We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Recharge”
Review of La Finca Vieques

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Finca Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
1 review
“The Perfect Place to Recharge”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

After a hectic summer in NYC, a friend and I booked a trip to Vieques and stayed at La Finca after a friend had recommended the place. Wow. To say the least, La Finca was so full of peace and tranquility. Moon lit swims in the pool looking up at the brightest stars through the palm trees, hammocks galore with no distractions, star-kissed showers at night. Peace. Peace. Peace. My heart rate is slowing just recalling my stay there! The hotel manager, Katrina, was a dream and beyond accommodating. She is amazing!!

I have made a promise to myself to return to this magical place every year...for the rest of my life. A total dream.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AmaraNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    22
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
55
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We stayed at La Finca for a week in December of 2008 and cannot describe what an amazing / relaxing experience it was. I am planning another trip for this upcoming season. The property manager Katrina made sure our stay was welcoming and comfortable. She helped us tremendously by providing local insight to the area and offered a personal hand on many occasions to make our stay more enjoyable.

Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark-Trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xochka
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Looking out my window now, at the concrete Philly jungle...I find I am mentally teleporting myself back to the real jungle thing...La Finca Caribe.

This place is quite possibly the awesome-est place to stay ever...it is very difficult to describe the overwhelming amount of charm there.
time kinda stops (which is really nice if you are on vacation.)

if you enjoy languid porch swings, fluffy clouds, beautiful views, sunkissed cheeks, peaceful hammocks, rum drinks, floating in water, watching lizards, carefree afternoons, sweet tropical fruits, beach glass, cat-naps + quiet-time this is the place for you!

We rented the cabanita. it has it's own bathroom - a private outdoor shower. (oh bliss!) a tiny kitchenette...with fridge and two burner stove + it's own front porch.

La Finca has many options for different types of travelers.
The community house has shared bathrooms and kitchen and some little bed rooms like a hostel. It has a breezy open indoor/outdoor quality and plenty of perfect spots for a nap.
There are larger more "luxury" cabins also that are secluded and less communal throughout the property...

OR you and 49 of your closest friends could rent the entire place for a week!
this option would be great for a big party, retreat, family re-union, wedding, yoga intensive, etc.

-the salt water pool is amazing! it feels healing for your skin and doesn't stink like chlorine!

but none of Vieques will be what you might be accustomed to. The linens and towels don't match, there are no tvs, internet, newspapers, telephones, etc. No one wears shoes. They might rent you a convertible car without a top (and it might rain that day.)
People are so completely laid back that there isn't even glass in any the windows!

I felt really blessed to have landed in such a beautiful, down to earth place at La FInca.
The Inn Keepers are super kind and helpful and will make you feel right at home.
This place isn't a fancy hotel though, it's more like camping and probably best for more adventuresome folks.

Go when it isn't tourist season (late spring+summer) and you will find yourself totally alone on a crystal clear blue beach swimming with tropical fish for hours at a time.
We felt so free, we got naked!

La Finca and all of the island is really pretty rural -you'll have to be able to entertain yourself. bring books, instruments, crafts, bikes, rafts and bug spray!

all we did the entire time we were there was: read, swim, drink, eat, drive around beach hopping and sleep. a real relaxing vacation!!!

If you have never felt a trade wind, seen the stars without light pollution, taken a dip with glowing phytoplankton, photographed wild ponies or eaten a fresh tamarindo....you really have no idea what you are missing.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2009

My wife and I traveled to La Finca in January '09 for our long-overdue honeymoon. Our experience was so fantastic we couldn't stay away--we headed back just five months later. Lush, off-the-beaten-path and funky, La Finca is the definitive charming island getaway. "Rustic" is an adjective that's tossed around a few of the descriptions you may read, and that's part of its charm. But don't be fooled: While La Finca offers vacation-seekers a sustainable, environmentally-conscious option for travel, the accommodations and service aren't what I'd consider "rustic." The vegetation is gorgeous and well-maintained; the open-air cabanas are clean and cozy; the outdoor showers are refreshing; and the salt-water pool is a nice touch for the evening after a day at the beach. But moreover, Katrina's (the friendly manager) made our trip that much sweeter with her helpful recommendations on leisure activities and restaurants, and the option of custom home-cooked breakfasts and dinners (hint: try her smoothies!). Her service is truly top-notch--she'll make you'll feel like Caribbean royalty. Best of all, the price of your stay is far below what you'd expect to pay on a tropical vacation--excellent bang-for-your-buck value.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrrrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2009

La Finca offers the perfect example of living in symbiosis with the environment. They exist sustainably and in an energy consevative way. It's not hard to adjust to this lifestyle because the surroundings make you want to keep this place around forever. Despite the eco-tourism mission of La Finca, the service and hospitality offered and the stunning beauty of the property hardly make you feel like you're "roughing" it. I loved the outdoor showers where humming birds and coqui frogs came to visit. You could enjoy yourself enough just hanging around the property all day, but don't. Katrina had a wealth of reliable information about the island and can point you towards the best beaches and hiking spots. We had such a fantastic time at Finca that we came back 5 months later. Do not miss this gem!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbyk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2009

La Finca Caribe is a wonderful place!! My fiance and I went there for some relaxing time in the island of Vieques, and we couldn't be happier with the attention we received from Dave and Judy from the moment we arrived. Katrina had helped us arrange things like a biobay tour before our arrival, and had even explained to us all the different way we could arrive to Fajardo from San Juan. Once we arrived, since Katrina was away on a much deserved vacation, Judy and Dave took over and helped us have a great experience.

All of La Finca is very preciously/rustically decorated. The rooms are very spacious, the main house has an awesome library of books that have been left behind, the kitchen and the bar are supplied with all the materials one would need, and the pool is just incredibly relaxing in its location. I loved the feeling of being in the middle of the country, of being far away from everything.

Katrina, Dave and Judy (and Berrito!), thanks for everything!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marullos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I love La Finca. Katrina and Ryan are wonderful hosts who are always available when you need them, but give you the space you are obviously craving if you have chosen to stay with them. We (a group of seven--two professors and five college students on a study abroad trip) stayed in the guest house and took full advantage of the hammocks, porch swings, and salt-water pool (at night especially). We cooked all of our meals and Katrina was kind enough to help us stock the fridge with fresh fruit and other goodies. La Finca is the perfect place to stay if you want to be immersed in nature--a small friendly lizard watched me cook all of our meals and the evening air is filled with the sounds of frogs and other creatures. Although every room on the three-acre property was booked while we were there, we felt as though the place was ours alone. I would HIGHLY recommend La Finca to anyone who loves the rustic charm of a cabin, outdoor showers, and truly slowing down to "island time."

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poetjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.5 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hix Island House
Hix Island House
#2 of 24 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finca Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finca Vieques

Property: La Finca Vieques
Address: Rte. 995, km 1.2 | Barrio Pilon, 00765, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Finca Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques' most beautiful rustic getaway and original eco-tourism destination since 1995....A rare taste of the Caribbean -- the way it used to be, quiet, natural & affordable. Perfect for groups of two to thirty, workshops, family reunions, or romantic getaways for just the two of you. Anyone who likes off the beaten track and wants to experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be: quiet, natural and affordable. Salt water pool, outdoor showers, hammocks, views and breezes. La Finca is a cluster of handmade houses -- our large wooden main house, Casa Grande, alone can sleep 18-22, but we also have two family size cabanas and two smaller casitas, all on 3 acres of fruit trees & palms, on the off-beat island of Vieques, seven miles from Puerto Rico's eastern shore; a 25 minute flight and a world away from San Juan....We're up in the hills, with beautiful views and tradewinds, three miles away from the bustle of town...Talk about getting away! We're not a hotel, or a b&b ... The finca is our family's own private "finca" that we love to share with like-minded eco travelers -- folks who like things as natural and simple as possible. Our towels don't match, our showers are outdoors (don't worry -- they're private), the skies are jet black and studded with stars, and the property is dotted in coco palms, mangoes, starfruit, bananas, and a dozen hammocks ... Tropical summer camp, quiet and beautiful. Think Swiss Family Robinson... (Please note: Feb-March 2015 renting the whole finca means all houses/cabins with exception of Cabanita and includes 10 bedrooms with 7 baths and can sleep up to 33.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Finca Caribe Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing