We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Because I'm happy clap along if you feel like a room without a roof”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hix Island House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hix Island House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Because I'm happy clap along if you feel like a room without a roof”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

You know that song well that kinda sums up our experience here. No photos or words can express the feeling of having your own slice of paradise. There're other people staying here but for some reason you feel like you have the place for yourself. Daily they quietly bring you bread, milk, coffee, eggs, fruits and other things so you can make you own breakfast. The place is amazingly peaceful and has everything you need to not even leave the place if you don't want to. We brought in our own wine and done. We made a brunch and only went out in the evenings for dinner a must Next Course do NOT miss out on that one. Again I can only say Paradise. Already planning our next trip here the place is love or hate for couples because nothing else left to do but be together and talk. Gladly for us was LOVE

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank juliam1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    33
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
12
214
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

There's so many wonderful comments to make about Hix House, starting from my first call and speaking with Joann one of the fantastic staff members there who was so helpful that she scheduled our flight from Old San Juan to Vieques. We stayed in Solaris, the views were outstanding! The Loft is spacious and the trade winds made it extremely comfortable even in July! We didn't get bit by one mosquitoe in the loft, now while on the island you'll definitely need repellent! Bottom line, if you want peace, beautiful views, comfortable, clean spacious lofts, fresh bread, to wake up to birds chirping and seeing horses graze stay here!! Thanks Joann, Liz and Sarah Rose for making our stay PERFECT! WE WILL BE BACK!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joycelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were delighted to get upgraded on arrival. The staff were friendly and helpful. I like that it was very open, you could hear all the wildlife at night, and for us, the mosquito net proved an effective barrier. However, the price we payed for what we got was not matched. The food provided could have been more diverse; the same fruit, bread, eggs and canned concentrated juice (especially on an island that has so many fruit trees) was tiresome after 4 days. Given the eco nature of the hotel, we felt that a lot of food was individually packaged, with the result of a lot of plastic waste. Minimal service was provided which does not justify the cost.

Room Tip: higher level rooms have more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessimcd12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff were unhelpful and rude. Do your self a favor and stay somewhere else. There is no food, they say they give you everything you need to make breakfast, but a few eggs, frozen milk, and child sized packages of special k do not make a breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at Hix Island House during the busy NYE holiday. I would advise people to visit Hix/travel to Vieques during a less busy time to ensure the island is not overburdened by tourists. The facilities at Hix are delightfully minimalist and extremely functional. Having a kitchen within our room that was restocked daily with breakfast essentials was an excellent amenity. Because Hix is somewhat remote, its much more desirable to prepare your own breakfast than to try and venture out every morning in search of food. We were advised to rent a car since Hix is not walking distance from a beach. When the rental car company "lost" our reservation, I was met with skepticism about the possibility of renting a bicycle, but in hindsight I wish I had just rented bicycles. If you're physically fit, its not unrealistic to bike to the beaches and it would probably be a nice workout to boot. We ended up finagling a moped which did the job, but I'm confident none of this would've even been problematic if we'd gone during a less busy week. Live & Learn.
I advise people traveling to Hix to do some research as to which places they might like to explore on the island. While the staff at Hix is pleasant and attentive, their office isn't open very late at night, and they're not going to provide concierge service. They have some helpful guides/brochure/pamphlets in the office and they're happy to assist when they can, but you're sort of on your own. Unfortunately, I was pretty disappointed by the staff on our last day when we ended up encountering some unfortunate luck with regards to our flight with the risk of not being able to get off the island & not having anywhere to stay. When I called the hotel from the airport to ask the about the potential to extend our stay an additional night, the staff member who responded was exceptionally aloof - treating me like a stranger - not realizing I had checked out less than 3 hours prior from Hix after staying for 6 days. Luckily we made it off the island that night, or we would have had to sleep on the airport floor.

Barring that, the morning yoga, the free range wild horses, the open air rooms, and the outdoor showers were all more than worth the trip. For anyone who appreciates architecture, its impressive to see how so many details were considered in the construction of Hix.

Room Tip: The high levels of the Rectangle building were pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMJBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went to the Hix House twice and loved it. It's the only eco-hotel in Puerto Rico and it's wabi-sabi architecture is amazing. It's about 15 minutes by car from the beach but honestly the grounds are so amazing you sort of forget about the beach! The pool is awesome and there are some great views of the ocean from Loft 1. Having a kitchen is a nice perk- you can just enjoy your surroundings in nature.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband & I stayed here May3-9 this year to celebrate a long overdue honeymoon after our 16th anniversary. I was leery about the bugs, but willing to try it out for the sake of adventure. We stayed in Solaris 1. This building is the first you see as you drive onto the property & we were on the top floor. The whole set up is just spectacular. When you are inside your room, even with it wide open, you cannot hear anyone else- just the sounds of the jungle. The only wildlife we saw in the room was a lizard. We had no trouble with mosquitoes and did not even use the net provided. We loved the outdoor shower! The fresh fruit, juices and eggs delivered each day were a perfect start to each morning! There was also a loaf of delicious smelling homemade bread, but we are gluten free and could not eat it. There was a big storm our last night and the wind was blowing pretty hard- this was the only time we had to lower the storm door a little to keep the rain from blowing in on us as we slept. Even so, we remained plenty cool with the fans blowing & our room remained dry. We will definitely return to Hix- it provided the the perfect atmosphere for the unplugging and reconnecting we were looking for!! I think next time, we will try Solaris 2, though, since it seemed to have a little more privacy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AN6pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.3 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hix Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hix Island House

Property: Hix Island House
Address: Route 995, km 1.5 | HC02 Box 14902, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hix Island House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rejuvenate and refresh midst Zen-like architectural elegance at Hix Island House, located in a 13-acre natural refuge. Our spacious lofts feature matchless Caribbean views, open-air private terraces, outdoor showers, Frette linens and luxurious lounging shirts. In-room kitchens are stocked with everything one needs to make breakfast; eggs, cereal, juice, Puerto Rican coffee, fruit, tea, jam and homemade bread. We also showcase one of the Caribbean's most magnificent pools and offer onsite Yoga and massage, daily housekeeping, full concierge and front desk services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hix Island House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hix Island House Hotel Isla De Vieques
Hix Island Hotel
Hotel Hix Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing