We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 10th year Anniversary”
Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malecon House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Perfect 10th year Anniversary”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I decided on a trip to Vieques to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It would be a new experience for me having already been to Culebra, and of course my husband, having never visited Puerto Rico, was happy to go wherever I suggested. We picked Malecon House because of the reviews. They are correct. We had a wonderful experience and everyone we came in contact with was delightful including the ever-watchful dog. The perfect alarm clock is the faint sound coming from the collar the dog wears. It woke me every morning and let me know coffee was served along with an assortment of breakfast fares. And every morning we shared our breakfast with a small, greenish bird whose charm was matched by his courage. He would sit perched on a chair next to us waiting for sugar to fall from our scone, which it almost always did.

My husband and I first booked this trip for an early March arrival. Three days before we were to depart we had an unexpected death in the family. At first I thought the plane fare, along with the hotel expense in San Juan and the Malecon House would be lost. I contacted Marsha about our dilemma, and she was very kind and worked with us to rebook. The hotel in San Juan and our airline also worked with our situation, and so all was not lost just pushed back.

During our stay my husband made friends with a barracuda and stingray under the Pier of Hope, we ate a pleasing meal at El Quenepo, and stayed restfully at Malecon House. We will be going back, and if you haven’t stayed at Malecon House you should.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Fantastico" room which is the more expensive room due to an Ocean View b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    50
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
93
262
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Marsh, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the best place to stay in Esperanza. It's a quaint, clean inn with a wonderfully warm plunge pool and the best staff. It's right in front of the malecon and walking distance to all the places to eat and a pier with fantastic snorkeling. Our friends actually forgot a few bags after we left and the staff were kind enough to send it to the airport for us to save us some time. They did this for us at no extra charge and without us even asking. I just don't think you can beat that kind of customer service! If we ever come back we would definitely stay here again, hands down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkins, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at Malecon House last summer (2013) and enjoyed it very much. The owners are friendly and helpful hosts. The location is within walking distance of several beaches, beach bars, and restaurants. They have beach chairs and coolers available for you to use on one of Vieques' beautiful beaches. This is a great base for exploring the island.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms with balconies are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quill78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This place is very well located. Nice restaurants close and a nice beach just in front. The owners and employees are very attentive and make your stay a very good experience. In the night is great for couples to have a walk by the beach and during the day is great for beach activities and rest. The breakfast is good and nice Puerto Rican coffee which is appreciate.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariedwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Malecon House for 3 nights, 1 night at the Buena Vista and 2 at the Tropico. During our initial communication via email, we asked about a less expensive room. Robin was nice enough to offer us the Buena Vista at the same rate as the Tropico.

The mattress at Buena Vista (usually more expensive) was very nice, but the one at Tropico was just a simple string mattress and we could sense each other's movements. (My wife is light sleeper.)

Both rooms were very clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly and attentive. And they had beach chairs, umbrellas, and coolers in the yard so we didn't have to worry about rentals.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureNY78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This review is a little late -- we stayed at the Malecon in early March, but I decided I could delay no longer in giving the Malecon a rave review. The hotel itself was lovely: clean, well decorated, a wonderful location, large parking lot for our rental jeep, excellent breakfast, lovely, private pool surrounded by tropical plants. I could go on and on. Our room was the Fantastico, one of the more expensive rooms, but it was worth it for the view overlooking the ocean. We spent relaxing times sitting on the balcony, just watching the people go by, the boats coming and going. The king size bed was very comfortable; there was also a couch, coffee table, and many places for storage.

The hosts and other staff were always helpful and friendly, giving tips on things to see and making reservations for us.

The hotel is right on the main strip road in Esperanza, but it is not exactly a busy street. It was so easy to just walk downstairs, across the road and down the stairs to the water. We spent some time walking along the beach right in the village, as well as driving to the many beaches on Vieques. We're not much for nightlife although we did wander to several good restaurants where we could hear the local music. Everything in Esperanza is within walking distance of the Malecon.

I would urge renting a jeep on Vieques. Otherwise, getting to the beaches would be very difficult. Also, we found flying there quite inexpensive and quick (7 mintues).

We intend to go back to Vieques and the Malecon next year, and this time stay four nights. What a place to relax!

Room Tip: I would spring for a more expensive room with a balcony. For us northerners, sitting on a balcony l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This review was a long time coming as I stayed at Malecon House at the end of last year, but the owners made such a lasting impression on me that I needed to give them top marks! Hotel was lovely - immaculate and well cared for as well as being in a fabulous location. The owners were super helpful and chatty and were happy to help out with anything I needed. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaNZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
565 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
234 reviews
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
60.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Property: Malecon House
Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing