We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful little boutique hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful little boutique hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I just spent four nights at Hacienda Tamarindo and if I were to return to Vieques, I would stay there again.

The rooms were clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the common spaces were quaint and lovely. The pool and hammock area were really beautiful. Breakfast, included in my stay, was delicious every morning and the staff was very kind. I really liked being able to rent beach equipment for snorkeling so easily. The location, just down the street from the Malecon with all its restaurants, was also very good although getting to the Malecon requires a car.

I admit that the bathrooms, while clean, could use a bit of updating. The combination shampoo/soap dispenser in the shower is very 1980's and the showerhead could use a replacement, but these are immaterial. Also, a warning to light sleepers -- between the coqui frogs at night and guests who speak loudly, one can hear many outdoor noises from within their rooms. Sound deadening is not that great but frankly, I liked the island experience of hearing the birds and frogs at night. Just don't expect a dead silent room.

For a quaint B&B or boutique hotel, I think the Hacienda was a really great choice and I would be happy to stay there again. I should also say that the package deal with Vieques Air Link airfare and Jeep rental included was a steal.

A great experience. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We really appreciate your taking the time to write your review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay. That's our primary goal. As to the bathrooms, we update a few each year, and some years ago we made a conscious decision to, among other things, use body wash and shampoo dispensers in an effort to minimize the waste we create on our small island paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    102
    24
    5
    11
See reviews for
63
334
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Enjoyable environment of peace, no rush and you have acces to any road to fix your desired view of a small Island and the sea. Beaches are responsibly protected by Natural Resources, environmental organizations and the US Fish and Wildlife. You pick your setting. Excellent operators. You feel like home. Not for contemplation crashers ...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for your review. We who live here sometimes forget what an amazing island we inhabit. We hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Three's a Charm deal was totally worth it. Three nights, jeep rental, and 2 for 1 airfare from the main island. I purchased 2 packages for 6 nights. A wonderful breakfast was included every morning. We had a corner room on the second floor facing the ocean and the pool. The King bed was very comfortable and the air conditioner unit was great white noise for us. Beach towels provided in the room were very convenient. Each day we would walk out our door and be seated on the patio for a filling breakfast. We would then pack up our jeep and head to the beach, catch a late lunch, and back to the inn for a nap! Very close to Esperanza. The kitchen is only open for breakfast. There is a nice library for borrowing books and has an honor bar system for beverages. Remember, no television, but I certainly didn't miss it. My hubby missed it though... One thing that may have wrecked our experience... There is a mini "carnaval" that is taking place next week in Esperanza. The music carries with the trade winds up to the Hacienda. We had a preview for the one night precursor to the festival. We were not happy as we were exhausted. No problems any other time during the week!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rdpecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We very much appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your experience at Hacienda Tamarindo. We have tried to make our packages effortless for our guests so they can enjoy their island experience. It sounds as though you did. I am sorry the music kept you awake on your last night. July is very much a holiday month in Vieques and many guests come just for that. Fortunately for those of us who go to bed early it is pretty much limited to weekends. The A/C does help drown out the ambient noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I can't imagine there is a nicer place on Vieques to stay for a getaway than Hacienda Tamarindo. This immaculately-kept boutique has got everything: Sweet rooms (we stayed in the Caribbean Deluxe Suite, which was a great deal as part of their off-season rates), stunning pool, views of a field of paso fino horses, and then the ocean. Not to mention the included, full-service breakfast. If you are looking for an overpriced, cookie-cutter experience, the newly opened W is 15 minutes away; at Hacienda, you'll feel like you're in paradise. My only tiny quibble is that there was one staff member who was speaking a bit rudely toward guests in Spanish, assuming that we couldn't understand her. I realize that hiring staff on as small a place as Vieques must be difficult, so this did not detract from our stay and would not keep me from returning. The front desk staff were all wonderful. And we loved Zach, the friendly English Sheepdog.

Room Tip: The Caribbean Deluxe Suite is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the hotel accommodations. I sorry to learn that the maids were involved in the kind of conversation you overheard. We will be addressing that in our staff meeting next week. However, we will also share the rest of your very flattering review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

There really aren't enough nice things to say about Hacienda Tamarindo. Every person we came into contact with was polite, courteous, and up front when asked questions. We stayed in the Vermont room, which was funny and unexpected being from New England ourselves. It was beautiful, spacious, and cool in spite of the climbing temperatures outside. While we did not get a room with a private deck the veranda out back by our room more than made up for it. Our room was located off of the lobby but we never had issues with noise from other guests or housekeeping. As anyone who has met me can attest I am not a morning person, but I was awake everyday in time for breakfast.The view is amazing and the location is a short walk from Esperanza.

The day we were leaving one of our hosts called a taxi company for us since they can be a little flaky. He even called again when we had been waiting for awhile to make sure they hadn't been called away. I hope that we are able to make it back to Vieques and Hacienda Tamarindo.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms are spread around the building like a house not a hotel so common areas may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for that great review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. You will have to forgive the homage to New England, as that was our home, and we take pleasure in having some reminders. In all other ways we try our best to offer Caribbean hospitality. We certainly look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Love this place. We stayed here for our honeymoon. It is so beautiful and clean, and the staff will literally take care of your every need. If anything goes wrong, they find a way to make it right. The pool, the breakfast, the honor bar... this place has everything!

Room Tip: I wish we would have chosen a room separate from the main building. They looked really cool and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are honored to have had you stay with us on your honeymoon. We truly appreciate your having taken the time to write such a glowing review of your time here. It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed being at Hacienda Tamarindo, and we do hope we'll see you again--perhaps an anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hacienda Tamarindo: We arrived via ferry from Fajardo (very late as it was delayed and had some issues) but we were greeted warmly by Patricia who made sure to explain the hotel and take us on a quick tour. We had high standard rooms overlooking the pool which were brightly decorated and spacious. The air conditioner is greatly appreciated and quite quiet to run. Our queen size bed was comfortable and large. The bathroom is clean yet a bit on the small side and the hotel provides you with beach towels each day on hooks in your room. I personally like having the sink and mirror outside of the actual bathroom but I can see how that would be a disadvantage for some.
The breakfast in the morning is phenomenal! Seriously a great addition to the experience and something that we looked forward to each morning. The pool is great and there is plenty of seating around to allow for socializing or picnics. We didn’t take them up on the cooler or beach chairs but it was appreciated none the less. There is a great library in the hotel with an honor bar and computer (with internet access) as well as a printer. We made good use of it and spent some time reading books and checking our e-mails and trip plans.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds as though you really took advantage of our offerings--it's what we hope our guests will do. We always appreciate it when our guests take the time to share their experiences. We like to know how we are doing, and we don't always hear it any other way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
59.5 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
30.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Property: Hacienda Tamarindo
Address: Box 1569 | Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing