We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view!”

Fortin Conde de Mirasol Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We didn't get to the fort until our last day, but so glad we did. The view of Elizabeth II and the bay was amazing. Horses were enjoying mangos when we arrived. We got a wonderful short history lesson from the guide, and the art in the gallery was a great collection of masks. Please go and support them, as the project to restore the building has lost funding.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    44
    19
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice trip and free entrance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

you just give some $ donation for the fort maintenance, is very nice a great vie, nice pictures to take here, entrance is free , parking free, opens from 10am to 4pm. have a little store to shop!! you should't miss it!! is very nice

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank boricua312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Weird vibe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

A museum with very few tags in English...doesn't seem tourist friendly. Nice vistas, good place to take some pictures but honestly, between the book shop and the display, I'd skip going inside. It really didn't seem like it was set up for tourists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This is not really a museum.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

You can't go wrong visiting the Fort. The views are wonderful, the grounds are well kept and clean. The historty of the fort is interesting and much work has gone into restoring and maintaining it. For this I give them the upmost credit. As far as a museum, this has far to go. The exhibits are small and the space could be used better. Everything is in Spanish and I don't think a lot of locals go there, so this is very puzzling. It should be acessable to english speakers as well. I understand the modern struggle with the Navy, but there are hundreds of years of Isla Nena history that could be displayed or discussed in a variety of different ways. Finally, the condition of the metal artifacts is appalling. Museums conserve the artifacts, not let them fall apart in a plexiglass box. I wish them well. I'm sure funding is the biggest problem.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to visit & take in some beautiful scenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

The fort is a great place to visit & take in some beautiful scenery! The museum is nice and the staff is friendly & informative! A great place to take photos too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dpostonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortin Conde de Mirasol Museum also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Fortin Conde de Mirasol Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing