We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet oasis”
Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malecon House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The Malecon House is a special place in Vieques. We were so happy we chose to stay on the Espranza side of the island. The owner was very helpful with tips and ideas to make our stay perfect. Our room was very clean and spacious. The breakfasts hit the spot in the morning with great scones and fabulous PR coffee. If you are going to Vieques stay at the Malecon House.

Room Tip: All are nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tino8223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

Although we only had a couple of days in Vieques, we had an amazing time and really enjoyed our stay at Malecon House. The hosts were very helpful, the location is perfect (close to a couple of lovely restaurants) and you're right on the beach - complete bliss!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank me3064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here during the last week of March, and what a wonderful time we had! Malecon house is a perfect guesthouse for people who want tranquility and care, appointed "just right". The architecture is minimalist, geometric, elegant, and rooms will give you what you need to rest and relax, with comfy beds, shelves, room safes. We stayed downstairs in Gusto. Nice bathrooms too with good water pressure. The pool is smallish but spacious enough to swim, and a waterfall gushes into the water. The continental breakfast is thoughtfully laid out every morning with cereal, baked goods, juice, coffee and fresh fruit. There is a drying line on the rooftop. Fun to go up there for a view of Esperanza and the ocean. The ground floor tends to echo sound, but this was not an issue for us, since this hotel tends to stay quiet. The second floor has a recreation corner with books, games, and reading chairs. Also there is WiFi in the lobby areas. Robin and Marsha are thorough and considerate hosts. On our last full day, we wanted to see more of Vieques but had not rented a car, so within minutes, Marsha arranged a private driver to tour us around the island. They obviously care about their property and their guests, and it shows. If you want a serene, beautiful place to stay while in Vieques, you will love Malecon House.

I strongly suggest you do a few things when you visit the Caribbean: 1. Bring a rash guard shirt for swimming/ watersports. You won't find one on the island, and the sun is fierce, so save your skin! 2. Bring earplugs, just in case noisy guests wander back late at night. 3. Rent a car. 4. Tour Mosquito Bay, but try to do this when the moon is not full. Enjoy your stay.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank irenepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. It is sophisticated and cozy at the same time. The location is perfect with cute restaurants and beautiful views. The complimentary breakfasts with homemade scones were delicious. Perfect! Our kids loved the little pool, too.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisolmelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Malecon House is centrally located in the best part of the island. It is a very nice boutique hotel with lush greenery and very comfortable rooms. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. They have coolers, chairs, beach toys, boogie boards, beach towels, and umbrellas (for sun and rain) that are available to their guests. The pool is small but very nice and clean. Breakfast is included and is the perfect beginning to your day - fresh baked scones or muffins that are made each day by the hosts, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and cereal while you sit out on the patio overlooking the ocean. There is sufficient (free) parking at the hotel for your rental car. It is by far the best hotel in Esperanza, and Esperanza is *the* place to stay in Vieques.

Room Tip: Book early to get the room that you want!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingwithPamAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I took our first trip to Vieques this past February 2013. After reading many of the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided we wanted to spend a little more for luxury, and to be close to the malecon. Malecon House is as good as it looks. The pool is a slice of heaven - the perfect cool down between hot sunny beaches and pina coladas right down the street. Esperanza is hopping and right there for the taking. We stayed at a less expensive location during our trip too (many less expensive and equally convenient places are available), but if you want clean comfort, privacy, and a heavenly pool, all across from the water, this is the way to go in Esperanza. Easy parking, excellent breakfast pastry and fruit, beach chairs and coolers free for borrowing, and lovely owners who were always on site responding to every request personally...

Room Tip: Our across the hall neighbors had a suite that was to die for. I think it was "Fiesta". Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 409jenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

When traveling to Vieques stay in Esperanza and when staying in Esperanza stay in Malecon House. The location is perfect and the property was well kept. Very clean and modern. Included breakfast, beach chairs, and coolers. I would also reccomend a rental car and bio bay tour.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPacoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
60.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
31.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
46.7 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £146 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing