We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In Awe of Nature!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay

Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.00*
and up
Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In Awe of Nature!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

*** The bay is NOT destroyed, and you CAN see the glow ****

We reached out to Abe's when we initially planned the trip in January 2014 - the online calendar showed that 7/14 would be ideal to a good viewing. However, we were informed that in efforts to conserve the Bio Bay, the government in Vieques no longer allows trips during the week in addition to other strict measures. The weather on Monday 7/14 was conducive to a great viewing and the government set up a lottery system to decide which company was allowed to take a tour into the bay - Abe's was apparently chosen.

We found out that Abe's was taking a tour to the bay on 7/14, when on 7/12 we called them in "one last attempt" - and were in LUCK! The crew was great - all cordial, fun and educated. The water wasn't too rough and we kayaked out about 45 minutes to the center of the bay. 2 people are allowed per Kayak. As you move nearer to the center of the bay, away from the lights, you see your oars glow + a glow lining other people's kayak's!

We were surrounded by millions of stars, an educated guide, and the glow of fishes!! There were no mosquitoes (or didn't realize there were many). Swimming is not allowed (I don't know if I would have even if it were allowed since its PITCH BLACK) - you are allowed to put your hand in the water - and as the water leaves your palm, you can see bits of sparkle left (it's AMAZING).

My advice would be - Abe's is great for your first time out into the bay, however, call them a couple of times, since the regulations keep changing - the bay definitely has a glow and it's worth it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Preetika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,692
    303
    122
    59
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I came to Puerto Rico knowing nothing about it. I found out about the Bioluminescent Bays through Trip Advisor. They were even more amazing than the reviews had to offer. The pictures do this no justice and it is really hard to capture on camera. Book far out so that you do not miss it. YOU DO NOT WANT TO COME TO PR WITHOUT EXPERIENCING THIS. This is something like nothing you have ever seen before. It is amazing, you will not be disappointed. Best time to go is when there is a new moon or close to it. Worth every penny of the trip. Absolutely amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Athletchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

So many have shared that the bio bay is not glowing as brightly as before. We had nothing to compare that to and figured, if nothing else, it would be a fabulous night to look at the stars. We were spot on! The trip to the bio bay was awesome as we had a fantastic star-filled evening. Our guide with Island Adventures had what I swear was a laser pointer right out of Star Wars and pointed out several constellations on a beautifully clear summer night.
As we're flitting along in the electric boat, you notice that the wake and the waves have a little something to share. Absolutely surreal to see fish "shadows" glow as they swim past under water. Our guides brought up a couple of 5 gallon buckets and asked that we put our hand in and disturb the water. I was expecting a glow and got sparkles! One of our guides actually got in the water to show us how the water reacts to motion and made a bio-bay "angel" by moving his arms and legs. If this is 20%, I can't even begin to imagine what 50% or more would be!
Be prepared for a crazy bus trip that will jolt you to your very core but it is SO worth the trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank centexcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The natural beauty is astounding. It was madness. Completely blew my mind. Go nature.

Be careful who you go with though. We went with some guy name Nestor and his crew (I forget the name of the company or I'd be panning them right now). They were awful. I knew more of the biology of the bay than our 1/2 drunk guide who was more into soliciting trip advisor reviews and trying to get us to eat at his friend's kebab shack.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RobotFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
414 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Only recovered to 20%.... Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We wanted to visit the Bio Bay while on our trip to Vieques. We were told before arriving to the island that the bay has been under a lot of stress and the tours were limited to Fri.-Sun. only. We asked all the tour companies if they had any spots available and all but Adventure Bros had any. We were asked to meet at the “Green Building” in Esperanza at 8:00 PM. The Green Building is a liquor store where the locals sit outside and drink and through their cans on the ground. We were loaded into a van setting on each others laps. We drove a few miles and parked on the road. We were given a paddle and were asked to follow a man with a small light on his head. Twenty minutes later down a dirt road with holes in it, we arrived at the bay. We were asked to remain silent. We all thought this was very sketchy. Two men went into the tress and brought out the kayaks. We loaded up and paddled out with no light to guide us. There was no moon so it was hard to see. Everyone was running into each other. The light show was at 20% not like the locals claimed at 70% or more. They allowed a few people to swim and we had been told that was not allowed at that time. We returned to shore and began to walking back. My daughter tripped and cut her leg bad but was able to return. We made it back and refused to pay the $35 each and they did not argue about not getting paid. The next day we asked around and found out this company did not have permission to take tours. Please let the bay return and make sure you use a legal company for this tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Travelman360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay also viewed

El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing