautiful garden. The restaurant is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marietta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our waitress did not understand our questions about the menu or even what we ordered. After we waited over twenty minutes for our drinks, we went to the bar ourselves to get them. All of our food- the appetizers (delicious tuna tartare), salads (excellent), and entrees were brought to the table at once. My grouper filets, the evening's featured special, were cold, as was the calamari. Mysteriously, the side of jasmine rice was delicately infused with spices and oil and was wonderful. I still cannot figure out how this dish happened. So sorry the dinner was such a disappointment because the dining area is just gorgeous.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank karolvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The setting of the Blue Horizon is truly spectacular. A lovely infinity pool and a comfortable open air common space. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are not updated, but are very adequate. Housekeeping needed a few prompts to be thorough. The horses wandering around add some local "flavor". A beautiful, private beach is just below the resort- a short walk.
If you are looking for a quiet, lovely setting to vacation, this is it!!

FYI, a car is nice to have to get to the outer beaches. We have had a bad experience with Maritza two years in a row, so rent from someone else!

Room Tip: ocean view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zambo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Pros:

1. The view is beautiful
2. The employees are nice
3. There are only a few cabins so there is privacy

Cons:

1. The rooms are more like cabins. They border rustic. The bathrooms are very basic.
2. Nobody responded to my emails with questions I had.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zambo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This place is in a class (and a world) all its own! The rooms are free-standing, one-story villas scattered throughout the property, and there are only 12 rooms in total. The grounds are stunningly beautiful, the air is fragrant, and the rooms are well-appointed but simple. The main focal features are the open-air restaurant, the open-air circular bar and the infinity pool overlooking the sea. Wild (but very friendly) horses roam the grounds, and the night sky is filled with the most stars I've ever seen in my life! Our recent stay was the most peaceful and romantic vacation my husband and I have ever taken. Jeannette at the front desk and Rosa and David at the bar were beyond friendly. On our second day at the hotel, Jeannette drove to the airport to pick up a piece of my husband's luggage that Cape Air had misplaced. She handled the whole ordeal so we didn't have to. Also, when we were stood up by a taxi cab and running late for our dinner reservations in Esperanza one evening, Rosa happily drove us in her personal vehicle. They are really customer service oriented, and we couldn't have been more pleased with the service we received at Blue Horizon. Although my husband and I managed just fine without a car for 6 days, I would highly recommend that travelers rent a jeep on the island. Taxi cabs can be unreliable at times, and unless you are fond of walking, it is difficult to get to the nice beaches without a car. That said, we were able to walk into Esperanza every day, and walk ahead to Sun Bay, Media Luna and Navio without any trouble. They were somewhat long, hot walks though. The hotel restaurant was quite good, but if you are looking for a nice dinner in Esperanza, I would recommend Quenepo. We also had a nice dinner at Bili.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
5.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
46.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Boutique Resort

Property: Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Address: Carretera 996 Km. 4.3, 00765, Puerto Rico (Formerly Inn on the Blue Horizon)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the island's southern coastal road, less than a mile west of Esperanza on Vieques Island. The Blue Horizon Boutique Resort is perfectly situated on a bluff overlooking the waters of the Caribbean Sea; 800m of ocean front coastline. Its centerpiece is an airy seafront house, built in a Mediterranean style in 1975, whose soaring living area opens onto a view of the blue horizon. It's 10 air-conditioned rooms. Our Restaurant, Carambola and Blue Moon Bar open 7-days a week year-round! Massages are available in-room, cliff or pool side by our selective therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blue Horizon Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Boutique Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing