We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stayed, but...”
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Essex, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed, but...”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We had never stayed in a B&B, but people had raved about this one: The Hacienda Tamarindo. Then, I realized that there are very few places to stay, and that's why people raved. It had internet, no TV. Beautiful views. Nice pool. Friendly staff. The American Breakfast here was AMAZING. So,. you can feed a crowd and be set for a while! The place next door is called the Blue Horizon. It has a restaurant and a bar... but poor cable TV, so....

The pool here was really nice. The view was outstanding. Everything was quiet. People were mellow. It's so laid back, you just need to get into 'relax' mode and really do it. This is a quiet place - not especially enticing for little kids, except for continuous horse sitings! Oh, and not to get too crazy... but we did see a full sized tarantula. We were told this is totally common on the island, so I'll leave it at that. Common. We are suburban dwellers, so we tried to get over that.

The most important thing to know about Vieques is that it is a sleepy island. It's about 9 miles wide and half of that is off limits. It's so casual, all you need are shorts. There are multiple beaches all around the resort. You drive to the end of a road, and there are little 'placards' with numbers identifying the spot. Shade is hard to come by... so, if you go on the south side, we found a beautiful spot #19, with natural shade. Then, on Green Beach (named by the Navy) on the west side, #5, if I remember correctly. It has a bungalow and nice swimming - adn a view of the mainland. On the way, there is a really, huge 300 year old trees with huge trestle roots, and sometimes wild horses around it. Nice for a photo - you cannot miss it. If you can, bring an umbrella and certainly chairs from the resort (for a small fee) and just get used to hanging out.

Restaurants in town are extremely casual. We only ate in Esperanza, a tiny, tiny town on the south side with a small boardwalk and about 6 very casual restaurants. We went off season (in August, so many restaurants were on seasonal break. The best by far was 'Bili' in Esperanza (Eggplant hummus, mahi mahi bites, fresh fish). Sit inside, with the open windows to the street. They face a local shanty across the street where local music plays and people dance. The food was outstanding. We went to Duffy's - all open, totally casual fare (nothing special) and special beer in bottles, wood tables, Sports on TV. We went to Banana's - also totally casual, plastic chairs. Food was OK and service was quick. Basically, this vacation was about serious RELAXING. My husband, who only necessitates an internet connection, actually loved it -and this surprised me because it was so laid back.

Eight important things to mention.
1. On Vieques, go to the Bioluminescent Bay. Totally a miracle of nature. Kayak on the seawater bay at night and see the most amazing glowing dinoflaggelites in the entire world. Go with an organized group. You will be crowded with other tourists, but... it's the legal way to go there (as opposed to a 'private' tour with someone who isn't authorized to go). Check the lunar schedule so that you do not go during a full moon (which excludes about 5 nights a month). There is one company that offers glass bottom kayaks - worth it, if you can book with them. Otherwise, do regular kayaks. If you do the 'boat', you miss a lot.
2. Wild driving. In Vieques, they really do not care well for the roads. Most have no shoulder, and when you see a local car weaving wildly back and forth, they are either avoiding horse poop (wild horses are everywhere) or HUGE potholes that could sink a car.
3. Take the flight to Vieques back and forth from San Juan on Cape Air. It's totally affordable, and so worth it. We ferried over to Vieques on the way there, and flew back to San Juan on the way back. DO THE FLIGHT! The ferry was affordable, but an adventure that we were not really in the mood for (hours of waiting and uncertainty to get a ticket).
4. We rented a car from Maritza's. Car rentals are necessary.
5. If you go to Old San Juan first (or last), go to AGUAVIVA. Have the salmon and lobster mashed potatoes. Also, get the mahi-mahi and grouper 'ceviche'. I'll stand by that recommendation 100%.
6. When San Juan, you have two choices to get to the old town: public bus, which is easy and affordable (75 cents and full of adventure), but takes a lot time. Or pay a lot more for a taxi, but get a ton of convenience. Drivers are plentiful. You may be able to name your price, if you have the energy to do so and have a large party.
7. The old fort "El Morro" is worth a trip for the photo op alone. Get a map of the old city and walk the exterior on the SW side. A nice promenade there. Lots of security presence everywhere was actually really good.
8. Language is not really an issue here. Most people are bilingual, but they will appreciate the effort, if someone knows Spanish.
Have fun.

Room Tip: Give yourself a little space and book a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Miley2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    106
    25
    5
    11
See reviews for
65
343
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Hacienda Tamarindo is the perfect place to been relax, enjoy the beautiful landscape, interact with nature and enjoy the vacations. Hacienda Tamarindo is an intimate and “boutique” style hotel. It is very nice and cozy. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the air conditioning work well. The full breakfast is spectacular. Ivan received us very good and all the staff was very helpful and friendly. We spent a weekend that was excellent. Vieques is a paradise island and this Hotel makes the stay very pleasant. I fully recommend it for the enjoyment of all those who want to rest, relax, breathe fresh air and enjoy the beauty of the nature and the island.

You will not regret :D

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raquel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I knew Vieques was a must while touring the island of Puerto Rico. We arrived by ferry to the island. It is a short 60 to 90 minute ride depending on which ferry you are on. We chose to stay at Hacienda Tamarindo from reading previous reviews on Tripadvisor. They reserved our rental car for us with Maritza car rental. They offer cars and jeeps and all are brand new vehicles.
Our stay was for 2 nights and what a special treat it is. The moment we drove up we were greeted by Ivan and the house dog and what a warm welcome it was! We were given a detailed tour and explanation of the property. The Hacienda Tamarindo is located on top of a hill with incredible breathtaking views of the Carribean sea. It is romantic and so serene. There is a beautiful pool area below. The Hacienda Tamarindo is absolutely a magnificent piece of property with a wonderful and friendly staff! Our room was extremely quaint, comfortable, very clean and just delightful with a glorious view of the ocean. The breakfast spot was located on the rooftop; again a feeling of pure enjoyment and relaxation. A fresh made to order breakfast was included every morning and was delicious. We even had a box lunch prepared and packed in a cooler backpack for us to take to the beach by the amazing women in the kitchen.
They have an "honor bar" and coolers with drinks and snacks available to guests. The library has a computer and WIFI available for your added comfort. They provide beach towels, chairs and snorkel equipment.
The only one thing we would suggest is to try and change the library and front gate locking system as we had a difficult time operating the locks..........
WE LOVED THIS PLACE AND WILL STAY THE NEXT TIME WE VISIT VIEQUES!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: "Our room had a private balcony and spectacular ocean view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopie1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Great little hotel! Excellent staff, delicious breakfasts and clean and cool Caribbean styled rooms.... Haciendo Tamarindo is NOT the W... its comforts revolve around the beauty of Vieques, the natural views, smells, tastes and sounds that the island has to offer ... No air conditioning, but fantastic cross winds off of the ocean and the chatter of birds, horses and palm fronds to lull you to sleep each night.... Luxurious, yet true to its surroundings! Such a good time we had there!!! I wouldn't stay anywhere else.... Relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: room 24 is a corner room & provides excellent cross winds and amazing views of the Carribean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_S34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

From the second my girlfriend and I stepped on the property, we felt like we were guests at an extravagant (yet intimate) villa a stones throw from the Caribbean. The inn is impeccably maintained and Iván could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. My only regret is that we only stayed one night! On our next trip to Vieques, we will not hesitate to book at HT again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeLegra91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My wife and I came to Puerto Rico for 6 days and stayed at Caribe Hilton. After coming to Tamarinda Hotel, we realized that Hilton pretty much sucked compared to this place. It's so peaceful and relaxing that you forget everything. The service is amazing and amenities are just excellent. We had a room with French doors overlooking the ocean. It's ideal for couples if you are looking for a total retreat and relaxation. I recommend to everyone who visits Vieques to stay here.

P.S. Zach (the estate's dog is awesome)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakota200788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Vieques for a quick getaway (3 days 2 nights), with another couple we booked last minute two bedrooms at Hacienda Tamarindo. The best choice we could've made. When we arrived the rental car was awaiting in the hotel for us. The staff was excellent specially front desk and the breakfast area. It has spectacular views and great accomodations. Would recommend to everyone and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvelilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,815 reviews
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.5 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
234 reviews
30.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Property: Hacienda Tamarindo
Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing