We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway with Gorgeous views!”
Review of Oreanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oreanda
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I had the most amazing time during our stay at Oreanda. We chose Vieques for our honeymoon because we wanted a relaxing and beautiful beach experience. Oreanda was the perfect "home" for our trip. We stayed in the smaller house and had absolutely everything we needed. The grill and pool are so wonderful to relax and cook dinner after a long day at the beach. We loved being able to lay in the pool chairs and watch the stars or look out to the ocean. The house is close to everything you could want and we felt safe the entire time. One of our favorite things about this house was the property manager, Tyler. He made sure we had everything we needed each day and was so helpful when it came to questions or suggestions about Vieques. The property owner, Stephanie, is so very kind and easy to work with. She answered my 100 questions before and after booking the house. You will LOVE your stay at Oreanda!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Everything was absolutely amazing! The view from the pool was breathtaking; regardless of the time of day! From the beaches to the food to the property - everything is simply beautiful. The beaches are very secluded and every single one is completely different from one another except for the incandescent aquamarine ocean. There were plenty of restaurants of this tiny island that are absolutely wonderful. Our favorite restaurant was definitely Belly Buttons. They have awesome barbeque on Friday and they serve an excellent breakfast every day! Walking around the property there are beautiful flowers and landscaping. There is even a hammock to rest outside while overlooking the property. The best part about vacationing at Oreanda’s is that everything is only five to fifteen minutes away. Driving time doesn’t take away from any beach time! Vieques is an amazing island but staying at Oreandas makes it so much better! Tyler is very accommodating as well and if you ever need anything or have a question he is more than helpful. All in all Oreandas is beautiful getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APW0791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Oreanda during our Honeymoon on Vieques. The property is absolutely beautiful and relaxing. The owners equip the house with everything you need- from beach bags, shampoo/conditioner, dvds, yoga mats, beach towels, etc. The house was updated and very clean. The property manager, Tyler, was awesome. He gave us good tips on where to eat, go to the beach, and took us hiking two different days. He also introduced us to many people on the island. I recommend this house to anyone who is visiting Vieques! You will have an incredible time and relax in a beautiful, safe house. Thank you so much for an unforgettable honeymoon! We can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We love Vieques, Oreanda and Tyler!

Each time we go to a Caribbean Island, we seek out a vacation rental based on its close proximity to a beach. Well, Oreanda changed all of that for us! The view takes your breath away. And it is so peaceful and quiet. Even with two casitas and the main house, it feels like you are in your own private oasis. The pool is a nice touch to start or end your day with a cool dip.

We stayed at Casita Azul. Personally, we loved the outdoor shower. And the casita had everything we needed to make our stay perfect. We were a little concerned with no AC, but the fans provided plenty of coolness at night. As for the mosquitos, we had less of a problem with them at Oreanda than other places on the island and way less than home in NC.

We really appreciated having access to beach chairs and a cooler. And we must say that the beach chairs were the highest quality we have ever experienced with head rests, shoulder straps and even an insulated pocked in the back. Tyler even found a beach umbrella for us to use.

You can’t ask for a better host than Tyler! He picked us up at the airport, brought us to our car rental place, and led us up to Oreanda. He showed us around the property, gave us our bearings on the map, and made some great recommendations for beaches and restaurants. Tyler was gracious enough to take us on a hike from the property to Black Sand Beach. You must do this! It was awesome! And we ended up meeting Tyler out several nights for beers. He's a great guy and so easy going!

Go to Vieques and stay at Oreanda!

Other Musts:
Local (Puerto Rican) micro brews on tap at Tinbox
Sol Food – great vegetarian options, perfect for picking up a meal on your way to the beach
Amazing meals at both El Quenepo and Next Course
Green Packer bar – Isla Nena Café
Gorgeous Beaches – Red, Secret, Green, Silver, Blue, Black Sand

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vegandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

First, let me say that I'm from Puerto Rico, born and raised, and I have been to Vieques 5 or 6 times before, and it gets better every time. I will not repeat everything that is said about the island in other reviews, because everything is true (there are no exaggerations: if anything, the reviews fall short as it is impossible to put into words how great Vieques is), and I'll just say that it is simply a fantastic place to go for relaxing, going to the beach, and getting away from it all. If you are thinking about going to Vieques, do yourself a favor, stop thinking and go. And if you are going to Vieques, you must definitely stay at Oreanda. As with the island itself, the reviews of Oreanda, even though they are all excellent, actually fall short of the reality of staying there. It is true that the place is beautiful, and the pictures in Tripadvisor give you a good idea what it looks like. There is a main house with a pool (the view is as spectacular as it looks in the pictures), and two "casitas", located on a hill overlooking the ocean and Esperanza. When you are at the casita, you feel at peace, you don't have a care in the world. I brought my iPad with me and I did not even turn it on! No need for that, or for TV, or anything that plugs in (except the fans). But this place is not actually a beach house, but rather a Puertorrican country house, with lots of vegetation, fruit trees, a nice breeze, all sorts of birds and other animals (when we checked in there were two wild horses on the property - there are wild horses all over the island). It is a very peaceful place, very relaxing, and you feel like you are in the country, yet, you can see the ocean and you are a 3 minute drive from the water! The casitas are comfortable, much more than the $400-a-night room you would get at the W, and you feel like you are staying at a place of your own. And to top it all off, there is Tyler, the property manager. Great guy, who offers the perfect type of service, you know, not in your face all the time, but always there to get you what you need. And not "plastic" or robotic, but sincere. The best example I can offer: on Thursday night my wife fell as we left a restaurant, and she suffered a rather extensive scratch on her leg. Nothing serious, but it required some first aid. It was after 10 pm, so I texted Tyler and told him what happened. He replied immediately and within a few minutes met us at the Casita bringing peroxide, antibiotic cream and gauzes. He even helped me clean and dress the wound, and he would not let me pay him back for all that stuff he bought. By the end of the stay, I considered him my friend. So stop reading, and rent this place right now!

Room Tip: Casita Azul has a view of the ocean, but is is further away from the entrance of the property, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsoMarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were delightfully surprised when we arrived in Vieques. Pictures don't do it justice. It's tropical, lush, with clear blue waters. Unlike some other islands it still has that small island feel. We arrived at our adorable cottage and I was giddy with excitement. Views of the lush tropical forest and a view of the pool that overlooks the Caribbean ocean (in the distance). The cottage itself was perfect. Very clean, comfortable bed, shower works well, great little porch for reading a book and/or drinking some beers. No AC but the fans work great (theres probably 8 fans!) They had a hot plate and since we are vegan we cooked and the hot plate came in handy. There's a decent sized pool with lounge chairs & an area with a BBQ grill that we would have probably used had we stayed longer. Theres also a second cottage they rent out on the same property which is great if you want to travel with more people. The location is perfect. Very close to Esperanza and all the beautiful beaches. Also a short drive to Isabel Segunda if you want to check out town. We prefer the Caribbean side and Esperanza stole our hearts! Tyler the property manager picked us up from the airport and gave us some great tips. He was friendly & funny & a perfect contact person. A couple of times we texted him with some requests & he immediately got back to us & assisted us with our requests. The owner Stephanie was also extremely helpful. She responded quickly to all my emails prior to the trip & gave great detail about what our stay would be like. I think the most amazing thing about this rental was all of nature's sounds at night! When the sun goes down the animals come out! It was unreal. Unlike anything we've ever heard. All in all it was an amazing experience. Were already talking about going back but staying there the entire trip next time! If you're looking for a true island experience this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColleenHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Oreanda for four nights. Besides being overall awesome, Tyler (the property manager) knew the island in and out, giving us the best recommendations on where to eat like a local, and where to find the best beaches. He picked us up at the airport in his International Scout, gave us an overview of the island and even offered to take us on a tour to the Playa Negra (Black Beach). We took him up on the recommendations, but even as an active couple, we weren't ready to take on a 1.5 hour hike to a beach. :)

Couple of things,; the cottages do not have AC, though there were fans. We rented to the cottage with the outdoor shower. It was a bit awkward to shower outside at first, but the cottage is pretty secluded making it easier to become comfortable. However by the last morning, it was difficult to shower because of the mosquitos! We brought bug spray, but it wasn't enough. I The mosquitos aren't bad after 8:30 am to 6:30 pm when its sunny. Outside of these times, or when its cloudy and rainy, you can expect to be bit. Lots of calamine lotion and hydrocortisone is recommended. Ultimately, NO where on the island is SAFE from the MOSQUITOS. IT was also nice because there was sun screen and bug spray that was on hand from prior renters. Despite the fans, and the screens, we were still bit throughout the night. If you need a quite sleep, Vieques is not the island to go to. You can definitely hear the sounds of the wild throughout the island and it gets louder at night, bring ear plugs if you need silence. Overall, it was a priceless experience and I'd recommend any nature lover to check out the island and stay with Oreanda.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkwasabi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
2.8 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
242 reviews
1.5 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#2 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,844 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Coral Guesthouse
Villa Coral Guesthouse
#10 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
299 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tropical Guest House
Tropical Guest House
#4 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreanda

Address: Carr 201 Km 6.5, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: £111 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views of the sea, outdoor living island-style. Only a mile from Esperanza our two private casitas offer the best of Vieques: lounging by the pool, sensational sunsets, great hikes, outdoor kitchen with grill, tennis and horseback riding nearby. Pick a spot to explore, run to Playa Grande or grab a good book and unwind. The perfect blend of hospitality, independence and nature therapy. The tradewinds and fans help keep the air moving; please note we take an eco-friendly approach and do not have AC. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing