We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very pretty hotel with a welcoming staff. We were surprised that our 2 bedroom suite was actually one large "L" shaped room which was the size of 2 rooms. One of the twin beds was very uncomfortable to sleep on. Other than that, we really liked this hotel. The breakfast was included and delicious! The pool was very nice and they had snorkeling equipment that was available to rent as well as beach chairs. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl5166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Hacienda Tamarindo for your stay on Vieques Island. We really appreciate your taking the time to write a review, and we look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    106
    25
    5
    11
See reviews for
66
343
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed in room 23 which had a spectacular view and a great big COMFY bed...the pool is a good place to be after a hard day at the beach...the fresh water and cool air is a welcome retreat as are the hammocks. The young lady who showed us around the house was SO sweet and very welcoming. I wish we had stayed there more than 1 night. The hotel is quirky, the library has some great books, a computer you can use and an honour bar. Its also actually really nice to NOT have a TV in our room. The shower isn't great on pressure and could do with a little bit of updating, but in the grand scheme of things who cares. This is a place to chillout and relax. The other thing I thought was cool is that the room has a diary in it which guests write in an contribute to. there was one particular story about someones breakup that I am sure is very famous among all the guests that have stayed in room 23. I took the diary to dinner with us so we could read through the stories. I do wish we had more nights at this place. Breakfast was good...definately try the coffee I think its a lcal coffee that is REALLY very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kavits_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for choosing Hacienda Tamarindo for your night in Vieques. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is about 1.4 km from the center of Esperanza (which is basically ocean-front city blocks). You will need a Jeep on the island so I recommend taking their offer to arrange one for you. You should expect to pay $60/day for the Jeep. The rooms are tiled with classic red clay spanish tiles and in ours had a shower and toilet in the bathroom and the sink in the main room. We had louvered french doors that opened to a view of the ocean. The door to our room was off the main entrance area which stayed plenty quite except for one night when some guys started playing pool on the mini-pool table. When they left to go for a swim in the pool we went and absconded off with the billiard balls and for the rest of our stay there come 9 o'clock the billiard balls went missing. The manager Ivan is wonderful and very helpful. You are provided with beach towels and free beach chair. Breakfast is included and was delicious. It came with your choice of lots of kinds of juices such as mango, tamarindo, papaya, orange, etc., and with eggs, bacon or sausage, coffee, and toast. The one weird thing about the hotel was the artwork. In our room hung framed prints that were all themes on Vermont. When I'm in Puerto Rico I want to see artwork that reflects Puerto Rico, not Vermont. The New England artwork was found throughout the hotel. I would recommend that the owners change that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGGNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for choosing Hacienda Tamarindo for your stay on Vieques Island, and for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. First of all, I apologize for the pool table noise. We have always had the table, but we just replaced the old one with a new one, and had neglected to re-do the sign which says, "No pool playing after 9:00 PM". Thanks for the reminder. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer, and that you found the staff helpful. We hope to see you again and if we do please ask for a room with tropical artwork--each has it's own theme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Hacienda Tamarindo is in Esperanza, which I found to be the nicest part of Vieques (Isabela Segunda is a little seedy in parts). It's a quiet little B&B which you should go to if you're looking to get away from everything. Don't expect luxury, but it's clean and offers the basics.

Our room had a lovely view of the sea but was simple otherwise e.g. no TV, basic/cheap toiletries limited to shower gel and shampoo (though they seemed to be one and the same to me) and soap, no tea or coffee making facilities or phone.

Breakfast was lovely, but I did wonder why they don't put some things out for you to help yourself to like cereal and fruit. Instead, you have to order everything off a menu and portions aren't huge.

The staff were lovely but be aware that the hotel is not manned 24-hour. Facilities however are all accessible 24-hour, so you can go for a midnight swim in the pool (I'd recommend it) and access the library where they have a computer whenever you like (wifi in the room was poor to say the least - I couldn't get it on my phone at all).

The location is fine given that wherever you stay in Vieques, you need a Jeep to get around. Parking at the hotel is free, which is a plus. There are some nice restaurants down the road including El Quenepo and Duffy's (both worth a visit - the former is more expensive, the latter is good for a cheap but tasty meal).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cakeexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit to Hacienda Tamarindo on Vieques Island. We appreciate your review to let others know what to expect, and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Vieques is a low-key island, and not for everyone. It's always good when people who enjoy that find us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We loved our stay here. Staff was awesome! and we had a great time. Place is decorated with a homely charm. They have all the amenities you can ask for - sports equipment for rent, swimming pool, we loved it.
They serve amazing breakfast, never miss it.
We would love to go back and stay here sometime soon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 66MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your awesome review. We love it when everything goes well and our guests get a real vacation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hacienda Tamarindo has excellent Service and location. The rooms were very cool and full of local antiques.
The view from the patio was amazing and the fact that you are few minutes away from Esparanza is also a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dm_usc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for choosing Hacienda Tamarindo on your Vieques trip. We are delighted that you had such a good time, and we really appreciate your sharing your experience with others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OHio, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I booked a stay at this place for one night while we visited vieques for the bio bay tour. When we got there we wish we would stayed at this for the entire vacation. I can only reiterate what the other reviews have said; you cannot stay at a nicer place.It is beautiful, the staff is friendly, the views are unmatched. Ivan the manager was ecspecially helpful to us as we asked questions and advice for our short stay. We will certainly be coming back to HT.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg Bl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for choosing Hacienda Tamarindo for your night on Vieques to see our amazing bioluminescent bay. Ivan is a native of the island and very knowledgeable about things to do and places to go in Vieques. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,815 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.5 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Property: Hacienda Tamarindo
Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing