We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hix Island House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hix Island House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

AMAZING stay at a superior place. Horses right outside your door, frog and cricket sounds putting you to bed each night, no "civilized" noises...I could go on and on. If you need to unplug yourself...this is THE Place!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abirdie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    33
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
12
214
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

we were initially apprehensive about staying at hix given it's "eco"-ness but that's what we ended up loving the most about it. we stayed at casa solaris thanks to a very generous upgrade. the views from the room were amazing. you can definitely appreciate the design thought that was put into the place; from the entrance steps to the outdoor shower and outdoor loungers, and down to the ledge that prevents you from seeing the folks in the rooms below you. making your own breakfast turned out to be fun, too. the no tv was fine, but we did miss not having wifi in the room especially when looking for things to do in the area (reviews, reservations, etc).

because the room had no windows (at least no screens; it was open to the outside on both sides), we had issues with mosquitoes at night. we solved that by spraying bug spray (they provide you with an eco-friendly one in the room) all over the sheets before sleeping. definitely did the trick.

the service was great too. they helped us by giving us suggestions about car rentals, restaurants, and flights. overall a great place.

Room Tip: All of the buildings looked different and located within this sort of compound. We thought we lucked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezraulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We just returned from 3 nights at Hix Island House. The hotel met and exceeded our expectations. We were looking for an experience in the jungle with beautiful beaches, and that is exactly what we got. We stayed in Solaris 1 which was wonderful. We were up high enough to get a fresh breeze, and had wonderful view of the jungle (the ocean was in the distance). We went to sleep after an evening of watching fireflies and listening to the sounds of frogs, birds and horses, and woke up to spectacular sunrises that we could see from our bed. I would highly recommend going to Hix Island if you are looking for a slow paced environment.

Room Tip: Solaris 1 was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HixHouseGM, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at the Hix the 27th-28th of July (sorry about the late review). When we were looking for accommodation to stay in Vieques online, I was coerced into picking the Hix by my boyfriend, as it looked like it would be an unusual experience, being "at one" with the wildlife. I say coerced as I have a big cockroach phobia and read a review written by someone a while ago about an unpleasant experience they had which put me off a huge amount. Nonetheless, we booked it and I said my prayers. I have to say while I was there, I was amazed at how beautiful the hotel was, the overall experience was fantastic, every single moment and every aspect of it, it actually was one of the highlights of the 10 day Puerto Rican trip. When we got there we were greeted by the friendly hotel staff Joanna (and her lovely excitable dog), who upgraded our room to the lovely Casa Triangular Studio, staff were extremely helpful and friendly but non intrusive.

In terms of bugs, we took Joannas advice and left all windows open at night to let the air circulate and as a result bugs magically stayed away, this meant we could also listen to the rain and night life out in the trees and watch the glow bugs in the distance light up while sitting on our deck chairs. We had a couple of friendly Geckos keeping us company in our rooms, very cute and shy little creatures.

Location wise, I would advise renting a car on Vieques to explore everything the island has to offer, it is a bit tricky getting around without one, and be careful with keeping your tank topped up as there are only 2 gas stations on the whole island and sometimes they run out of fuel.

Definitely do the Mosquito bay bioluminescent experience, that truly took our breath away and if you go with the guys that do the tour (they have a kiosk just as you come into Esperanza town on the left) they'll let you jump in the water which is not done by any other tour group.

A very surreal and unforgettable experience at the Hix Island Hotel and would love to come back again!

Room Tip: Higher floors are breezy and give you a lovely view of the trees and wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreeAlejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HixHouseGM, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thanks for your beautiful remarks. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We made a last-minute reservation at the Hix, in part based on all the great reviews, and we were not disappointed. The property is beautiful and secluded, but close enough to the beaches and restaurants that you feel everything is nearby. It was wonderful to wake up to an open view of the gardens. The outdoor shower rocks! not having tv or internet in the room contributed to the peacefulness (I understand that's not for everyone, just like sleeping in a room open to the elements). Beware though, you might want to stay for a month!

Room Tip: We had a garden view room and it was lovely, but I suspect ocean view ones are more magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eabaikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HixHouseGM, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thanks for the great review. We're glad you were able to immerse yourself as John Hix hopes one would. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My girlfriend and I just stayed at the Red 3 recently for three nights. The price was an excellent one for the exchange of what you get. Comfortable room with nice breeze and nature views. No radio or tv was the best part of it (we didn't knew at all until we got there) 'cause gave us the time to really spend quality time with each other. Sara there... she's magical... fruits, freshly baked bread, fresh bean coffee that you have to grind and brew, juice, jelly, eggs... just everything you need to have breakfast in bed and prepared just there by yourself and your couple... so awesome place, a must to repeat !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HixHouseGM, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the nice remarks. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We live two nights here, one night in Solaris loft, which is newest building. Everything is good here, clean and big kitchen, good view. Another night is at another loft, which has 20 years old. The building is pretty old, we understand that. BUT, everything in the room is OLD and looks not clean as well. The kitchen tools, the pillow, the chairs are dirty. We paid the 4 stars' price, we didn't expect such of poor service.
I tried to negotiate with the customer service to add more money to change back to the newer loft, cuz as a guest, I want to feel comfortable-even add more money. While the person not happy with me, she made a lot of excuses: the weather is wet so the tools looks dirty; they will change the tools by the end of the yearThey even ask me to change another hotel without refund me a penny. These explains are ridiculous to me. I paid money, don't want to listen to the excuses.
In conclusion, I'm not happy with the service AT ALL. The price is far from what a customer should get from.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HixHouseGM, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We appreciate the remarks regarding your entire stay, both good and bad. Because of your feedback, we have made some changes with our front desk policies, so that future guests can enjoy their stay to the max .Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.3 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hix Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hix Island House

Property: Hix Island House
Address: Route 995, km 1.5 | HC02 Box 14902, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hix Island House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rejuvenate and refresh midst Zen-like architectural elegance at Hix Island House, located in a 13-acre natural refuge. Our spacious lofts feature matchless Caribbean views, open-air private terraces, outdoor showers, Frette linens and luxurious lounging shirts. In-room kitchens are stocked with everything one needs to make breakfast; eggs, cereal, juice, Puerto Rican coffee, fruit, tea, jam and homemade bread. We also showcase one of the Caribbean's most magnificent pools and offer onsite Yoga and massage, daily housekeeping, full concierge and front desk services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hix Island House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hix Island House Hotel Isla De Vieques
Hix Island Hotel
Hotel Hix Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing