We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind!”
Review of La Finca Vieques

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Finca Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of a kind!”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

A pal and I just stayed at La Finca for five nights, lodged in the Family cabana. The stay was wonderful and really exceeded our expectations. The setting is beautiful. I loved reading while installed in one of the swinging benches on the porches...grilling dinner on our cabin's barbeque...eating on our terrace....listening to evening frogs or the patter of a rainshower on the roof. A morning coffee and an evening cocktail enjoyed on the main house terrace overlooking treetop with a view of the sea became daily rituals for us. One feels perfectly comfortable either keeping to oneself, chatting with fellow guests or tapping into the knowledge and guidance of the owners Corky and Bill. Thanks to them, we were steered to some wonderful island restaurants, beaches and outings. Our cabin's decor was the opposite of cookie-cutter. It had been furnished with cheerful, good-taste...though I will mention that it is not the place if you want all your towels to match...ditto kitchen plates. Next time I visit (soon I hope), I place to mobilize my friends as this is a place that could also be great for a group. There! First time I've written a hotel review, but La Finca deserves it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkyparker, Owner at La Finca Vieques, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
We blush! But still -- we love hearing that we've made your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for sharing. Our mission is providing real folks like you, the real Caribbean...casual, beautiful, natural. Muchas gracias! Come back next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    22
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
56
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2013

La Finca is the perfect place to stay in Vieques. It's simple and beautiful and very cozy. The rooms are rustic, very clean and breezy. The showers were our favourite part, they are communal, with curtains for privacy, and you can see the sky, stars and trees while you shower. So refreshing after a long day at the beach. The place has a communal kitchen, where we met many other travelers and ate, and there is a beautiful deck that overlooks the jungle, with lights and candles set up at night on the tables. The place is a little far from the beach and town (by far i mean only 3 miles), but if you have a car or scooter it's no problem at all. Just make sure you have some sort of transportation (book cars in advance), cabs aren't so reliable on the island and biking is hard with the hills. But you don't want to stay right in Esperanza, it's noisy at night...the location of La Finca was just right for fresh air and serenity.

The owner of the place, Corkey, is a rare and beautiful human being. We were three young women and she was very helpful with directions, places to eat, tours to take etc...she also drove us to the airport when our cab bailed on us..if it wasn't for her kindness, we would have missed our flight. She also chatted with us and genuinely took an interest in our visit...we felt safe and can ask her for any advice! Thanks again Corky, you're the best!

Sarah

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I rarely write reviews, but I felt the need to share my amazing experience at La Finca Caribe on Vieques. The compound is the perfect place to call your home base as you explore. If you crave simple rooms with screened windows and doors that let in the evening breeze; hammocks that overlook the rolling hillside down to the ocean; a drive through a jungle where it feels if you were to stop for too long, the vines might make you part of them; and on-site hosts who look forward to offering their estate to you, and helping you discover the beauty of the island, than this place is for you. I will return again and again. The rates are extremely reasonable, and the place is in beautiful shape. They offer any combination of separate houses with bath, or a room in the larger house, with shared showers. Definitely more of a camp feel than a luxury hotel though, so if you're looking for the latter, you'd be better off at the "W" down the hill.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but we stayed in the Casa Nueva, which had a great open space downstairs wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RusticM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkyparker, Owner at La Finca Vieques, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hey rustic m,
Thanks so much for the sweet words, and of course for coming or stay with us. you so totally get the finca! we love sharing the place, with folks like yourself! so come on back -- like you promise here, and send your friends. Lonely Planet says "la Finca caribe personifies Vieques" . -- but, its not just this magic place....it wouldn't be near as special without our wonderful guests, like you!
( and really this response should go to all the folks who've taken the time to write such sweet reviews...thank you all! Sorry I just don't get the time to write often enough! ) cheers, corky & bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I got the best nights sleep and had the most relaxing time here. Open air, quiet nights (with the frogs!) and really low-key lodgings made this place just what I have been looking for. Pam & Graham were phenomenal hosts and the low-impact style of La Finca Caribe made the stay worry free. Thanks again for a great time and make sure to add to the karma jar! The good karma will keep coming your way when there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewNBernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This place was absolutely wonderful. This is the kind of place we look for whenever we travel. We could not have dreamed up a better fit. It is the perfect combination of comfort and rustic charm. The rooms have a ton of character but are still well taken-care-of. We were worried about the lack of AC in the middle of August, but the breeze in the room was fantastic (and a little help from the fans). The veranda and open common spaces were awesome, we had to tear ourselves away to go to the beach. Great views of the jungle and ocean in the distance. The kitchen was fully stocked and open to the forest, which was a delight to cook in. The showers were great - a treat to be surrounded by trees while you shower! We were originally a bit concerned about being so far from the beaches (not walking distance), but you really need a car anyway to get the full Vieques experience, so it wasnt a problem. Pam and Graham, who manage the property in the off-season, were wonderfully accommodating, very friendly, and very knowledgeable. I would stay here over the W any day!

Room Tip: Room 3 was great -- though it's not the biggest, they consider it the best room in the main gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWarrior1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in the family cabana, rustical wood made cabana with 2 bedrooms and fantastic private outdoor shower. We loved to be in the nature. The sounds of crickets, lezzards, etc. were amazing at night. The swimming pool was nice, not chemicals on it. La finca it's on the middle of the island, you need a vehicle. Both its only few miles from the beaches. The only bad point its the cleanness. Bed sheets and pillows were smelly and kitchen wasn't not clean.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alpinecharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkyparker, Owner at La Finca Vieques, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
thanks so much for coming -- and writing your review. both mean a lot to us! glad to hear about all the good things -- (we're used to that :) but we were sorry -- and surprised-- to hear you had some problems. we are puzzled that the sheets smelled funny. we make up the beds the day guests check in -- and all of our linens are lined dried in the sun and breeze. but ...anything can happen. so wish we could have helped fix things when you were here! next time tell us! we're here for you, and all our guests to have the best stay they can. happy travels --- your friends at the finca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Viesques beeches are mostly undeveloped and breathtaking: it's the perfect island for a rustic get a way. La Finca will provide you with a good experience if....

you love....
1. Breezes wafting over you as you swing in a hammock
2. Seeing, maybe picking fresh fruit from the gaden
3. No t-v or loud music playing
4. Palm frond framed views from the porches
5. Swimming in a pleasant salt water pool
6. Bargain basement prices for a carribean hide-a-way
7. Showering outside in a tropical garden

and know you also have to deal with ...
1. Thin plywood walls with open space at the top for air and sound circulation.....impossible to avoid easedropping on others' conversations
2. Dust bunny farms under the beds
3. Two commodes and sinks for six rooms
4. Roosters crowing in the morning (all over the island)
5. Camp-like conditions (unmatched towels, sheets, etc.)

Trip advisor reviews for La Finca are accurate. Let your sense of adventure guide you. I would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GT in DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
1.4 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
564 reviews
2.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,798 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hix Island House
Hix Island House
#2 of 24 in Isla de Vieques
352 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finca Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finca Vieques

Property: La Finca Vieques
Address: Rte. 995, km 1.2 | Barrio Pilon, 00765, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Finca Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques' most beautiful rustic getaway and original eco-tourism destination since 1995....A rare taste of the Caribbean -- the way it used to be, quiet, natural & affordable. Perfect for groups of two to thirty, workshops, family reunions, or romantic getaways for just the two of you. Anyone who likes off the beaten track and wants to experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be: quiet, natural and affordable. Salt water pool, outdoor showers, hammocks, views and breezes. La Finca is a cluster of handmade houses -- our large wooden main house, Casa Grande, alone can sleep 18-22, but we also have two family size cabanas and two smaller casitas, all on 3 acres of fruit trees & palms, on the off-beat island of Vieques, seven miles from Puerto Rico's eastern shore; a 25 minute flight and a world away from San Juan....We're up in the hills, with beautiful views and tradewinds, three miles away from the bustle of town...Talk about getting away! We're not a hotel, or a b&b ... The finca is our family's own private "finca" that we love to share with like-minded eco travelers -- folks who like things as natural and simple as possible. Our towels don't match, our showers are outdoors (don't worry -- they're private), the skies are jet black and studded with stars, and the property is dotted in coco palms, mangoes, starfruit, bananas, and a dozen hammocks ... Tropical summer camp, quiet and beautiful. Think Swiss Family Robinson... (Please note: Feb-March 2015 renting the whole finca means all houses/cabins with exception of Cabanita and includes 10 bedrooms with 7 baths and can sleep up to 33.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Finca Caribe Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing