We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Loud you can't taste the food”
Review of Taverna

Taverna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The islands only authentic Italian restaurant. Featuring classic pasta dishes, fresh salads, New York style pizza (with our famous whole wheat crust), daily specials and desserts. Available for sit down dining or takeout. Street parking, AC, WiFi, and only a two minute walk from the ferry. Located off the plaza in Isabel Segunda, open for dinner only. Reservations recommended
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So Loud you can't taste the food”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Our experience here would have been ok if we hadn't left with splitting headaches. The place is concrete with high ceilings and nothing to muffle sound. Everyone...and I mean everyone, from patrons to waitresses to the bartender, was screaming to be heard. The pizza was terrific. Hand formed crusts that were thin and crispy with delicious toppings. We had the Greek and Mediterranean pizzas and both were scrumptious. Our husbands both had the Sicilian fish and wished they had ordered the pizza. The salads were ok as salads go. Reports on the sangria weren't good. Tasted awful to me, but many sangrias do. Those who love it said it was barely mediocre. All in all go somewhere else, like Koki Fire or Conuco, both down the street

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    46
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

From the moment we walked in it smelled wonderful! The only decision was what to try. While there were many pasta choices we had the antipasto plate and a pizza! Both were exactly what we were hoping for and tasted wonderful! Thanks Larissa for the great service! I would definitely plan a return trip to this restaurant on my next trip to Vieques!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LAGM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Go and go”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have tried all the top rated restaurants and then tried taverna. Wow. The pizza is best! Thin crust and cooked to perfection. We had that as an appetizer. Then got pastas for dinner which were also outstanding. Got pizza to go for breakfast. The carbonara was yum and so was the chic parm. And our server was awesome too. And the price was the best thing. The cheapest meal we had all week by half!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best in Vieques!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have been here for a week with a couple of friends and have eaten at this great establishment twice! The service was excellent and the food fresh and delicious ! I had the pesto twice and must say it's the best that I have ever had. We didn't mind the crowd or the noise . Just shows us that it's s great place to dine obviously with people who enjoy it

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice pizza and salad”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We ate at this place during our week-long trip in Vieques. While this was not one of our favorite places, Taverna delivered exactly what it was promising: Good pizza and salad. My friend and I had dined at several posher places during the previous nights, and decided that it was time for pizza-night. We arrived around 7pm which turned out to be a good idea, as the place was completely busy by 8pm. When we arrived most tables were still empty, but a large crowd of mostly Americanos (American expats) occupied the bar. Given our relatively early arrival, service was quick: within 15 minutes of our order we received our pizza and salad both of which were good. It was exactly what we were looking for so we left satisfied. Note: the place got really noisy by the time we finished dinner, so if you are sensitive to noise, come early (btw 6 and 7pm).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emani25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isabel Segunda, Isla de Vieques
 
Isabel Segunda, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing