We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars for the beach, 1 star for the snorkeling”
Review of Secret Beach

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This rather remote beach is scenic and breathtaking with a mildly rugged coastline and perfect waters for swimming and snorkeling.
North Plains, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“4 stars for the beach, 1 star for the snorkeling”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I'm sure people are going to say they didn't have the same snorkeling.experience. I can only report on is what we saw --- or more accurately, did NOT see. The snorkeling was not good at all. There were hardly any fish, and the coral was quite brown. There was a fair amount of sloshing around due to the wave action. That alone does not necessarily mean poor snorkeling, but this time it may have contributed. Our neighbors at Hector's had the same experience the next day, by the way.

The beach is stunning, get there early to snag a nice shaded spot under a palm tree. We wished we had brought our lounge-around-the-beach gear, but we were only planning to snorkel for an hour or so and go back to our Casita at Hector's and go beaching. So we hung around and watched the place get more and more filled up. The water was very clear at the shoreline, and it was gentle enough to swim. Didn't get deep right away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yay4films
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    52
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Secret Cove (Plata Preta Beach)”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We visited at the end of June and were so happy to have found this beach. It really is an adventure to just get to it with all the bumpy roads. We went early in the morning on the day we were heading back to the main island for the remainder of our trip. We were there from 8-10am and had the beach to ourselves the entire time. Great snorkeling location with calm waters. It hasn't rain much on the outer islands so the bugs are out looking for water and anything with sugar so just be wary of them. Don't swing at them and they'll leave you alone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirls04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent most of the day here. We snorkeled and laid out for a few hours. The water was very warm and calm. The bees were out but as long as you leave them alone they will do the same.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelman360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Worth the bumpy road”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The most beautiful beach I've been to - worth all the bumps (and ditches) in the road leading in. Very limited parking = empty beach.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kathras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Intimate Point”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Solitary, cozy, medium size beach. Is very pretty, quite and relaxing... like a grateful and very kind girl... Is a sweet jewelry.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Secret Beach also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Secret Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing