We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked the whole experience very much”

Carambola Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean, Puerto Rican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: If you have ever enjoyed the rich variety of the Caribbean flavors you will surely find yourself in culinary heaven. Exquisite dining in tropical tranquility in front of the ocean. Our Executive Chef Xandra delights herself in providing you with a colorful and flavorful palate of exquisite dishes infused with that wonderful tropical flair that will challenge you to stay away from the kitchen. We have breakfast, lunch and dinner! Carambola, also known as Star Fruit, was created to provide exceptional cuisine to both guest and patrons alike. The restaurant is located at The Blue Horizon Boutique Resort which is set on 54 acres of over front property. The location of the resort offers a true Caribbean atmosphere which is complemented by our new age cuisine.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Liked the whole experience very much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Laid back - my husband and I called in for a cocktail and ended up staying for paella - the bar man was fun and attentive and made a great punch - the paella was very good and the place was peaceful and pretty - would definitely return

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    9
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disconnect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

As part of the Blue Horizon, a slightly stayed but small and beautiful inn, the location is close to spectacular. You can see by the buildings, fine construction and landscape that a lot of effort and thought has gone into this place. And the staff is very nice. But the dining staff does not have a clue. I asked about a Spanish wine's character and was assured it was Spanish by the person pointed out as the expert. That was the most complex response I got about the wines on the list. She described a light dry wine I am familiar with as being heavy and sweet. Dinner was good, no doubt, but no better than the far less expensive food served at in town along the Malecon. Got the feeling there was little staff training and the kitchen performed without thinking of the diners or management oversight.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodnwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
434 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Such beautiful setting- a hidden jem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Even if you just go for drinks. Go. It's at the blue horizon hotel. They have this awesome big round bar that overlooks the water and sunset. Really the only place on the island for water view dining. They even have a rooftop area for better views. The resort itself is small but looks so nice. The staff was super nice. We were a little disappointed when we found out the Chef was off island and it was only the sou chef but stayed anyways. The calamari app was yummy - sauce was garlic central. The Mozzerella and tomato salad so good. The island tomatoes are so fresh. One mistake was trying the scallops app after my new found liking of scallops. Well these were not good. We actually think they were bad. Did a # on both our stomachs with only eating one. The sauce was yummy though with bread. Just not tasty scallops. Very chewy- for dinner I got the tamarind churrssco and it was delicious. Hubby got the shrimp pesto pasta which was also delightful. Definitely worth a try. One thing disappointing was they were out of lobster. How does a careibean restaurant run out of lobster when we were the first diners there for the evening!

Helpful?
Thank travelqueen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, secluded and romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you are looking for something a bit quieter than the Esperanza strip, then you should head to Carmabolas. You drive to the hotel on a dirt road off the main road; then walk through the gate and down a garden path passing through the circular bar area and up a few steps onto the porch. You still get to hear the soothing sound of the ocean waves, (you are near the beach -- look at the map) but you will think you're in another world. (Decor wise you will think you're in 1950!) On moonlit nights, the stars are amazing here.

Started off with the Mayra's salad -- Really refreshing combo of crispy romaine, red cabbage, cherry tomatoes, potato stick crispies all in a light olive oil and lemon dressing. This was served with toasted arepas (their "bread") and butter on the side.

Then we shared the lobster paella. Perfect for two people ($56) . The paella had chick peas, roasted red peppers, 2 lobster tail halves, shrimp, calamari rings, scallops, and bits of fish over the bed of rice.

The guy next to us was raving about his churasco steak in tamarind sauce (my second choice) and the people on the other side of us were saying how good their shared tapas were...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdvicePro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy! And so romantic! If you are prepared for poor service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Mmmmm…mofongo! It comes back to me in my dreams, especially the one with lobster meat and seafood! It was so, so tasty! Add to this the best seafood paella ever, half of rice, half of shrimps, clams, squids... mmmmm! After eating their food I could not enjoy the food in other places in Puerto Rico, including the famous La Perla Restaurant. And the view! Beautiful, breathtaking, unobstructed! (Well - almost unobstructed, as bougainvillea are growing quite high - so if they do not cut them soon, the view will be gone).
Yet, better be prepared for surprises. Usually, every third position in the menu is unavailable. The waitresses would forget your order, so i.e. - if you order the wine, and you are lucky enough that they have it, you might get it after the dinner :).
Some of the stuff is really great - there is one big lady who is really helpful and quick and smiling, and never confuses your orders. But there is another one, which with helpless smile comes back to you after 20 minutes and asks you "so what did you order? Because I have very week memory!" There is also another lady, who does not realize that her memory is weak, so simply would not serve you i.e. dessert ordered (which is good for you, of course, as you should not eat desserts not to ruin your diet plan :)).
I would not stand such a service in Washington, but on the holidays it is less bothering – almost not bothering, especially in such beautiful place. Simply, be aware that if you do not get what you ordered, ask again, because they probably have forgotten. And enjoy! it is definitely worth paying visit. The prices (surprise, surprise) are more or less the same as in shack-like restaurants in Esmeralda, places definitely lacking the charm and atmosphere of the Casserole. Must go when in Vieques!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagdaCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carambola Restaurant also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Carambola Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing