We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 January 2009

A charming, small hotel, beautifully designed and furnished in a nineteen-thirties atmosphere, with a beautiful Caribbean view, a perfect pool and a warm library. About a five minute walk brings you to a deserted beach on the Caribbean. This is great for sunning but not for swimming. There are underwater rocks.

Vieques is less developed at least partially because large areas are government owned and/or nature preserves. There are no high rises, golf or casinos. A rental car really helps, it is pretty much a necessity. Once you buy into the Vieques style, Hacienda Tamarindo has to be on your short list for hotels. I couldn’t help but think of Hemmingway’s Islands in the Stream the entire time I was there. You can't go wrong unless your looking for a spring break atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JonHadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2009

My husband and I enjoyed the week following Thanksgiving in Room 5 at the Hacienda. Upon arrival, our Jeep had been delivered and the staff gave us a tour. I was instantly struck by how quiet and peaceful the property was. As we looked out over the Caribbean sea with our cocktails from the honor bar, we noticed another guest napping under a palm tree by the pool. I knew then that we had made the right choice.

The accommodations were simple but clean and comfortable. It has a bed-and-breakfast feel, but I mostly felt like I was a family friend, not a hotel guest! It was that comfortable, laid back, and welcoming. Our room was definitely one of the better ones - we had a huge patio with lounge chairs and a great view of the Caribbean. We enjoyed breakfast early every morning (my husband loved the Tamarind juice and the spicy potatoes were my favorite). I wish someone would have told us to tip the breakfast ladies - with free breakfast, we were not sure until we saw others doing it and had to "catch up" on our third day. The staff were incredible - owners and employees both. They recommended the best restaurants (El Quenepo was our first dinner - what a way to welcome us to the island!) and helped arrange travel, etc.

From speaking to other travelers and driving around the island, I can say without a doubt that when we return to Vieques, we will be staying at the Hacienda.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank EastLansingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We arrived at Hacienda Tamarindo on the 26th of December. While we got in about 6:30 and the office was closed, our keys were waiting for us. It was the start of the most relaxing hotel experience I have had in a long time...Our room overlooked the ocean on one side and the pool and town of Esperanza on the other side. We settled into the room and felt the warm tropical breeze flow through the room from all the windows. The room was clean and large. Lots of sitting places and even luggage racks for both of us. While we both commented that the bedspread comes from the generic hotel bedspread factory the bed itself was great. We liked the little offbeat ammenities like the "Wash Away Your Sins" soap dispenser. The room had a fan to assist in the breeze but who needed it. Did I mention the great honor bar that they have? A real treat at mid-night.

The hotel is like a cross between a B&B and a small hotel. The breakfast the next day under the tamrind tree was great. The wait staff where very friendly and fast. At each table they provided an overview of all the world news so you are not completely unplugged.

We did not have a rental car, make sure you comfirm before you go, so we walked everywhere. Jim gave use a contact for one of the publicos but we found the walk down to the beach and then into town was one of the best parts of staying here. We truely unwound as we walked along the beach, We could have used the taxi to go to one of the beaches but found that Sun Bay was just a good and the walk was fun too.

The staff always had the room clean and tidy when we arrived back to the hotel and were just great to answer any question. Jim was especially helpful in talking about the island, people, and things to do.

After three wonderfull nights, the rooms are great, could not hear another soul, and four glorious days we had to check out to catch our flight. As we sat out on the balcony I plugged my cell phone into charge. As we left, I of course forgot about it until we got to the airport. How stupid! Well Sharon (who should be your choice for taxi driver) was going to beat a world round trip record back to the hotel, we called to see if anyone else was coming. To my great surprise they had someone that was coming to the airport. When my phone arrived it was Jim who went out of his way to get my phone to me. He then refused any payment for this superior client service!

Carol and I were both amazed and how well they took care of every detail for us. It was an amazing trip and the highlight was our stay at Hacienda Tamarindo!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Flyeridaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We only spent one night at the Hacienda Tamarindo, but we wished we could have stayed longer. We loved Vieques, and we were thoroughly charmed by the hotel.

We were greeted warmly and shown around the hotel upon arrival. We were early and our room wasn't ready, but we were offered beach towels and given recommendations on the best beaches on the island; we left our bags, and when we returned about 5 hours later, they were in our room. We stayed in room #5, a "Caribbean Deluxe" room that's the last room on the main hallway on the first floor, with an attached balcony--a lovely place to relax with a view of the Caribbean! The staff member at the desk when we came back was also extremely helpful, giving us recommendations for a local restaurant with good local food (Mucho Gusto in Esperanza: fabulous yellowtail snapper, caught fresh in Vieques!), making sure we had plans to check out the BioBay, giving us helpful information on the BioBay tour we'd already selected (kayaking with Travesias Yaureibo--excellent!), and basically making sure we had everything we needed.

There was an a/c in the room, but we found with one window open and the ceiling fan on that we were very comfortable (late December). The breakfast the following morning was great, and again we left our bags after check out and spent several more hours exploring beaches before catching the last flight back to Ceiba. When we returned we picked up our bags, changed (and showered!) in the bathroom in the lobby, and were bid farewell by a third very helpful staff member.

When I was booking this, I was worried that it wasn't right on the beach and wasn't right in town. But, as I discovered upon arriving in Vieques, there's not really a beach in Isabel Segunda, the beach in Esperanza is not one you want to hang out at, and you'll want to rent a 4-wheel-drive vehicle to explore the best beaches that are down pothole-filled dirt/mud roads--so, just pick a hotel that sounds good for you, and expect to be driving around to get the most out of the island. It's a small island, with very manageable distances.

Regarding some other comments I've read on this site: we found the Hacienda Tamarindo very well-maintained and impeccably clean. The parking lot is small, yes, but if it's full you can park on the side of the road leading to the hotel with no problem. The bed--well, it wasn't great, but it was like every other bed I slept in at non-multinational chains in Puerto Rico: comfortable enough, though not firm enough if you have back problems requiring firmer support. The internet connection in the library: yep, it's slow, so I wouldn't recommend surfing, but if there's a specific piece of information you're looking for, or if you just want to check your email quickly, it's certainly adequate. TV: none in the room, one in the library, which, like the computer, may or may not be being used by another guest at any given time. Honor bar: wonderful--it's a reasonably well-stocked bar with far more variety of liquors than what you'd find in an average minibar, at much more reasonale prices.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BlueRidgeBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Hacienda Tamarindo was absolutely fantastic from the start. The guy at the reception showed us the premises and our room and how everything worked in HT. This was a warm welcome. We stayed in room (room #1) with patio in a separate building - could not have asked for more. I guess it was Caribbean deluxe. It was peaceful, had great view, magnificent breakfast (made to order, good quality and tasty including daily special!) and they provided lunch boxes for the beach if you wanted - not too expensive. They have an honor bar meaning that you can mix drinks/get beer/water/snack etc. on your own and write it down and they'll add it up to your room check. HT people arrenged a car for us and gave tips about restaurants and beaches! They also provide beach chairs and cooler with ice cubes for each room, which makes it easy to hit the beaches and just relax with cold drinks (we also had fridge in the room)... Pool is good size and does not have salt water.

I wanna go back already.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pepesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

First off, this island is more of a one time visit destination. The beaches were beautiful but so are many beaches elsewhere. The island is hot, severly underdeveloped and prices swing either way. Either really good dirt cheap from some guy in a truck or expensively overpriced on any of the restaurants on "main street" in esperenza.

That being said, this hotel is one of the best in the area and that's not really saying much...

The price is pretty high. And there are only really 2 saving graces. The breakfast and the pool. These 2 are quite possible the best in the island. The ladies that work the breakfast/clean your rooms are quite awesome.

I had the room upstairs (they call it a suite). It was never cold and borderlined on being or actually was uncomfortably hot the whole time. This room (27?) seriously needs 2 airconditioners. The first room and the bathroom remains unbearably hot (went in july) and the bedroom barely manages to stay cool because of the other rooms and because of all the windows letting the sunlight in. It's also impossible to sleep late (which should fully be possible during a vacation) because the sunlight directly hits the bed in the morning blinding the hell out of you. At least the room had a fridge which the smaller rooms do not. This room seriously needs curtains.

The hotel had tried to charge us a higher rate then what was booked, but was nice about it after I complained. However, i shouldnt have to complain in the first place.

The place has no tv. However, with the amount that they charge, they should at least have one in the library if anything. That or splurge and ensure each room has an air conditioner. There's nothing in the hotel that justifies why they charge such high fees. All the towels are generally worn. They do have provide small coolers, umbrellas and chairs which is a definite plus.

There's a honor bar the but the prices are are slightly higher than a nearby grocery store and there's a camera anyway though it's highly unlikely it's constantly monitored.

If you stay here you definitely need a vehicle. It's not near any beach so you have to drive whenever going out. Else lounge by the pool. The pool is great, clean and has floaties to play with.

If you are set on coming to this island, know what you are getting into. The smaller rooms are better because the air conditioner works effectively. The bigger rooms do have a fridge which is always a plus because it's so hot, you are always thirsty.

Double check your bill.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zeero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

The best thing about Hacienda Tamarindo is the breakfast - the menu has everything you would want with different specials every day and friendly wait staff. I wouldn't reccommend the bagged lunches - they were just okay (not worth $7).

There were a couple things we did not like or found misleading:

The website photos makes it look like Hacienda Tamarindo is right next to the ocean but it's really not - it's about a five minute walk and then it's difficult to get down to the sand (it's really steep and we couldn't find a path).

I believe we were in room six and while the room was fine - the bed was horrible - we barely slept the whole time we were there.

One more thing- do not rent from Maritza's car rental (see my post on the Vieques Forum). If you're going to have the B&B rent the car for you ask them to use another car rental company.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LarissaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
0.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
1 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
46 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
847 reviews
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £161 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing