We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ocean, horses and palms trees...OH MY!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alyson w
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ocean, horses and palms trees...OH MY!”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As this was our first trip to Puerto Rico, we were not exactly sure what to expect but were optimistic we would be pleased. Our expectations were exceeded! Casa Ladera is a lovely compound moments from a fantastic private beach at the end of a quiet lane. Most mornings we awoke to horses grazing in the field beyond our fence line. The surf is audible from the property and their is an expansive view from the balcony. The furnishing are modest but perfectly adequate, in good repair and clean...very well stocked kitchen, beach towels/chairs provided, great pool area with outdoor kitchen and dining table, generous grounds (look for the iguanas in the trees!). Renee (property manager) was great. She picked us up from airport, gave us detailed recommendations for restaurants/activities and responded immediately to any questions we had while at the property. We fell in love with the island and look forward to returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view, grounds at the house, location to the beach
Liked least: break-in at adjoining casita while visiting :-(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmb45
Hartford Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location, comfortable digs”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We loved our four days in Vieques at Casa Ladera; wish we had booked for longer and will most likely return in the next year or two. We were able to walk to the local beach, to a quite nice grocery store, to a Farmer's Market, and even to pick up our rental car. The condo was very well-equipped with board games and pool toys. The view from the second floor is lovely. The two bedrooms, living room and kitchen are all good size. Our grandson slept on a cot in our room-that was a little tight but acceptable. The property manager was wonderfully helpful in terms of recommending beaches and restaurants, etc. The house is showing some signs of age--the sea air is hard on metal railings and window fittings, and the hot water seems to come in spurts, but these are mere quibbles. I would recommend Casa Ladera without hesitation and the island of Vieques as a lovely spot for a relaxing beach focused vacation.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P. H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When can we go back?”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My Partner and I found this rental on TripAdvisor. The price looked acceptable and the pictures matched the price. We arrived to the house and were the only ones staying, so we were lucky enough to have the grounds to ourselves. It was my boyfriend, my daughter, and I in the upper part of the main house. It looked a little more worn than the pictures lead to believe, but for the price, we were not disappointed at all. We only ate out twice. The rest of the week, we shopped at the local grocery store and cooked at the house. Everything we needed was right there- he grilled while I cooked inside-perfect! Any information that we may have needed was found in a binder that answered every question we had and then some. While it was very close to the beach, we only visited that one twice. We hit as many others as we could during the week.

The bedrooms were fine. The air conditioner cooled off the main living areas, but did not do a lot to cool off the bedrooms. Not a big deal for me. The water in the shower that is connected to one of the bedrooms was not all too warm, but again, not a big deal. It was nice having the washer and dryer there, so we were able to pack very light. The house had chairs that we carted with us to the beaches. This rental had everything we needed. I loved it there and could see myself definitely staying there again.

My pre-teen has trouble, sometimes, sleeping in unfamiliar places and she slept like a baby here, so obviously she felt safe.

The property manager, Renee was great and still is. I mention this only because I fell in love with a dog that we named, Rascal. He chased away lizards and the chameleons didn't dare come onto the grass. They stayed in the trees, while we admired them from a distance!!! I will send Renee an email asking how Rascal is doing and she fills me in. She does not have to, so that says a lot to me about the people We rented from.
If you are looking for luxury, then this is the wrong place. If you’re looking for home away from home, then look closer at Casa Ladera.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveRober...
Geneseo, New York
1 review
“Everything we expected and more”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Wonderful stay. Casa Ladera was clean, pretty, private and safe, located in an excellent spot, and well run. The beach is perfect for an evening stroll, beach combing and even a snorkel on a calm day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool and beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey P
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Vieques is an amazing site! While getting there might be a challenge (the ferry can be tricky), once on the island there are no worries! We stayed upstairs and it was perfect! The location was lovely and the kitchen was well stocked for home cooking. Renne was totally the icing! She was so helpful (when the ferry wasn't) and quick to give suggestions to make our trip great! I would book here again anytime!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharliePi...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great property”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I stayed at Casa Ladera with my girlfriend and her sister + her sister's fiance.

The property was great. A lot of grass, trees, and space to hang out. The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit upstairs was incredibly spacious and well taken care of. The air conditioning worked wonders after a long day at the beach or by the pool.

We never heard the neighbors in the downstairs unit or the casita next door at late hours. Everyone was very respectful of noise volume and shared spaces. There are two grills to use which we took advantage of after walking to the store (yes within walking distance) and getting some hamburgers and hot dogs.

There is a mango tree so if you can find a good one, grab it. Delicious.

The beach down the road is OK, but there are definitely great beaches all over the island. I'd recommend the following (in order).

- Secret Beach (not really a secret so go early)
- Media Luna
- Sun Bay
- Starfish Beach (great snorkeling)

Renee (the PM) gave us great recommendations on places to eat so be sure to pick her brain when you see her. She even told us about the best place to see the sunset at this particular time of year and she was spot on.

We will be coming back and staying longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: The restrooms were a bit dirty, but nothing that can't be fixed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie B
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The house is in a very beautiful location. we had the second floor, sitting on the balcony and hearing the waves crash, very relaxing. The price was very reasonable for such a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing