We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place beats all hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malecon House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This place beats all hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

What a superb experience. The truly personal touch really added to a simple, spotless inn. Nothing was too much trouble and they were so happy to lend us stuff to take to the beach. The complementary breakfasts were perfectly adequate with fresh baking every day.
Small plunge pool was great for cooling off anytime. Beautiful and well kept small garden with the occasional iguanas, finches and lizards.

Our second visit.

Room Tip: Rooms are priced differently. Ours was quiet and overlooked the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NSTP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    50
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
90
254
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Malecon house. It's in a great location with great beaches and restaurants close by. We stayed in the Tropico room. It was very modern and clean with a deck over looking the beautiful garden. The owners were very nice and accommodating. Their dog Coqui was a real sweet heart too! We will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a great stay at the Malecon House. Our rooms were clean, bright, and comfortable.
The location is great. You can walk to restaurants and bars. The view is incredible. The
breakfast was fabulous. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful to all our questions.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Vieques Island is paradise and Malecon House is the perfect place to see it from. Everything is perfect. It is small, personal, clean, great location, wonderful breakfast each morning, the hosts are knowledgeable, accommodating, warm and friendly. We vacationed July 2014 and couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very small couple-owned and operated immaculately clean, modern, comfortable, spacious boutique hotel. The sound of the night creatures is unbelievable in a good way. The hosts are gracious. It is on the water ( with a road between hotel and beach) with a view from the upper front rooms with balconies. Pay the extra money for one of the upper front rooms! There is no place on the island that's even close in quality and experience except W, if you want the large luxury hotel experience. Take the plane to the island, rent a car, stay at Malecon House and live in heaven!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GUGRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I'm so glad we chose Malecon House for our stay in Vieques. The property is beautiful, rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated, and the hosts were friendly and very helpful in making our trip wonderful. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of many beaches and restaurants and is just a short drive to the rest of the sites on the island. I would most definitly stay here again and would recommend it to future travelers.

Room Tip: The hotel faces the main "downtown" strip so rooms towards the back of the hotel are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAnderson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Malecon House during the fourth of July weekend of 2014. This place is great. They let you take pretty much anything they have available for personal use. Coolers, ice, beach chairs, sunblock, beach towels, whatever. To say the staff is good is an understatement. They make any bookings you need for you whenever and whatever you need. They were able to get us on a paddleboarding excursion without us having to do anything. After our Bio Bay tour forgot us at the pickup point, they spent the entire next day working to get us another spot. The rooms are very clean and have a lockbox that you can store your valuables in. It's also at the end of El Malecon, which puts you right in the action of Esperanza without having to sleep right in the middle of all the noise. I wouldn't trust anyone who gives this hotel a "terrible" rating. If you ever go to Vieques, definitely check out Malecon House.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisball05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Property: Malecon House
Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing