We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We loved our stay here. Staff was awesome! and we had a great time. Place is decorated with a homely charm. They have all the amenities you can ask for - sports equipment for rent, swimming pool, we loved it.
They serve amazing breakfast, never miss it.
We would love to go back and stay here sometime soon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 66MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your awesome review. We love it when everything goes well and our guests get a real vacation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    103
    24
    5
    11
See reviews for
63
336
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hacienda Tamarindo has excellent Service and location. The rooms were very cool and full of local antiques.
The view from the patio was amazing and the fact that you are few minutes away from Esparanza is also a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dm_usc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for choosing Hacienda Tamarindo on your Vieques trip. We are delighted that you had such a good time, and we really appreciate your sharing your experience with others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OHio, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I booked a stay at this place for one night while we visited vieques for the bio bay tour. When we got there we wish we would stayed at this for the entire vacation. I can only reiterate what the other reviews have said; you cannot stay at a nicer place.It is beautiful, the staff is friendly, the views are unmatched. Ivan the manager was ecspecially helpful to us as we asked questions and advice for our short stay. We will certainly be coming back to HT.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg Bl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for choosing Hacienda Tamarindo for your night on Vieques to see our amazing bioluminescent bay. Ivan is a native of the island and very knowledgeable about things to do and places to go in Vieques. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

As Innkeepers ourselves, I give Hacienda Tamarindo an A+. We stayed for two nights and then came back for 5 more. While other properties on the island are aiming for minimalist amenities and service Tamarindo provided us with everything we needed for fun and comfort. I loved the building especially the tree growing thru the courtyard. The rooms were roomy, well appointed, very clean, full of light from the many large windows and air conditioned! The location was perfect with views of the sea, the horses, and Esperanza bay. The owners were away but the entire staff went the extra mile to take care of us with a smile. Breakfast was always a delight. The library with the phone and computer were appreciated. They always provided new beach towels each day and chairs for the beach. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay here.

Room Tip: The second part of the trip we stayed in Room 27 which has a sitting room. It was wonderful. High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougSellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
I am so sorry we missed you on your recent stay. Being innkeepers you understand the challenges of running a hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We, too, love our staff and are always happy and proud to hear that do a great job even when we are not there. Many thanks for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a charming property with a laid-back vibe, terrific staff, and lots of character. The pool is beautiful (not heated, despite what others have said, but not necessary). The décor is generally attractive although occasionally dissonant (Caribbean prints next to Americana wall signs). We stayed in Casita Linda which had a nice view of the horses and the ocean, and a wonderful kitchen and veranda. Unfortunately the second bedroom's windows were covered by plastic (no screens) so it was A/C or nothing. And the exhaust fan in the bathroom was noisy and inadequate, which made it impossible to remove the dampness in the room. I did report the fan to the staff as we were leaving and they promised to address it. The ambience and location more than outweighed the minor issues, and I'd be happy to return here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Hacienda Tamarindo for your visit to Vieques Island. We value our customers, and are happy to hear when they have a good experience. We know that the staff plays a big part in that experience. Always glad to know when we have done our job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights a couple of weeks ago. It's a beautiful, well-maintained bed and breakfast. We almost stayed at the W, and I am so very happy that we changed our minds. The rooms are well-appointed and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. There is an honor bar with snacks and drinks. This was very convenient for us since we were only staying two nights and didn't want to have to go shopping for those things. The pool is beautiful with the ocean in the distance. Be aware that you are not beachfront - I think I thought we would be, but I'm sure that's my fault and that I didn't read the website closely enough. Still, it's probably just a half mile off and the view is unobstructed. The breakfast is lovely. It's not just pastries or toast and fruit like you might expect. They have a full-service kitchen with a daily breakfast special, and they can make you about anything you would want. Wonderful fresh fruit and fruit juices, coffee, and tea included. We had to leave early both mornings - the first day to go scuba diving and the second to catch a flight - and the staff was so accommodating and willing to serve us earlier than the regular breakfast time (8-10am). The location is ideal - you are just around the bend from Esperanza and the street full of bars and restaurants there. Blackbeard may operate a scuba shop out of the W (another reason we almost stayed there), but when it was time to dive and we told them where we were staying, they had us meet them at the dock in Esperanza where some of the best diving is. If we go back to Vieques (and I sure hope we get the chance), we will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the ocean, but honestly, we didn't spend much time in our room at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kccouple417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for choosing Hacienda Tamarindo on your recent visit to Vieques. And, thank you for your great review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we may see you again on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

One of the best places I'ved stay at. Super clean, super decoration. Excellent location. Heated pool. Outstading view of the ocean. Excellent service. Front desk clerk an A+++++, breakfast delicious. Surrounding beautiful. I will must definetly return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICEBOXPR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Wow! What can I say, except thank you for that great review. One always hears about the problems someone has, but it takes a greater effort to write about a good experience. Thanks so much, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.5 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
30.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Property: Hacienda Tamarindo
Address: Box 1569 | Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing