We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hits the spot!”
Review of Sol Food - CLOSED

Sol Food
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hits the spot!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had to wait until our last day on the island to try Sol Food because they aren't open Monday-Thursday, but man, was it worth the wait. We stopped on our way out from La Plata at about 1:30. Fortunately, they had not yet run out of food (probably because it was late April "off -season"). We sipped on coconut sodas under the shade trees while we waited for our sandwich. We split a Bob Marley (a spicy Jerk Chicken "torta" with a sort of pineapple "chutney"). I don't usually like fruit on a hot sandwich, but in this case the ratio of sweet to savory is perfect - just enough to tamp down the heat of the Jerk. We took ours to go and my half was gone well before we got to the Green Store (maybe four minutes?). If you are not a big eater, half a sandwich is more than enough. Next time, however, I'm pretty sure I'll order a whole one just for me.
Tips:
Get there early in high season.
Park across the street (like the sign says)
The Jerk is pretty spicy if you are sensitive to heat.
Try the brownies!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Motorsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    102
    35
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Amazing ”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this little gem on the way to Blue Beach. Great stop prior to landing at the beach for the afternoon. We had the funky chicken sandwich. Amazing. The bread on this island makes everything great. Also, fill up on the Red Pucker Ice Tea. Delicious stop and not expensive either. The sandwich is big enough to share.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location on the Way to the Beach”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This food truck has gotten great reviews, but we found it to be average. In one sentence, it smells better than it tastes. Not that it was bad, but it was just average. I had the carnitas and found it to be a bit bland, particularly after waiting in anticipation after smelling the food in the car for 10 minutes.

I will say that this food truck is perfectly positioned. It's at the entrance to the reserve where the best beaches are.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlissfullyBelizean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“YUMMAGAIN”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Once again Sol Food hits the spot(sun spots, lol)
This food is so awesome. I took some carnitas back to NY to share and as usual, everyone that I shared them with loved them.

If you have the chance to try their food, take it. you will not be disappointed.

Thanks Nicole and Les

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Pork Carnitas”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stopped by for lunch in between visiting beaches and are so happy that we did! My husband got the pork carnitas and they were to die for. The beef empanadas were also really good. I got the funky chicken wrap and I think it was just okay. It's definitely worth stopping by though on your way to Red or Blue beaches.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerieanne89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol Food also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing