We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel in Esperanza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malecon House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in Esperanza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Esperanza is the most convenient ,relaxing, with ambience place to stay on the island. The Malecon was lovely and had a great quiet twin bedroom for our needs, beautful grounds and a convenient clothesline on the roof for our wet clothes. The morning scones were deliciousfor the included breastfast and so pleasant to eat on their patio. Stayed in Viesques our last 2 nights on our Puerto Rican vacation so we splurged to stay here and eat at the fantastic El Quenpo Restaurant. Malecon is first-rate on the island.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seniortravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    50
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
85
249
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

We had the most relaxing time staying here that we have had in a long time. The property is beautifully landscaped, well laid-out, and in the perfect location. Robin, Marsha and Cariad were great hosts and would take time to visit with us. They added a personal touch to a very nice property. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crackerpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

The first thing we notice upon entering Vieques is the sound of the coquis at sunset. Their sound filled our room at the Malecon House, a newer bed and breakfast across the street from el malecon (the boardwalk). The owners are very friendly and helpful and have good recommendations for local food and activities. When we arrived in Vieques, there were no taxis to take us to Esperanza due to the holiday weekend. The owner picked us up in his jeep in order to bring us to the hotel. We had a lovely and quiet stay. The decor in the room was modern and the bed comfortable. The hospitality was second to none!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel1212Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We can’t speak highly enough about the Malecon House and the personal service we received from Marsha and Robin before and during our stay.

My boyfriend and I chose the Malecon House based on their rave reviews on TripAdvisor, as well as, their responsive, friendly and helpful emails when we started to plan for a trip to Vieques.

We opted to splurge a bit and fly into Vieques versus taking the ferry (highly recommend the experience if it’s within your budget). It happened to be after 6 pm on a Sunday just before peak season in December so we did not have any públicos awaiting our arrival. (during most “normal” hours you will not encounter this problem) We began dialing away at the numbers listed in the airport but most of the drivers were home with their families and not looking to go back out for the night (that’s island life :) After striking out we then phoned the Malecon House where Marsha and Robin kindly offered to pick us up. That is just one small example of the excellent service they provide and how genuinely kind they both are.

We stayed in the Tropico room located in the back of the property on the second floor. The room was clean and decorated nicely with modern furnishings. The balcony outside the Tropico room is enormous and overlooks a peaceful and beautiful garden. Pure bliss! The guest house is in the perfect location and was by far the nicest one we saw during our outings each day.

We did take the time to swing by the W one afternoon (on the north side of the island). I cannot speak to how it would be to stay there but first impression is that, while beautiful, it felt too commercial for our taste. The Malecon House allowed us to see and experience the island for all that it has to offer while feeling as though we’re staying in our close friend’s or family member’s beautiful home.

If you plan to explore the island and visit the beaches that are a bit further out I’d highly recommend a rental car or moped. Something to note: the roads can be a little tricky to maneuver on a moped, especially if there has been recent rainfall but it’s well worth it if you can brave the potholes. We rented one during our visit – besides staying at the Malecon House it was the best decision we made.

To say we were impressed with Marsha and Robin’s beautiful place and the personal touch that comes with staying there would be an understatement. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

My boyfriend and I just got home from our trip yesterday. We spent 2 days at the Malecon guest house and had a great time. The guest house is in the best location in Vieques - in the wonderful town of Esperanza (MUCH better than staying in Isabella) and right across the boardwalk from the ocean. The guest house was very clean, had nice and modern decor, comfortable, walking distance to great restaurants and bars, but most importantly, the staff was very helpful and welcoming. We felt like we were staying at a friends house. The only critic I could possibly give is regarding the pool - it isn't open after dark, and it seems no one would want to use the pool during the day since it is right across the street from beaches. If they were to keep the pool open at night, this guest house would be perfect! All in all, if I come back to Vieques (which I hope to!), I will be staying here!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveler3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

From reservation to check out the Shepherds took excellent care of us during our stay! They were very responsive via email and phone when I need to re-arrange our dates of stay. Marsha called to make sure that my flight had arrived and took an additional step to make sure I would have transportation to Esperanza from the Ferry dock in Isabel. We arrived fairly late in the evening and was taken care of the moment we stepped in the door. Our room was very clean, modern and welcoming. Through out our stay the Shepherds assisted with answers to questions, bio bay reservations and when I could not make a reservation for charter sail, Marsha and Robin graciously took us out on their personal 44 foot sail boat for an all day sail, with a stop to snorkel (and they allowed us to use their snorkel gear) - Captain Dan was amazing! We decided to extend our stay longer than we anticipated and though our room was not available, they made arrangements for us to switch rooms for an upgrade for no additional cost.

By far - one of the best experiences I have had traveling. The Malecon House is in a perfect location. It is right at the end of the Malecon, so evening noise is not an issue. We only heard the calming sounds of the coqui frogs. There really is no need to rent a vehicle as everything you need is within walking distance. You may want to rent a scooter for a day or two to get to some of the beaches a little furthur away.

We cannot wait to come back, and have already begun to figure out a way to permanently relocate to the island some time in the near future - we fell in love with Esperanza!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank downbythebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Sited in the heart of Esperanza,this delightful hotel is set back from the road providing privacy and quiet..Attended to by charming proprietors,everything is done to create a perfect environment for your enjoyment of this beautiful island with amazing beaches, terrific food and friendly people. A must for people looking for a quick escape from weather and stress.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbcochran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
46.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Property: Malecon House
Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing