We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with a true get away from it all feel”
Review of Hix Island House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hix Island House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Some folks have complained about the cleanliness but when you factor in that there are no windows you can expect some reasonable level of leaves, flowers and dust etc coming in. For us it was either staying at Hix or the W (the W was the primary reason we first chose Vieques) but after reading reviews of Hix we decided to take the plunge.

We were not disappointed. This place has huge character, the outdoor showers are fantastic and very discreet and the overall serenity of the place is wonderful. Rooms are large and very airy (it was architected to catch the trade winds) and even though it was regularly 90 plus during the day we never once felt hot in the rooms.

Given the price, this place is well worth considering. It never feels crowded (there are only 19 rooms I think), the supplied breakfast components went down very well and the maid regularly washed our dishes.

The only downside was the supplied fruit. As a hotel that seeks to promote being more environmentally conscious, I was surprised to see fruit from California, Italy and Chile.... particularly when the local market had bananas from Puerto Rico, peaches from other Caribbean islands and so on. The reason I was given was that guests wouldn't eat it, given it is miscolored, misshapen etc. To my mind, this isn't a reason for not providing it, given the availability of these perfectly reasonable and more local alternatives.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khatls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Much of what we have to say has been written in these positive reviews. We loved the Hix Island House. We stayed in Loft one in Casa Redondo for 4 days, 2 of which were rainy- including a non-weather related island-wide power outage - which for a beach vacation is not ideal, but this place made up for it. Open Air rooms, a friendly, helpful, but unobtrusive staff, delicious provisions to make your breakfast and French press coffee, kitchen for dining elegantly at home, rustic/modern aesthetic, and a great pool and view. Yoga too. Must rent a car to explore Vieques, which has lovely beaches, okay food, and lots of undeveloped land. Can not say enough good things about Hix, the perfect place for relaxed, open air, simple living (glamour camping in the best sense). Would that we lived the rest of life in a climate and architecture where this indoor/outdoor distinction was so completely fluid. My idea of heaven, made manifest at Hix Island House.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Charlotteella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

While the bar concrete construction isn't beautiful, it is comfy and inviting. The lack of A/C could be a problem for people who can't take a little heat, but the fans really help keep it fairly comfy. It cools way off at night so no problem sleeping. All the rooms are huge(we were in Sola 6) and we loved the shower that's open to outdoors, but still completely modest thanks to the partial wall on the fourth side. The pool is lovely - very tranquil with a nice view to the ocean about 2 miles away. The lack of a restaurant can be inconvenient but there are several good restaurants within 2 miles. If you are bug phobic that might be a problem. We came back in the evening to find a large roach-like bug flying around and a lizard on the toilet tank. The screens do a good job but they don't keep everything out. The free beach gear was greatly appreciated - we used the chairs, umbrella and snorkel gear at Playa Plata and had a great day.

Room Tip: The higher up the better for airflow and view. We were on the ground floor and saw only bushes and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorer301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Hix House is a gorgeous retreat up on a hill in Vieques.

If you're looking to be close to the tourist center, this is not the best hotel. But that's part of the reason we loved it and why it is the best place to stay in Vieques!

The rooms are beautiful and have amazing views. The staff is friendly and everything was incredibly clean.

We stayed at the bottom floor room in Redonda but after one night was upgraded to the top floor of the Solaris building due to some construction that needed to be done in our building.

If you are going to Vieques you probably want to escape the typical tourist and this hotel is the perfect place to do this.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_Will_251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

For the special person who likes the unusual, nature and a tranquil experience the Hix Island House is the place to stay. This place is an architectural gem! Staying here has been called: glamor camping; a term I refute. Staying here is not camping, it is a unique experience with nature and beauty.

Room Tip: Don't choose the cheapest room. Spend a little more and get a lot more for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

After waiting 45 minutes for our car rental provider to pick us up at the airport, we weren't off to a great start on Vieques. That all changed when we arrived at Hix Island House. The property is located up in the hills which we really enjoyed (breezy, great views, private). Everything is accessible within a 15-minute drive, so not an issue provided that you have a car. We stayed in the casita because it was the only room available. This worked out well as it's very private and does have screens and doors (not to say it would've been an issue otherwise, but it couldn't have hurt). The whole approach at Hix is very low key. If you need something, just ask for it. They're not all over you, but they're very happy to offer assistance when requested. We had excellent massages in our room (Maureen was fantastic!) and relied on the front desk for all of our inquiries on beaches and restaurants (thank you Sarah Rose, JoAnna, and others!). Our room was well stocked every day and housekeeping was reliable and efficient.

A couple of points/observations on Vieques: 1) The beaches are gorgeous, but littering is an issue. I hope there's a big education push to encourage locals to respect their beaches. We also heard quite a few murmurs about petty theft, but we had no issues. 2) Before you book your hotel and flights, make sure you can book a car. Also, if you plan on visiting the beaches, you need a Jeep if you really want to explore. 3) There are only 2 gas stations on the island (pretty much across the street from each other) which are also located right by the cheapest grocery store. Be strategic to avoid multiple trips back and forth. 4) I'd like to see more of the local establishments hiring some of the actual local people on our next visit. It's all fine and good that you just moved down here from New Hampshire, but what about someone who's lived around the corner their entire lives? This was a recurring trend wherever we went on Vieques. 5) Watch out for the wild horses! They really are everywhere, which we loved.

We very much enjoyed our first trip to Vieques and especially enjoyed our quiet, secluded stay at Hix Island. Not for everyone, but definitely for us. We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the casita. You don't get the "open" effect that the other rooms offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSNYCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We wanted to get away simply but didn't want to give up the finer points. From fresh bread, fruit, eggs, tea and coffee in our room, to the terrific long cotton lounge shirts, to the outdoor shower and the inability to see or for the most part hear our fellow guests, we were absolutely entranced.
Every question asked was swiftly and graciously answered and we wanted for nothing.
Bob, the genial GM, joked he would be by to peel us up with a spatula when it came time to check out . He was not far off.
Go, enjoy the quiet, the view and fantastic shower.

Room Tip: Eat at the local spots and forget the gussied up Gringo or the strip in Esperanza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahawkfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
2.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,842 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
45.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hix Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hix Island House

Address: Route 995, km 1.5 | HC02 Box 14902, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £86 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hix Island House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rejuvenate and refresh midst Zen-like architectural elegance at Hix Island House, located in a 13-acre natural refuge. Our spacious lofts feature matchless Caribbean views, open-air private terraces, outdoor showers, Frette linens and luxurious lounging shirts. In-room kitchens are stocked with everything one needs to make breakfast; eggs, cereal, juice, Puerto Rican coffee, fruit, tea, jam and homemade bread. We also showcase one of the Caribbean's most magnificent pools and offer onsite Yoga and massage, daily housekeeping, full concierge and front desk services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hix Island House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hix Island House Hotel Isla De Vieques
Hix Island Hotel
Hotel Hix Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing