We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ICK!!! Would a dead scorpion scare you?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Amapola Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amapola Inn
Ranked #24 of 32 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ICK!!! Would a dead scorpion scare you?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

The 1 inch long dead scorpion was a talisman smashed flat directly over the entry door. The insect was actually an omen foretelling bad service and the smell of bug insecticide.

Simply put these are the facts---
Pros--AC, clean towels smelling of bleach, location, refer and microwave.
Cons - Dead scorpion, toilet seat adhered by one bolt, no hand towels, no wash cloths, 25 watt bulbs, and the single wall entry door that was VERY difficult to open especially from the inside. In fact, it took me 30 seconds to wrestle the darn thing open awakening my roommates! 2 cup coffee maker was provided and hot plate, but no utensils, cups, or napkins.

I am a backpacker / camper and have had more hygiene conditions on the trail. Our room was never serviced, and when I asked for an extra towel for a shower mat the clerk asked "Why?" We stayed in back and when entering through the restaurant area the walkway reeked of sweet smelling insecticide.

Walking through the restaurant I saw a wad of hair ensnared in the tines of a fork on a set table. UGH! And no, after the bug spray smell and the hair ball, that was enough reason to eat elsewhere. We never saw any staff save a slow moving old woman who must have been the maid. We always went to the restaurant for help. No "office."

When mentioned to another business where we were staying they said quietly, "Oh....." We said we did not recommend it and he further mentioned "I would not recommend it to my worst enemy." So shop around, we heard other travelers extol the virtues of both Coral Villa and Acacia guest houses--which were a short block off the beach. (and they were less money)

We had a lovely time on the island but the accommodations definitely made it a bit less memorable. Had we seen our room before we paid, we would have left. So if you chance this place--as others has reviewed it more favorably than I, then ask to see your room first. and don't pay in advance unless you are satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patterdale-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    6
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
4
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

One of the worst places I have ever stayed in. Maybe because of the inn's location on the Malecon, the owner feels that quality, friendly service is not necessary. Oh contrare . . . The room was not ready on our arrival and then hastily made up without even cleaning the bathroom thoroughly. Musty, disgusting smells, broken ceiling fans, broken light fixtures, broken toilet seats, beds with no support, sink in the bath with cold water only (and one very dim bulb), bugs smashed on the walls, broken screen doors, door locks so old and rusty it took the strength of two people to lock and unlock, poor lighting outside on walkways, no security - do I really need to go on? Most disturbing was the total lack of service. If one had the nerve to ask for something such as extra towels or toilet paper there was a Spanish inquisition as to why they were needed. I asked for toilet paper and was handed the napkins off the dining tables*#+! Our room was so bad we never tried the restaurant. A fellow traveller saw a wad of human hair wrapped around a fork on the table!!! If there was a way to cancel the day of arrival and get a refund we would have done so with gusto!! Suffice it to say the bar next door saw more of me than that horrible, horrible room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

First impressions are the lasting ones and my first impression is what have I booked myself into. The room was 4 walls, 2 beds, broken ceiling fan, only light bulb over the bed, only 2 bath towels and 1 bar of soap. Quality was low. The only pros were, a/c worked, working microwave and mini refrigerator. Went to the front desk and politely asked for a room change due to the broken ceiling fan (a must in the heat) had to politely ask for a refund if we couldn't be moved. We were moved. Next room was more or less the same, except for a rusty mini coffee maker, fortunately it worked. Over the door of our new room was a squished scorpion!! We ran out of toilet paper and had to insist to get another roll and really had insist to get clean towels (after 2 days). There was no room cleaning during our 3 day stay.
We considered eating the restaurant but when we saw a wad of human hair on a fork that was on the table we left.
The front office staff took our money easily enough but was stingy with tp and towels, in fact while standing our ground on getting clean towels, the employee asked "when do you check out?".
My advice is, avoid if possible. If you have to stay there it is tolerable but avoid it if you can. With tax, our fee was $114 per night and truly it wasn't worth it. There are less expensive places in Esperanza that are of better quality.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallory59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

There were roaches in the room around the kitchen area so we did not use that area at all due to roaches crawling around. The bed was nothing more than a piece of foam with a box spring. Avoid this property and find another place to stay. Vieques is a great place to visit as long as you don't stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Roaches, Rude Personnel
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank btmoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha,ne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

Amapola inn is a great place to stay for those on a budget. My cousin and i called to book are reservations and spoke with Perrie who was very friendly and informative about the island. If your looking for luxury this is not your hotel. The room was small but clean with a king sized bed and working air conditioner. There was no tv but with so much to explore on the island why would you want to watch tv? There wasn't a telephone in the room either but our cell phones worked everywhere on the island. Also didn't notice an odor others had talked about in reviews. The restaraunt connected to the hotel had excellant food but was a littly pricey. The front desk did close early but if you really needed help, all the employees in the restaraunt were more than willing to help and always around during the day. The front of the hotel is about 40 feet from the ocean. We only paid $65 a night which is a good deal for a hotel right by the ocean, within walking distance of the beach, and with very friendly, helpful staff. The only thing i would have really liked at this hotel would have been a place to get my morning coffee.

  • Liked — the location and price
  • Disliked — no morning coffee
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zenidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

This place is in a great spot across from the Malecon & nearly next door to everything in Esperanza. However, the hotel area was swampy smelling and the room was tiny and just barely acceptable. The restaurant looked charming, but was always nearly empty and lacking in appeal. Thank goodness we stayed in a fabulous/luxurious condo (for not much more than the price of this little place) in charming Old San Juan where we finished our Puerto Rican Adventure!!

  • Liked — Location to Beach & Bio Bay Tour
  • Disliked — Small room with not very nice bathroom. No front desk & couldn't tell staff from visitors
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Have2TravelMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2008

My friend from Spain came to PR to see me and we went to Vieques and stayed at the Amapola Inn the first weekend of February and we liked a lot. Do not expect luxury. It is a very simple Inn but colorfull, with clean rooms and a nice beach front location. The staff is great. (Josue, good luck at college in Spain, you would be all that you want to be). The restaurant, Bili, is excellent. The food it's just delicious, everything on the menu is really good. If you really want to enjoy a good gourmet "criollo" (puertorrican food) meal, don't waste your time and money having dinner at other place. So, my boyfriend and I agreed, and he is an Europe tour guide, that if you are looking for a simple beach front place, not so expensive, but nice and clean with a great location and really good food, the Ampola Inn is the right place for you.

  • Liked — Location, service, food
  • Disliked — not bad but small room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiPuertoRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.1 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flamboyan
Flamboyan
#4 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vieques Guesthouse
The Vieques Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Esperanza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa de Tortuga
Casa de Tortuga
#5 of 25 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esperanza Inn
Esperanza Inn
#4 of 25 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lazy Hostel
The Lazy Hostel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amapola Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amapola Inn

Property: Amapola Inn
Address: 144 Calle Flamboyan | Barrio Esperanza, 00765-4005, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Amapola Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing