We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best place in Vieques”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malecon House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vienna
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Probably the best place in Vieques”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Very nice, clean and friendly!!


..........

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AZ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    50
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
89
254
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

Accomodations were very nice, location excellent and good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpl5089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

My girlfriend and I were planning a trip to Puerto Rico, and a friend insisted we visit Vieques. It was an incredible place, but one of the greatest parts was having a charming room to call home for the few days we were there. Located at the end of a sleepy beach road that goes along the Caribean is the Malecon House--far enough away from the bars on the street to get a good night's sleep, but close enough that you can have a cocktail or great dining only a few doors down.

The rooms are quaint, and an evening on the roof deck is the perfect way to end a day of relaxing on the beach.

Best of all, the owners are warm and friendly. When we had to postpone our trip because of a blizzard in our home town of New York, they changed the reservation immediately, without charging us as all.

If you're looking for relaxing days and fun-filled nights--this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Malecon House in Esperanza on Vieques Island. The facility is brand new and right on the main street which makes it within a very short walk of the restaurants and open air bars of town but is far enough removed to ensure quiet. Our room was large, very clean and new and very comfortable. The proprietor/owners, Robin and Marsha, were extremely helpful as they routinely went out of thier way to make our visit to Vieques enjoyable by answering our innumerable questions and booking day trips etc. Malecon House was a exceptionally good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

I can say this: we definitely stayed in the best place on the island. For sure. Location-wise, it couldn't be better. A SHORT walk to all of Esperanza. Cleanliness? Perfection. New construction, modern, super clean, chic (virtually NO bugs, which was a concern of mine!). Service was out of this world - Robin and Marsha are on top of EVERYTHING. The cost was very reasonable for how happy we were. Everyone staying there was gushing about how lucky we all were to stay there! The island knows of this new place as a total success, I will never put off booking rooms here for fear that it will always be full! When you're on the island, casually check out other places, even those that are really hyped up- you'll see that you're lucky to stay at Malecon House. It's cleaner, closer to everything, and has better service than any of the others we checked out.
The story is I was left to get a hotel for my husband and myself... and my new parents-in-law! I called many places and over the phone I felt fine about them, but when I called and spoke to Marsha, she went over the top to make sure my parents-in-law would be taken care of. I was a little nervous for what I chose (in general), and yet they joked the whole time that I should be a travel agent... they were THRILLED. I am positive I made the right decision and will stay there again for sure. Phew!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellabella1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Malecon House. The service was excellant, the rooms were large, beautifully furnished and absolutely immaculate. Attention has been paid to every detail. The pool is lovely and so inviting after a day at the beach. The location is perfect, within walking distance to a variety of restuarants and shops. The Inn keepers, Marsha and Robin were so gracious, they catered to our every whim. The continental breakfast offered excellant coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, and pastries. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

Our family recently stayed at the Malecon House and had a wonderful time. The Inn has a very peaceful and homey feel to it. We stayed in three of the rooms and they were all very clean and comfortable. The Inn is right on the end of the Malecon strip and very convenient to restaurants and shops while still being quiet. The patio is a great place to sit and have the continental breakfast provided and chat with other guests. The innkeepers could not have been more helpful and acommodating. They made dinner reservations for us for our first night there, and the dinner was not only the best on our trip to Puerto Rico, but one of our best ever! They also provided us with chairs etc. to bring to the beach and gave us good advise on where to go and what to bring. I would highly recommend the Malecon House and will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationtravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Property: Malecon House
Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing