We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
436
109
26
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
109
26
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honor bar tamarind tree casita linda honor system caribbean deluxe beach chairs made to order breakfast every morning blue horizon bio bay breakfast was included wild horses jeep rental ice machine thought of everything bed and breakfast esperanza riding company
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Great location for a family stay for several nights on the hill just west of Esperanza. Lots of privacy in separate rooms and a full breakfast to order is included. Kids loved the pool with a great view of the Caribbean Sea and sunsets, with a nice shaded patio to take a break from the sun. Loved the honor bar for snacks and drinks, plus the honor "shed" for snorkels and other beach gear. Plus the staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
3 min. drive to "downtown" Esperanza bars & restaurants on The Malecon. 3 min. drive to the Playa Negra path.

Room Tip: Room over the driveway facing north is a little noisy with early morning deliveries.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

So happy you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff works very hard to accommodate our guests. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

The facts are:
- Breakfast, taste & quality very good.
- Service from those at the restaurant (breakfast) it was good as well.
- There was an ice machine outside of the room wich is nice
- hotel has parking included.
- There is NO TV in any of the rooms, so if you like to keep up to date watching news over TV is not going to happen.
- Hotel rooms need some serious update, hence I'm surprise to see some ratings of 5, this a 3 start hotel based on the rooms conditions.

I would consider other places before going back.

Room Tip: Stay away from the generator
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VictorPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast, ice and parking. We have made a conscious choice not to have TV. Most of our guests appreciate that, or bring a streaming device from which to get the news, etc. As to the present condition of the rooms, I do apologize. We are doing our best to bring the hotel back from the ravages of Hurricane Maria. Since we have not received anything from our insurance company, and we are waiting for a FEMA backed SBA loan so we may proceed with the work full ahead, we are having to go slowly and do the things that are most urgent. We are confident that we will back to our full standards by December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

First of let me begin with the service which was excellent. Upon registering in the hotel, I was given a tour of the property with an explanation of all the facilities. I had a very nice comfortable and spacious clean room with a wonderful view of the sea. The bedding, linen, towel were spotlessly white. The maid came in daily to clean and change the towels. The breakfast was quite good and plentiful. There was free wifi and library and self service bar open all night where you could borrow books, get a drink or use a lab top computer with wifi for free. The drinks alcohol or non alcohol was on the honor system so you had to write down what you took along with the snacks. There was a chart which explained the price of all drinks and snacks. There was an ice machine outside of the room and a cooler to keep drinks cold with a separate ice machine if you were going to the beach and beach towels, chairs, umbrella and diving equipment available for rental again using an honors systems whereby you recorded the items taken. All of the staff are courteous and professional. The property is very nice with a pool and parking. The hotel is quiet. I would recommend a car rental in order to get to the beaches and nearby restaurants. The hotel only serves breakfast The air conditioner will freeze you out if you do not adjust it properly. I have traveled extensively throughout the world so I would say that this hotel is a great value and I would definitely return. The location is quiet and safe.

David of New York City

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank JuanDavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

We appreciate your review, and all the information you provided for future guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Our family of four stayed the week at the Hacienda Tamarindo. We stayed in Room 2, which had two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. We enjoyed a perfect week, with full breakfasts (included) every day. The place has a rustic Spanish beauty to it. It sits on a hill overlooking horse pastures and the Caribbean Sea. There is a constant refreshing breeze. The bedrooms are air conditioned. It has a nice and immaculately clean pool that also has great views. It’s far enough from Esperanza to maintain a quiet and relaxing calm. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional and the owners take great pride in the place. We were close to all the best beaches as well as within walking distance to the Esperanza Riding Company, which is something everyone should do at least once to enjoy a special trip through the countryside. We ate amazing lunches and dinners throughout the week thanks in good part to recommendations that the owner and staff made along the way. The place had an honor bar and made beach chairs and other beach-related accoutrements available for a reasonable daily fee. The rooms come equipped with a small refrigerator and a portable cooler to take on beach trips, with free ice available in a large ice maker. The hotel staff will pack you a lunch for a reasonable price if you ask. Vieques is simply beautiful and I couldn’t recommend it more if you’re interested in hanging out on amazing and unpopulated beaches and mixing in a little overland adventure. Be sure to rent a Jeep so you can get around the island, which is nine miles long and full of great beaches and bays.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank TwinDad0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

We love having our guests enjoy all that the island has to offer. Thank you for recommending that folks rent a jeep. A vehicle makes for a much better experience. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and the views are amazing. The owners have put great attention to detail. There is a beach cooler in each room and plenty of beach gear to borrow or rent. Beds, sheets and pillows were comfy and nice. The pool is great and it has a spectacular view. Breakfast was yummy and plentiful. Will definitely come back!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LCV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Hooray! We love to see our guests return. Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews