We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isabel Segunda

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The pretty capital of Vieques offers a restored 1840s fort and busy waterfront.
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“authentic town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is the place to stay if you want to be where the viequenese live. We enjoyed hanging out in the town square and watching the world go by. There is wifi in the square, so our teenagers liked going there to get their fix.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank flomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    36
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Tourist town has not hit Vieques yet. Isabel Segunda is a real working town though some venues definitely cater to American tastes. We found a wonderful breakfast/ lunch place that sells great garlic sourdough bread and terrific Spanish wines. Next door is a nice art gallery. Heard that the chef at the restuarant trained in Paris, but we didn't eat there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RossNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Needs work... but somehow has charm.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Isabel Segunda needs work. Not just a little bit here and there. But it won't happen, so make the best of it and start exploring. Once you peel back the outer crust, there are some gems ready to enjoy.

After 5 days on Vieques, we agreed our regret was to not explore Isabel a bit further. We filled our days completely and explored plenty of other things, and each day or night were in and out of Isabel, but we still felt like we missed a few places. For example, Coqui Fire Cafe - go check it out immediately. Black Beard Sports were great for our snorkeling escapades. And an amazing sandwich shop and bakery is just up the street from this photo: Panaderia La Viequense. For dinner, Conucos is an absolute must.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpers Ferry, WV
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Getting in the Mix of Vieques”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Two major towns in Vieques, Isable Segunda and Esperanza, both with plenty to offer. We've rented a home in a neighborhood just outside of town, and are very pleased with our choice. Great places to eat, nearby grocery stores, coffee shops (boy, I love the coffee here!) some good trinket shopping, we feel like we're getting into the mix of this fantastic island filled with color, recreation, Caribbean charm without the cruise ships and commercialism so much a part of many of the West Indies.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AeOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I read some pretty harsh comments about this place being where all the "dregs" hangout. The "societal outcasts". Once I saw the place I instantly fell in love. Sure, it's not fancy, but it's a sweet step back in time. The buildings are adorable, the restaurants are cute, and the people on the street are the MOST friendly. I felt like more locals hang out here than at the Malecon in Esperanza, which I found to be super touristy (but still nice).

In particular, we loved Abe's for drinks (especially at Sunset), Bieke Bistro (formerly El Patio) for dinner (sooooooooooo good!), and Rays for coffee and breakfast. Also, I bought a really cute dress and jewelry at the Funky Beehive, and some groceries at the big, by island standards, grocery store there.

Speaking of all of these places, every single person who worked at every single one of these places were over the top friendly.

Helpful?
3 Thank Torrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isabel Segunda also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Isabel Segunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing