We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place in the perfect spot on Vieques”
Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malecon House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The owners, Robin and Marsha, are delightful people and they have chosen the perfect spot for an inn on Vieques: the Malecon alongside the oceanfront of Esperanza. There is a huge selection of nice restaurants alongside this picturesque street. It is within easy walking distance (5 min) of Esperanza beach, where there are docks to get boats for sailing or scuba diving. Snorkeling is also great along this beach. The Inn has a great view onto a small island off the shore of Vieques. The rooms are new, stylish and clean, but have no TV.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriswmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I were visiting Vieques for our 3rd year anniversary...and a rare weekend without our young toddler (yay mother in laws)...and Malecon guest House was perfect! From the moment we met kind, welcoming hosts Marsha and Robin and saw the beautiful decor and laid back, perfect location we knew we were in for a treat.

Even before we stepped foot on the property Marsha was instrumental in helping me to plan our weekend escape --provided taxi, rental car, and tour excursion insights to questions I had in a timely fashion.

Highlights
- cute boutique shop right in the guest house
- super kind hosts (not awkward, fake, weird)
- GREAT breakfast which is part of package
- attention to detail (beach towels in room, soap/shampoo/conditioner)
- beautiful dipping pool with nap worthy pool chairs
- right in the end of a great restaurant strip (yet perfectly quiet at night/morning inside B&B!)

We definitely plan on staying with them next time we are in Vieques. We saw some REALLY scary looking B&Bs in Esperanza (ie. a B&B on the 2nd floor of a pub! can you imagine trying to go to sleep!?) during our weekend and felt VERY lucky we got such a gem.

Thank you Marsha and Robin!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlavorsOfSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Traveling for my brothers 40th birthday we took up two rooms at the Malecon House right before Christmas. It was the small touches we noticed that really made our stay. My brother and his wife are vegan and when Marsha and Robin found out they provided soy milk at breakfast. Also, the beach towels, chairs, floating devices, frisbee, etc. that are availalbe for hotel guests really enhanced our beach day. It was a quality, small hotel in a great location that i would stay at again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mplslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Once we checked in, we realized we should have alloted more time for this portion of our trip. We would base future trips on the availability of this hotel.
Small, personable.
Helpful and pleasant hosts.
Parking available.
Room was large -- we did not feel crowded.
Beach towels provided.
It is located at the end of the restaurant strip -- quiet, yet convenient.
Small private pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windows_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Malecon is across the street from the beautiful Caribbean, it is really clean, pleasant and convenient to several restaurants. The owners are very nice and helpful. There is good free wifi available which is nice.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs with the terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusannahKoteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent 7 nights in Malecon House over new year. Its incredibly relaxing and the location is perfect to walk to all the restaurants in Esperanza. We chose it for this reason and it paid off.

We stayed in the room, Buena Vista, with our four year old as it has two rooms and a balcony. It is set back slightly as well so quiet. The rooms are cleaned daily and all the staff are lovely. The owners Robin and Marsha are delightful and very helpful. They will offer recommendations on where to visit and overheard them organising boat trips and bike hire. Marsha also has a boutique - we purchased! Fruit, cereal, muffins, juice and coffee are complimentary which set you up for the day.

We hired a jeep and were able to borrow chairs, cool box, boogie board, waggles and parasol from the guest house. Totally brilliant and there was plenty for all guests.

Our favourite beach was Media Luna - you need a jeep! The road is awful but it is worth it when you get there - shallow, turquoise waters and pure white sand. For sun-deprived Brits, this couldn't have been more idyllic. Playa Caracas and Playa Chiva are also beautiful as is Sun Beach, but Media Luna definitely our absolute favourite. No beach vendors, no cafes, just nature at its finest.

We stayed in Vieques in May 2012 at the W - a totally different holiday, brilliant but very different. Malecon House works for the convenience of walking to all the restaurants. We saw more Europeans this time and more Brits... They are slowly finding out about Vieques and Puerto Rico. We are glad we got there first!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed at Malecon house last winter with my wife and two very young children. Greatly enjoyed it.

First the negatives. It's not overpriced, but it isn't a bargain either. It's a boutique hotel. You don't stay here to save money. We had a few minor house keeping glitches during our stay, like significant hair in the drains when we first checked in, but they were just mild disappointments, nothing that took more than a minute to fix.

The decor? It might not suit every one. It's minimalistic and there's no TV, but for me it was all a plus. The room was well child proofed and we didn't waste hours watching forgetable TV.

Noise? The walls between the rooms are completely sound proof which is a plus for a B&B. There was some minor street noise, but you can always close the windows and turn on the AC. Personally, I don't like staying at a convent. I like a little action outside, even if I'm only on the balcony these days because of kids.

The positives? Great view. It's post card quality. The hotel is also walking distance to stores, shops & restaurants. The min-pool in the yard was perfect for my kids when they needed to cool off. We also really enjoyed the light surf and tidal pools across the street. I liked the porch fridge too. Kept the ants out and the beers where they were needed. Marsha and Robin are attentive & professional hosts. I've had dedicated concierge staff that were not as helpful. The breakfasts in the mornings were a great time to mingle and exchange vacation ideas with fellow travelers. The yard was a lush garden in a town where many lawns are dust & weeds.

Overall, I think it was best place to stay on the island for my family, but then we wanted to pay for the extras that Malecon house had and we weren't looking for the stuff they didn't have.

10 months later, my three year old keeps asking "When do we go back to Marsha's house?"

Room Tip: Get the view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
60.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
18.2 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
389 reviews
46.7 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £139 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing