We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly, a hidden gem”
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We booked our visit after hearing about this secluded little gem from a couple we met when out to dinner one night.
I Had to see for myself how beautiful this place was and let me tell you, I was blown away at first from the amazing views just outside our room, then again by the friendly service and cleanliness of the hotel and grounds.
The little touches have not been forgotten either as in many larger hotels.
I especially love the freshly picked local fruit that comes with each breakfast made to order.
The island is amazing from the number one bio bay in the world to the snorkling and each beach on the island is more beautiful than the next.
We enjoyed horse back riding through the jungle and out onto the beach, this place just got better each day .
The owners of the hotel Burr and linda were top notch. Burr with his friendly humor and linda just emitts class from every pore.
I would love to keep this secret to myself but then that just wouldn't be fair.
Everyone should enjoy this wonderful find.

Eric

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efiredaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2010

Great and cozy hotel with excellent service and food. This hotel is in the municipality island of Puerto Rico (USA) near crystal clear beaches.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcalderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed at the casita which was great since it was a bit rainy for a couple of days and it was like we had our own little house. A very nice kitchen that is well stocked with a nice living area and TV, adequate bathroom and bedroom. The bed is pretty firm and I missed my pillowtop mattress, but had no problems sleeping. No roosters, but the horses right in front of the porch would start whinnying every morning. We enjoyed watching the horses and colts, and the view from the hill of the ocean and other cays was lovely.

They serve a great breakfast every morning under the tamarind tree-cooked to order or you could have the special. I had eggs bendict the day we left-plus fresh fruit, bread, coffee, juice-no need for lunch after all that! Jim and Joey are at the front desk and will help with anything you need.

They had had so much rain there this year and the week before we arrived that some of the roads were closed and we couldn't get out to all the south shore beaches. We needed our jeep to get to the ones we did go to-and they are beautiful. We had some great meals-Tradewinds and Next Course. Some restaurants are closed this time of year, but Jim can let you know ahead of time what is open. We also were looking forward to the biobay, but when we went out there was no activity due to all the rain that had fallen. Wish they had just canceled the tours as they knew this had happened. Still-got to see some beautiful stars. It's a great little island and we would go back and stay at the Hacienda again, and hopefully-see the real bio bay this time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

A very pretty and comfortable hotel, close to Esperanza (one of the two towns), fantastic pool (see photo) and a charming breakfast everyday in a cute little dining room. The owners and a staff member named Joey are very accommodating, very easygoing. And the owners have a great dog that kind of just ambles around the property. They provided beach chairs, towels and a cooler, so that was nice, too. I wouldn’t have wanted a room off the dining area, however, since it might have been noisy. Only one real downside for us, which is that the bed and the pillows (in the “Vermont Room”) were incredibly uncomfortable. Still, we were incredibly happy with our decision to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoMan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Hacienda Tamarindo is a great hotel for people interested in spending leisurely days on the beach or by the pool. They have beach chairs and towels and even coolers in the rooms, and the pool is gorgeous. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable, and the breakfasts are delicious. The bed was okay but not amazing, and the rooms were spacious but not luxurious. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We went to Vieques with an extended family (two families- (3 adults, 4 teenagers age 12-18). Don't know that we've ever had a better time than on Vieques, and have only wonderful things to say about the Hacienda Tamarindo, the facilities, and those who worked there. And that doesn't include all of the wonderful breakfasts we had with Rosita (the Hacienda parrot) and Zach, the incredibly friendly and cool sheep dog. A vacation we and our kids will never forget.

Highly recommend the Island Adventure biobay tour. I have to think the pontoon boat is better than the kayaks. Go for it!!!!

We also did a ton of snorkeling while on the island. We kayaked over to and snorkeled at the island across from the downtown esparanza area. Great time! Also highly recommend making a drive to Green Beach on eastern tip of island - we stumbled on to a giant sea turtle, a wonderful reef for snorkeling - all kinds of fish, and even had a very cool encounter with a 3+' barracuda. Kind of stepping outside our safety zone, but we were never afraid and will never forget the experience.

You'll also need to drive east and check out Blue Beach (absolutely beautiful). Make sure you take lots of insect spray - the skeeters will eat you alive. Ran into a Ray at Blue Beach. One in our party hired a fishing guide and had a blast wade fishing for bonefish (caught the biggest of his life). Saw a few sharks and a manattee while fishing as well.

Also, quick caution on renting cars on Vieques, even those the good folks at the Hacienda recommend. I read that rentals were risky on Vieques, so I got anal about the reservations and made them way in advance. Then, called tthree times the weeks leading up to our trip (iincluding the day before) and received confirmation every time that our car was ready. I was nervous that they would not give me a reservation number, but since they read my name each time, I felt okay about. Once there, the chumps had no records at all of me ever calling. A HUGE thank you to the manager of the Hacienda for helping us out!!!!!!

If you go to Vieques, don't expect a 5 star hotel or treatment from anyone. Great food in Esparanza!! Be ready for a family adventure and cherish every minute of it (good and bad). Iit's something I know our kids will be talking about 30 years from now.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ckiefer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

A few years ago we stayed at the Tamarindo for our anniversary and were charmed by the place. So this year we decided to go back. Some things you can't do twice as it is never as you remembered it but not here. It was every bit as wonderful as we remembered it.Everyone is so nice and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and the pool. Well it's world class, I love it.
Of course the breakfasts are terrific but better yet is the lunch they packed for us to take to the beach.
My only regret is that they don't serve dinner. We will be back, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
0.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,842 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
59.5 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £150 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing