We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, ambiance, service and prices to match”
Review of Orquideas - CLOSED

Orquideas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Orquideas offers tapas and small plates as well as a selection of daily specials. We support local farmers. We are open every night for dinner until midnight. Reservations are encouraged. We have a full bar, an extensive wine selection, a large cocktail menu and craft beers. Thank you to all our patrons and reviewers, we hope to see you return to see us next season!
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food, ambiance, service and prices to match”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

After the bio-bay, we decided to dine high end in Esperanza and is was pretty clear after a quick survey of the many bars and restaurants alond the boardwalk the this one, setback half a block, was the answer. We were able to get seated without a reservation at about 8 pm on a Friday evening, but most of the small establishment was occupied.
The menu offered half a dozen appetizers and main courses and there were no specials added, so we ordered off the menu a deepfried sheep feta with arugula and a caprese salad with aged balsamic, both if which were quite nice. For mains we had a rib eye steak served with cheesy potatoes and seared ahi tuna with a rice and sprouts side that was especially tasty, both equally good and prepared to order. The wine list was a bit thin with offerings from $35-75,but we found something to our liking.
Service was attentive and pleasant. Portions ample to large. A solitary dessert offering of pineapple upside down cake did not attract us so we had an espresso to end.
At.$60 a person the bill was not excessive, but not inexpensive either.
Overall it was a pleasant experience in a nice atmosphere but won't be remembered as a great diner as much as a lovely ending to a day that included a spectacular ecological treat of paddling in a bio-luminescent bay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbearToronto_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not quite fine dining”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Three of us had a farewell dinner for one of our party on a Sunday evening, prior to her departure the next morning for New York. Located a half-block off the malecón (next to Lazy Jack's), Orquideas has aspirations as a fine dining establishment. We ordered the bruschetta appetizer which came with three slices of bread, perfect for our party of three. Our departing guest found it a bit too dry, but my wife and I had no complaint about the bruschetta. Our friend and I ordered one of the evening specials, a roasted pork loin served on a mound of cheddar cheese grits. My wife had the only shrimp entree on the menu, which was served with a sprout-based salad. Our friend thought the grits tasted a bit too spicy, but I'm a huge fan of cheese grits and thought they were perfect. The pork loin serving was two thick and ample portions, and was perfectly roasted and very flavorful. I tried my wife's shrimp, and agreed with her that they were slightly undercooked. Most people would have sent them back to the kitchen. We skipped any beverages and passed on dessert, too. Our bill came to over $100, which was a bit pricey. Our biggest concern was the mesquite-fired outdoor grill that was spewing red-hot ashes in every direction, including toward the wispy curtains that blocked our view of the food prep area. I'm convinced that some day, there's going to be a fire there! The staff was very welcoming, the island ambience was delightful, and the service was outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GringoEnMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
“great food”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

great atmosphere and the food was amazing. quick service and very tasty drinks. if you're in esperanza, check this place out one of the nights you're there. well worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent from Start to Finish!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The best dining experience we had on Vieques. From the appetizers to the main course - it was delicious - including great service and lovely island ambience and quaint on the porch dining. Chef Richard is awesome - we will return on our next trip - well worth it!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teresawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A nice but expensive meal”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We had a good meal at Orquideas -- at a high price. Most of the five of us gave it good reviews. My main course was good enough. My wife's mojitos were great. The appetizers were top notch. I'm not sure I'm going to run back there for another go, but we mostly got what we expected. It cost us $137 for two people, so it wasn't cheap.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldruggedx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orquideas also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isabel Segunda, Isla de Vieques
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isabel Segunda, Isla de Vieques
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing