We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection, hope to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malecon House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfection, hope to return!”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I spent one night here. This was my second time in Vieques. Very comfortable rooms, the morning continental breakfast is a delicious way to start the day Great location right on the Esperanza boardwalk and within walking distance to restaurants and bars and across from the Caribbean sea. The proprietors are gracious and thoughtful they stored our luggage after we checked out and even loaned us chairs and a cooler for our day at the beach. There's no television in the room, but we didn't miss it at all! This is truly a Viequenese gem.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank farrlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    50
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
87
254
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John, USVI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed at the Malecon House for 4 days and wish it was longer. I cannot say enough good things about the Malecon House and will def. stay there again. For a detailed review and photographs please see my blog:
http://sageisland.blogspot.com/2011/06/vieques-vacation-accommodations.html

Thank you for making our trip to Vieques so wonderful!!!!

Room Tip: Recommend Perfecto and Tropico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SageParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The Malecon house was our savior for the weekend when my girlfriend and I were visiting Vieques for a wedding. They kindly put us up on the spot with their last room available when our wedding party guesthouse was out of rooms with air conditioning (which is VERY important in Puerto Rico). This house is no doubt the most luxurious yet personal accommodation on the island for anyone who wants to actually relax yet still be close to the best beaches, activities, restaurants and bars.
Keep in mind, the Esperanza strip is a party place so if you are also looking for some peace and quiet, the Malecon house puts you just out of reach of the booming reggaeton bass down the street.
We are so very grateful to have been in the company of the owners and taken care of as if we were family house guests. When we return to Vieques, our first and only option will be pre-booking the Malecon House.

Room Tip: We were in Fiesta, and they only get better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectsonnet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We had never been to Vieques and did not plan ahead very well. We wanted to either rent a scooter or bikes, but because it was a busy time of year (Semana Santa), it was very difficult. Martha called everyone she knew to find a way for us to get around the island. She helped us book kayak tours, recommended great places to eat, etc. And helped us get cash, as the closest ATM was on the other side of the island. She even put an umbrella outside our door when it rained!

The accommodations are great. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We loved the lounge chairs for reading after a long day in the sun. The morning breakfast is substantial and delicious. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Having a small fridge on our private patio was a great addition to the Buena Vista room. Everything is very modern and clean yet also comfortable and casual. The location is not to be beat. You can walk to the nearby beach and anything you need in town. The hotel is on the "main drag", hence the name Malecon, but we did not find the noise from the cruising cars a problem at all inside our room. This place is well built!

While it might be a bit more expensive than other options, if you have the $, spend it here! These folks run a top-notch establishment for what we considered a very fair price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The rooms were perfect, comfortable, immaculately clean and comfortable beds.
The grounds and pool are lovely.
Marsha and Robin, the owners of the hotel are very welcoming and gave us lots of information about the island.
Includes nice continental breakfast.....freshly baked muffins/scones every morning.
Loved the location because you are in easy walking distance of places to eat in the evening, no need to drive at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lankashirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Malecon House is truly the pearl in Esperanza and maybe for the entire island of Vieques. Esperanza is the best place to stay on Vieques, and Malecon House is the only wise choice. As previous reviewers have told us, this modern and new guest house is the perfect place to stay. We loved the whole concept, from the design and decoration of the rooms to the cozy but elegant atmosphere. Marsha took care of our every need. We enjoyed the simple breakfast and the comfortable atmosphere. Esperanza is a funky little town that we enjoyed immensely. I cannot imagine staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATXKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I had always wanted to see Vieques, especially because my father was stationed there for 3 years. After a LONG search done by my sister and I...I decided on the Malecon House! My husband, kids and I were staying at his parents house in Barranquitas, PR for Easter break. My husband happened to turn 40 during this week so I wanted to do something special for him...without the kids. The Malecon House is THE nicest place to stay in Esperanza! The Inn keepers were ABSOLUTELY the nicest people, the Inn was super clean, comfortable and close to everything. We stayed in Rm 10 which is a suite with an ocean view. The pool is perfect for cooling off after a day at the beach. It was truly fabulous! The town of Esperanza is a hidden gem. Shops, restaurants, beaches, snorkeling, Spanish Reggae bands at night, etc ALL with in walking distance!!!

I have traveled to Paris, Jamaica, Antiqua, Bermuda....My husband and I really, really loved the Malecon House. He told me it was the best birthday present I've ever given him. I said, "Really?". He said it gave him such great memories and we plan to return there every year when we go to visit his parents on the main land.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
360 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
219 reviews
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Property: Malecon House
Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing