We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location. Very well run.”
Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malecon House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Super clean place.
Great hosts.
Great location on the beachfront.
Great breakfast. Simple but satisfying.
We think its a real value purchase.
The Hosts Marcia & Robin make reservations give suggestions and have a great dog. Such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandcastlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Best place we've stayed in PR. Next time we want to spend a whole week here. Incredible people, very clean and serene place to stay. The pool is private and beautiful and we loved the little attached boutique, home made scones and excellent coffee. On the same block as all the restaurants, bars, and the beach. Thank you for the great experience! Worth every penny!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazyboutcoconuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

During a recent visit to Puerto Rico, My husband and I spent 6 nights on the island of Vieques and stayed at Malecon House in Esperanza. Robin and Marsha were outstanding hosts at this lovely inn. The location couldn't have been better. The beautiful walkway to the beach, restaurants and shops was one of the nicest we've seen in the Caribbean.

We had a late arrival to the island via ferry. Robin checked on our progress regularly and was there to meet and greet us and explained a few details to us with the promise of further information the following morning. Malecon House was heavily booked during our stay. We had the large upper-floor suite for 3 nights (with a beautiful balcony and a view of the ocean) and a lower level,smaller room for our remaining 3 nights. Both rooms were very nice, but we preferred the larger suite as it provided space for our dive gear, etc.

Robin and Marsha were always happy to answer our questions and assist us with dinner reservations, taxi reservations, etc. They shared some of their personal experiences with us and we felt like they were interested in our stories, as well.

The breakfasts were cereals, juices, fruit and homemade scones or muffins. (I would love the recipes for the chocolate muffins and blueberry scones, Marsha!!!) The coffee was delicious!

We loved Vieques and would definitely stay at Malecon House on our next visit to that beautiful island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caribbean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We enjoyed our short stay and will return soon. The Malecon House is very clean and the rooms with a balcony are great for reading and watching the horses walk by on the Malecon. Robin and Marsha were great host! In walking distance to a lot of beaches. I would suggest having a car to get to beaches! Hope to see you soon, Marsha & Robin! Jill & Pierce

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffett456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at the Malecon House for 6 nights in February 2013. Two adults and our 6 y.o. daughter fit comfortably in room #1 which had two queen beds. The room was good (not glamorous) outfitted with a mini-fridge and built in shelves for clothing. Included were daily beach towels, beach chairs, coolers, continental breakfast (great scones and muffins, Marsha!), and advice on what to do from Marsha and Robin. The pool is small, but perfect after returning from the beach for a little afternoon float. The Malecon House is in a great location near a general store, restaurants, and the ocean. There is ample parking for the jeep rental (although we chose instead to hoof it or hire a publico when we wanted to travel to Isabella II). We could not have been happier with our stay in Esperanza and in particular with the Malecon House.

Room Tip: My wife expressed that the south facing, second floor rooms with balconies would have been nice. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blacklabsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Flew from San Juan to Vieques on Vieques Air Link and had a wonderful flight over.

Stayed in Room 12 at Malecon House for 2 nights. The room had a nice shower, was clean and had a pool view. We had a safe and the A/C worked well. The pool is small, but nice with lounge chairs scattered in the sun and shade. Continental breakfast served starting around 8AM. We were unable to get a room with 2 beds so one of us ended up sleeping on an air mattress which was our only option.

We walked to Sun Beach one day on the main road which was quite a ways carrying beach chairs on our back and a beach bag in the hot sun. We appreciated the assortment of beach chairs and pool floats available at the hotel. On the way back we found a short cut by turning at Blue Caribe Kayaks and walking down the beach instead. We found the food to be fairly expensive in Vieques.

I don't consider the horses in Vieques to be "wild." When you say wild horses I think everyone envisions mustangs running wild on the beach, but what we found were horses turned loose by owners to walk about town with their ribs showing, eating out of garbabe cans and getting into people's ice chests at the beach. One girl sunbathing awoke and was startled to find a horse standing over her.

The BioBay pickup area meets across the street from Malecon House so this hotel is convenient. Also, within walking distance of all the restaurants and alot of nice beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarleeGalveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Ok - remember, this is Vieques. We are not talking Maui with state of the art high-rise hotels. It is a very rural island where wild horses abound and paved roads are a luxury. What you get in return is sun, great beaches, very nice people, excellent to good food (Quenepo, Tradewinds, and Lazy Jacks are all close by and vary in price and quality, but all provide more than acceptable food choices) and more R&R than you know what to do with.

With that in mind, I have rated our experience at Malecon House "excellent." There were 4 of us in a room on the second floor overlooking the water. What a view and a great breeze. I could have sat on the balcony all day, but the beaches are far too nice to do so. So, every AM began with us downstairs enjoying a very nice continental breakfast. Then we packed up the chairs, coolers, and umbrella provided by the inn and took off for the day. A Jeep is a requirement to enjoy the island as some of the roads are a bit rough, but it is all part of the adventure.

Our room was large enough to not feel cramped in any way whatsoever. The beds were comfortable. The AC and internet worked and we felt very safe there. As an FYI, when you come in at night you are asked to close the gate to keep the horses out of the garden!

The owners are very nice and as noted in some other reviews, give you space, but were very helpful and pleasant to be around.

The only negative - we needed a better exhaust fan in the bathroom. But, we were only there for 4 nights; it is not like we bought the place. It was hardly enough of a problem to reflect it in the rating, just made it tough to dry off after a shower and with older kids in the room, prevented said drying from occurring in front of the AC unit.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newave314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,842 reviews
60.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
31.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £147 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing