We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to stay worthy of the island”
Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malecon House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“a place to stay worthy of the island”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

With its location on the main street facing the water, Malécon House is within easy walking distance of many of the good restaurants in Esperanza. The room are stark white and free of the bric-a-brac that characterizes many places in the Caribbean: everything works, everything is clean, and everything is handsome. There is a small plunge pool hidden in the expertly tended garden.

One could not wish for a more charming and friendly staff, who seem to know everything about Vieques, and with whom one might wish to sit down and have a slow cup of tea.

The breakfast is healthful and delicious: fresh fruit (which mysteriously seems to be at a prime on the island), cereals, and freshly baked muffins or scone.

This is a wonderful places from which to explore a wonderful island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panajody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    50
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
94
262
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Summary
Clean, modern boutique hotel with a smart staff and within walking distance of everything in Esperanza.

The Good
- Clean; modern décor; up-to-date amenities (w/fridge)
- Parking; decent continental breakfast; WiFi
- Walking distance to everything in Esperanza, yet surprisingly quiet

The Bad
- Loud air conditioner
- Small pool (more for soaking than swimming)

Review
Malecon House is a clean, smart-looking boutique hotel situated in the heart of Esperanza, the more laid-back and partying town on Vieques (its workaday sister is Isabella Segunda, where the ferry docks). The owner’s large, friendly (but also calm/quiet) dog Coqui may welcome you upon arrival.

Despite its proximity to the party, MH provides quiet, comfortable lodging as well as a smart, professional staff. The owners are often manning the desk or on-site and can provide a wealth of information. The décor is modern and light without being cold. There is parking for about six cars (somewhat tight), which is a nice-to-have if you want to explore Esperanza on foot.

A continental breakfast of several cereals, pastries, and fresh fruit with coffee and tea is served on the front patio, which is also a nice place to read and catch-up on email at any time, as the hotel's WiFi extends throughout the property. There is a tiny, though beautifully decorated, pool with a handful of chaise lounge, but it's of dubious use, since it's out of view of the ocean or anything else worth seeing.

The room was spotless and had a comfortable queen-sized bed, a dresser/armoire, several end tables and a ottoman, as well as a safe and a mini-fridge. The bathroom was spacious, well-kept, with a very large modern shower. Like most if not all lodging on Vieques (and in the Caribbean), the floor is tiled, making it somewhat cold, but necessary for cleaning. Air-conditioning is provided by a window unit, but was a little rattle-trap and was loud when it kicked on (then off).

MH provides beach towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, sunscreen, and coolers to all guests. All in all the price was higher than Hector’s (where we also stayed on our visit) without a significant difference in amenities. But if you’re looking for something more chic and in-town, this was a solid choice.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back on the first floor and was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FasterThanWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViequesPom, Owner at Malecon House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review- we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that your review was complimentary of us and thoughtful and helpful to others. You note well many of the benefits of staying at Malecon House; however I would beg to differ with you and say that our amenities are are indeed significant. We are a true B&B and as you kindly point out, serve a delicious complimentary continental breakfast. If you had stayed longer with us you would have appreciated the daily maid service with bathroom and beach towels supplied fresh daily and sheets changed after every 3rd night or before if necessary. Our reception/concierge desk is manned from 7:00am - 6:30pm and often 'till late at night for late arrivals and we have management living on site for emergencies and urgencies. We have free WIFI including guest computer and simple office facilities, plenty of off street parking (for 11+ cars actually) and the vast majority of our guests do not regard our lovely discreet pool of dubious use- they love it. We are happy to store bags if you arrive early or leave late and guests are welcome to use our pool, shower, changing facilities and beach equipment after they check out if they have a late flight or ferry. These are by no means all of our amenities, but we believe these alone represent a considerable value both in cost and in comfort.
We do apologize for the wall mounted AC unit if it bothered you. During the room introduction we always advise guests to turn it from econo-mode to regular mode to stop the on-off cycling. This is also mentioned in our welcome book. A quick word to us would have quickly stopped this inconvenience to you. We encourage guests to advise us immediately if anything is not to their satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you back to Malecon House when next you return to Vieques.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

You simply can't go wrong with the Malecon house. Marsha is very welcoming and the property is very clean, light and fresh. We loved the healthy options at breakfast, and truly enjoyed sitting out front and enjoying the magical views. So many options for dinner and lunch close by, making Malecon house the top pick of our wonderful stay in Vieques. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sohappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the B&B 5 nights and could not have been happier. Marsha, Robin and Jade were helpful, friendly and most professional, they definitely helped us transition to Island life we would not hesitate to recommend the facilty. The property is located on the main street of Esperanza, within walking range to many restaurants and bars.

The beaches on Vieques are what we dreamed for, the property is within walking distance to 2. I would recommend renting a car to more fully enjoy the total island. We visited the town of Isabella and definitely felt more comfortable in Esperanza.

We will visit Vieques, Malecon House again soon ...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C. Area
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Malecon House on a recent visit to Vieques. The hotel is conveniently located at the end of the main street and is walking distance to all of Esperanza's shops and cafés. Owners Robin and Marsha did an amazing job of taking care of every detail for travelers – from the functional rooms, beach accessories for guest use, continental breakfasts and helpful advice. The facility is clean and modern and just across the street from the town beach. Best place to stay on the south side of the island!

Room Tip: Rent a 4wd vehicle in advance, you'll need one to explore the many beaches on the island. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laratada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViequesPom, Owner at Malecon House, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you and we do hope you return. Thanks so much for posting your review.
Please note this guest's advice on booking Jeeps early and also tours so as not to be disappointed when you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

You will not be disappointed if you stay at Malecon house. Clean lovely rooms with terraces and a pool...it's right across the street from the ocean. You can walk to dinner. Robin and Marsha and Jade here to help in any way. We will be sad to leave. GREAT coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Rural. Isolated but nice. The B&B is centrally located and the proprietors are friendly and present. The building is sleek and modern with well kept grounds and small elegant pool that could use a little more sun. The breakfast was adequate but could use some half and half for the coffee. We bought some for ourselves and the rest of the guests used it. Some agave would have been nice as well. I did not miss the lack of a TV in the room but there is none if you want one. WIFI is practically non existent outside of the main lobby. Over all it was a good choice and we would stay again. If you are a Verizon subscriber your service will be poor at best for any kind of web browsing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank twotravelnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Property: Malecon House
Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing