We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't disappoint!”
Review of Oreanda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oreanda
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Just returned from spending 2 weeks in Casita Verde and loved every minute of it. After researching and checking out many properties, we finally decided on Oreanda only to discover that it was in the process of being sold. The new owner Stephanie contacted us via e-mail and the whole process went smoothly. Tyler, her property manager was excellent, met us at the airport and took care of anything we needed. Thanks again Tyler for the dinner recommendations, the wine, coffee beans and your company.
We especially liked the location, close enough to Esperenza to go out for dinner but still far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet that is Vieques. The only thing that disturbed that quiet were the roosters crowing, but I'm told they are everywhere on the island. We are early risers so it didn't bother us all that much.
After a long day on the beach we loved coming 'home' to have drinks by the pool while watching the sunset.....what a perfect way to end the day!
We would absolutely recommend Oreanda to anyone who wants a quiet 'non-resort' type of accommodation.

Room Tip: Stayed in Casita Verde and loved it. Had a view of the ocean and hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r10th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in Rincon and Fajardo (April 2012). After staying at luxurious El Conquistador, we wanted some peace and quietness before coming back to NYC.
Mary and Kirk were very welcoming and really helpful, they arranged for us to rent a car with Chepito and suggested restaurants and places around.
We stayed at Azul, the house is cozy and has everything you may need, they even have beach towels, beach chairs and coolers you can bring with you to the beach. Mary baked a bread and had coffee and milk for us our first day here. I think it was a great touch and it says a lot about them taking care of their guests.
The house is close to El Malecon, where all the action is taking place! Many restaurants, bars, and the best beaches.
Overall, we had a great stay in Vieques! If we plan to go back, we'll definitely considered staying here again :-)
Thanks Mary and Kirk

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We had such a great time visiting Vieques and staying at Oreanda was just awesome. The Azul cassita was perfect, we had all the comforts and a beautiful pool. You will LOVE it, Tyler did an amazing job and made us feel right at home......

We can not wait to come back and visit again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cproz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We just got back from our stay of 5 nights at the Oreanda. We really enjoyed our stay. It's remote enough to be away from the busier tourist spots, but extremely close to Esperanza on the South Side of the Island. The accomodations were great, and the gentleman who managed the property was extremely helpful to us throughout our entire trip, and proved an invaluable resource on advice regarding beaches, best places to eat, and helping us to reserve tours. The property itself is beautiful, and when were weren't at the beach, we enjoyed relaxing pool side or in front of our Casita (we stayed at Verde). Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We spent 3 days on Vieques and spent 2 nights at the Oreanda. Mary and Kirk--as everyone else has mentioned--are incredible. They were helpful in providing us information about the island. We felt like we were in our own little world when we were at the Oreanda with its beautiful views of the mountain and ocean. The Oreanda is well situated to local bars, restaurants and the beach. We truly appreciated Mary and Kirk's hospitality. They picked us up from the ferry, took us to get our rental car and gave us a tour of the island on our way to the Oreanda. We couldn't have asked for better hosts.

Room Tip: Get the larger casita with the outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hnubv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Oreanda is outstanding. We stayed in the Casita Verde from 3/29-4/1. Right from the initial reservation inquiry through our stay, owners Mary and Kirk were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. They offered great advice on where to eat, the bio-bay tour, renting a jeep, and really helped us out getting discounted airfare back to San Juan.

Our first day there was marked by rain all day, but since I got to sit on the porch of the beautiful casita, listen to the rain, look out at a gorgeous view of the rainforest and ocean, while enjoying beers and cigars, I can't really complain.

The casita is a great size and tastefully decorated. An open layout, with high ceilings, a nice kitchen and comfortable bed really made it seem like home. Small touches like scones and beverages in the fridge when we arrived, a library of movies, music and Vieques info, and the well-equipped kitchen (coffee and coffee maker, dorm-sized fridge, toaster oven, plates/cups, propane stove, cleaning supplies) made it outstanding.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and as mentioned previously, offer great views. The casitas and main house are spaced perfectly to offer both privacy and ease of access. The pool and deck area, with hammock makea nice common area.

The Oreanda is roughly 2 minutes from Esperanza by car. Convenient yet far enough to avoid the noise of the bars, if that's your desire.

The Oreanda is on the market, so I hope the new owner(s) are half as good as Mary and Kirk, because we will be back!

Room Tip: Casita Azul's shower is outside, apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our first stay on Vieques and we could not have been happier with our lodging. Mary was very helpful right from our first inquiry email till we left to head back to the main Island. Kirk picked us up from the Airport (we flew Cape Air from San Juan to Vieques, ask Mary about discounted rates for this flight) and on the way to Oreanda he stopped at the market so we could pick up a few items and gave us a tour of the town. We had the opportunity to stay in both units and each was great. If you like to cook, Azul has a little more room for the kitchen. Bed were comfortable, rooms nice and clean and will stocked even with cds for all musical tastes. During our stay we rented a motor scooter to get around which was fun but if you want to bring chairs for the beach you will need a car. Mary and Kirk were helpful in providing information on the beaches, car and scooter rentals, bars and places to eat plus interesting landmarks and ruins to explore. You can walk to the beach, but it is a distance. We had a great time and highly recommend Oreanda and Vieques.

Room Tip: If you will be eating out most of the time, stay in Verde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeborahInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
2.8 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
15.4 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#6 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreanda

Address: Carr 201 Km 6.5, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £117 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views of the sea, outdoor living island-style. Only a mile from Esperanza our two private casitas offer the best of Vieques: lounging by the pool, sensational sunsets, great hikes, outdoor kitchen with grill, tennis and horseback riding nearby. Pick a spot to explore, run to Playa Grande or grab a good book and unwind. The perfect blend of hospitality, independence and nature therapy. The tradewinds and fans help keep the air moving; please note we take an eco-friendly approach and do not have AC. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing