We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All Around Hotel!!! Loved the No Children Policy!!!”
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 January 2014

All communication from Hacienda Tamarindo was prompt and informative during the booking process. We had a potential issue with our flight and car rental, which I called about in San Juan and Marie was able to call the car company for me. Very good service and follow up. The initial tour of the property is super helpful when you show up. Loved the quaintness of the decor. Little details are definitely given attention. The library is adorable and the honor bar/ honor store is a great touch. The breakfasts are delicious and make the whole day easier because a light lunch at the beach is all that is needed. Honestly, I was annoyed to read the last review about the woman who was mad about the no child policy. It's a great policy for couples and groups of friends who want to have a quiet and relaxing vacation. There are plenty of other places to stay on the island for families. Hacienda Tamarindo offers a tranquil, relaxing environment, full of unpretentious, up-scale service. We had the basic queen room facing the pool, which was quite large, clean and well-suited to a beach vacation. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples vacations in Vieques. My boyfriend and I loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

I really want to thank you for taking the time to write this great review of our hotel and staff, and for defending our policy of adults and teens of 15 or older. It is rewarding to have a guest speak out in support what we do. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay on Vieques and at Hacienda Tamarindo, and I do hope we will see you again in the future. Again, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I tried to book this hotel today for a stay in February. I mentioned that I had a family of 4 with 2 young children. They said they has availability for 4 out of our 6 days. They even said they could help to arrange a car for the entire stay (the additional days we would not be at the hotel). They were extremely helpful. I called a second time and they told me to book online. I did and I then got an email stating that they would not accept children under 15 in the winter months. I told them we had already been told that a queen room was available for us but the woman owner said no. I said there is nothing on their web site to say they do not allow children and she said there was. I asked where and she said she didn't know. Then she said they would have to update their web site. This is really discriminatory and very upsetting. We have 2 children that are well behaved and are often in the company of adults. They have traveled extensively. I guess if we wait until April, May or June we would be acceptable for this hotel. Unreal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
14  Thank Adrienne8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

I apologize for the fact that I was not in the office when I picked up the phone, and was unprepared to respond to your questions about our web site. Our policy regarding children is clearly stated on the "Rate" page of our site and has been since it was created. I am sorry, too, that you got so far into the reservation process before we realized that you have a six year old. That is one of the first questions we usually ask. That being said, I cannot make an exception for you, even under the threat of your writing this review, because we have many guests who, being aware of the policy, come here with the expectation that there will be no children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Loved it! Wonderful experience. Small, clean, relaxing, friendly, quiet, easy, beautiful! Delicious breakfast is included. Comfortable bed. Cool decor in the common areas. Helpful staff. Great location. Honor bar in lobby area open 24/7. Each room provideded with a hard-sided cooler to use to take refreshments to the beach. For a reasonable cost you can request a picnic lunch the night before and it will be ready in a soft-sided cooler when you are ready to head to the beaches in the morning. A great place. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for that lovely review. I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Tamarindo. We definitely look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This small, inviting, well-appointed hotel is a lovely place to relax and unwind. We had two rooms, one with a sitting room and one regular room for our grown children. Both rooms were lovely, well air-conditioned, and comfortable. The views are great, the breakfast abundant and delicious, the staff quite welcoming and helpful, and the cutest dog guards the guests! The location is right outside Esperanza and equidistant from all the beaches. The pool on the property was a nice place to finish off our beach excursions each day. Recommended without reservation!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is all from Vieques just so they can share their local knowledge of places to go and things to do here. Iván is among the most knowledgeable among them. We are also glad to hear that you provided Zach with some companionship in our absence. He loves anyone who will give him a smile and a pat. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We loved everything about our stay--warm friendly staff, Ivan the Manager is wonderful and SO helpful (knowledgable about his island, great tips for snorkeling and restaurants), delicious breakfasts, views are gorgeous, room and lobby decor beautiful. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay relaxing and memorable--rental equipment for the beach (and complimentary chairs), honor bar to grab a drink for your sunset hour on the balcony, ice coolers in your room to use for the beach, arranging your Jeep rental for you (a necessity on the island), great beach towels, even Zach the dog that puts a smile on everyone's face. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful--splurge for full ocean view/balcony is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We make every effort to provide the amenities that will make your stay more enjoyable. It's such a pleasure that you enjoyed your stay, and the kind of hospitality that we offer. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this place the same day of visit. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We came in late and they left us a key an instructions. The place is very clean and nicely decorated. Funky, it has beautiful gardens and a pool. You can walk to the ocean and has great views. the breakfast was very good with fresh papaya, juice, eggs and bread. The twin beds were very comfortable. The house has an honor bar for drinks and snacks. What a nice and relaxing place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Paisagringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We are glad to know that you were able to book on such short notice, and enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate it when our guests take the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

we stayed a few nights in early December at the relaxing Hacienda Tamarindo on Vieques....it was fabulous. The hotel and island are laid back, friendly and wonderfully relaxing. The rooms were lovely - we could see the Caribbean from our "veranda" window. Breakfasts were wonderful and Ivan, the hotel manager, was very nice and very helpful.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great - be prepared for the fact that room doors are louvred , so sound gets in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brantrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hacienda Tamarindo. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found Ivan and the staff helpful. It's always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
0.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
18.5 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £154 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing